Customer Reviews for

An Assembly Such as This: A Novel of Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    I liked It Very Much!

    This is the first of a trilogy which explores Darcy's contemporaneous experience of the events and timeline of P& P. The forms of expression, social and political currents, and the interplay of personalities feel delightfully authentic as the reader learns the Darcy side of things - while the initial portion the classic "Pride & Prejudice" saga unfolds. Pamela Aidan provides an exquisitely fashioned design of Darcy's actions and reactions, exchanges and shifting viewpoints, as he fumbles and stumbles under the first of Miss Elizabeth Bennett's effects on his life. "An Assembly Such As This" sparkles with mischief, wit, and apt literary allusions which carry the story along very nicely. Within this multi-dimensional plot Ms Aidan adheres to the notion of a basically noble man who is confronted with his own ignoble (if unintentionally so) attitudes and behaviors toward those outside his own small and select circles. The characters we know are kindly drawn and coherent with their originals, while we are introduced to new and intriguing characters and allowed fleeting glimpses of parallel lives between gentle-persons and those who serve them. A richly rewarding reading experience!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great insight on Mr Darcy

    Like I've been saying with most Austen spinoffs, I always proceed with caution. I don't like being disappointed and I certainly don't like it when my beloved classic have been ripped to shreds, and especially when it's done horribly. Fortunately! this book has passed and I don't regret reading this book. I actually quite liked it and I found myself laughing over parts of the book which were cleverly written and provided a lot of good humor. It was certainly nice seeing Mr Darcy's daily life in more detail besides just hearing his thoughts and his behavior. I actually liked how this book put in little bits and pieces added to the main Pride and Prejudice plot to add more color and life to Mr Darcy. We usually see him as a brooding solitary figure which immediately we think of how boring he might be. In reality, well, Mr Darcy just doesn't like gatherings and parties period. That's just his nature and what's even better, he's a bookworm! this is one of the main reasons why I liked reading this book. Mr Darcy isn't seen as boring, silent in his corner with his stormy thoughts. Although yes, it's romantic but seeing a different side of him, where he's able to show a sense of humor towards Mr Bingley (even having a moment where Bingley throws a cube of sugar at
    him) makes Mr Darcy seem much more real and twice as likable. (We Darcy fanatics can all sigh in relief here!).

    I'd have to say though, the plot was a little too slow to come to action and if you're one who needs to have their attention captured right away, this might be a deterrent. I would suggest, stick with it. Especially if you're a huge Pride and Prejudice fan. Patience is well rewarded later in the book with comical scenes and even scenes which will make you want to yank Caroline Bingley's hair for being such a vain and vicious witch. (Yes, Miss Bingley is quite the snake in this one). Another criticism I'd have to add, not much Elizabeth in this one! you can't feel the love between them yet. It's understandable considering the book doesn't even cover half of the main plot and you do feel Mr Darcy's true feelings towards Elizabeth. It's still growing so the romance factor in this book is rather cold which may be disappointing. As with a few previous spinoff novels I've read, Mr Bingley still stays the same, cheerful and so friendly but always needing someone to advise or look after him. More has been added to his character as well and his relationship with Darcy is seen in more detail. I actually liked it. It seemed as if he brought out the comical side of Mr Darcy which was nice to see.

    Overall, I greatly enjoyed this read. It was entertaining and although slow to start, I was glad I stayed with it until the end. I will definitely be getting the second one after this. I recommend this to all Jane Austen fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Darcy, Beast Whisperer

    In some ways, I was pleasantly surprised by this book. Pamela Aiden's writing style, while contemporary and using modern humor, is also very at home with Jane Austen's Regency lingo-- enough that the writing of both authors can intertwine quite seamlessly. Her introduction of new characters (which I often find annoying in spin-offs of such classics as this) is very enjoyable, especially in the form of a loyal and cheeky valet. Aiden's writing lacks the stinging edge of Austen's wit, but it has a much greater insight concerning the culture of the time as well as bringing us right into the head of our favorite man of all time, Mr. Darcy. What better place to hear all his thoughts and witness all the pining and panic the poor man goes through for the sake of a woman? It's rather delicious to observe what goes on in is mind while he engages in "verbal swordplay" (a cute, if slightly cheesy, concept) with the woman he is haplessly in love with, and sometimes Aiden puts an interesting twist into a situation that we before only witnessed through Lizzie's point of view. It is clear that Fitzwilliam has Lizzie on the brain most of the time, making us realize how downright silly someone in love can be.

    ---While climbing into our hero's mind is the main selling point of the story, it actually can get a little muggy in there, constantly surrounded by his besotted broodings of said woman. The bits where Darcy is momentarily sidetracked by financial, familial and social duties-and yes, interludes demonstrating his peculiar aptitude with animals--are oddly as refreshing to us as they probably were to Darcy himself. It begs to be questioned: what if Darcy were to sometimes keep at least some his thoughts from us and retain some of his famous mystery and allure, and instead demonstrated them by means of his actions? This would, I believe, have made for a more intriguing, albeit entirely altered, novel. Nonetheless, Aiden has done an impressive job with this story, having written it convincingly and researched the subject exceedingly well, and the result is a good lot of fun that I'm willing to read the sequels for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Faithful to Austen!

    I was on the internet to look for good novels to read and I came upon this novel, and I being a Jane Austen addict I decided to give this a shot... And I loved it very much! I couldn't put the book down for even one second and it was so faithful to the TRUE Mr. Darcy and I applaud the author for her great sequel to Pride and Prejudice. The Mr. Darcy in this novel makes you picture in your mind Colin Firth every second you read the book and it makes you smile while you read it! I would chuckle once in a while whenever I read a book but this sequel to Pride and Prejudice made me smile the entire book from start to finish! If anyone is a Janite and a Darcy Lover READ THIS BOOK, you WON'T regret it! Also read the other two books, it is just as wonderful and fantastic and whimsical as the REAL Pride and Prejudice!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Stand Alone - Excellent

    As a stand alone, I think the book is excellent. The author has a wonderful feel for imagery and story-telling. If it were not a spin-off I would have given it five stars. However, as a spin-off of a beloved novel I failed to make the connection between it and Pride and Prejudice. It didn't it didn't make me feel as if this really could have been Mr. Darcy's point of view of the whole affair, which is what we're really after in a book like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    Good read

    I will read the other books in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    This book did not hold my interest. I did finish it but I was b

    This book did not hold my interest. I did finish it but I was bored. and struggled to get to the end. I felt the author was re writing Pride & Prejudice and I enjoyed the original version. Of all the P&P sequels that I have read I enjoyed this one the least..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Disappointing

    I hoped for an interesting take on Pride and Prejudice but I didn't find it here. It feels like the author is padding the story with boring fashion wars, inserting religion every chance she gets, and it seems like she's throwing in things like that that just drag the plot to a screeching halt. The characters don't seem as real as they should be. I kept putting it down because I was bored out of my mind, but I picked it back up and finished it because sometimes the end can redeem it and I wanted to get my money's worth. This book was one of those I finished only because I paid for it. Please get my money's worth and avoid this dull, plodding effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Love!

    Who doesn't love Mr. Darcy? Great story from his view point I love the side story with his sister and school friend! I hope she writes their story for us...i can already tell i would love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    a must read

    P & P is a fav of mine no doubt, but the way Aidan keeps the old speak and adds contemporary tones that make the meaning clearer and don't let me get lost in disecting vocabulary made this a very easy read and a hard one to put down. It never looses the feel or pace of P&P, and I feel like there were things that Austen could not include because of the time and era the book was written in. Aidan cold take more liberties and it enhances everything i already loved about the charcters! Can't wait to dive into #2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    The best Pride and Prejudice companion series!

    Keeps true to the original while adding depth to the characters in Darcy's world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    Fantastic!

    This is the first of a three-book series. The series is very well written and provides the other half of the story - Darcy's perspective. The author develops supporting characters very well and follows the original story very closely. Book 2 is the timeframe from when Darcy leaves Netherfield to when he appears at Rosing. The author adds the aspect of how Darcy is trying to get over Elizabeth by looking for a replacement that would be socially more acceptable. Of course, he doesnt succeed but intriguing nonetheless. These books are a great supplement to the original story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Delighful!

    This book was a delightful look into the mind of Mr. Darcy. It was written in a style similar to Jane Austen. I found that I really did not like Mr. Darcy character that much. However, we all know that things will change. This book is a series of three books and this is the first in that series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    great!

    I really enjoyed this series. It gave realistic insight into the changes in Darcy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    enjoy!!

    If your a jane austen fan save yourself the time and just buy the hole series at once because even though you know how it turns out, you'll want to know the details. I've read other austen fan fiction but they didn't fit the style of Ms austen. these realy did enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    a fantastic read!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It provided a very different take on what might have been the workings of our Mr. Darcy¿s mind ¿ nothing I¿ve read before. It was interesting, thrilling, and all in all very engaging from the first page to the last. This is definitely one of the better Pride and Prejudice offshoots around. Fantastic writing style. Highly Recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    WOW!!!!

    I LOVED this series!!!!!! The books were good, but the first and the third were the best. It gives a very detailed look into Darcy's life and thoughts. You get to know Gorgiana a little better, and meet some new people. Very well written and great for the Pride and Prejudice fan!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    True to Austen

    I love Austen, and I love this trilogy. It was fun to read and very consistent with the original novel. I rushed out to buy the second and third volumes as soon as I finished the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    A Worthy Waste of My Time

    This was an interesting--if not believable--twist of Pride and Prejudice. It allows you to look into the life of the much-loved character Mr. Darcy. I would recommend this as a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    I loved this

    This book shows Darcy's true passion for Elizabeth. How he describes her made me sigh several times through out the book. I would even read this series again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5