BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Asset Protection: Concepts and Strategies for Protecting Your Wealth

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2005

    A 'must read'!!

    I have practiced estate planning, with an emphasis on asset protection planning, for many years. This book¿s explanation of various asset protection techniques, many of which I have used in my own practice, is both lucid and thorough. Not only will experienced practitioners find the book to be an invaluable source, but beginners too will discover a text that is highly readable and easy to understand. I am confident saying that Asset Protection spans ¿the universe¿ of such techniques, with both analysis of the fundamental ¿building blocks¿ of the area and coverage of more advanced methodologies. Apart from its useful content, I also found the format of Asset Protection to be particularly straightforward, starting with its discussion of the basic concepts of asset protection and its goals, as well as ethical considerations, proceeding to cover many trusts currently being employed in sophisticated estate planning, and ending with a thorough discussion of entities that should play a part in many sophisticated estate plans. In sum, for beginner and practitioner alike, this book is a ¿must read¿!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2004

    Practice what they preach.

    There is so much mis information about this area of law floating around. These guys practice in this area and are first rate. This should be recommended reading for anyone in the financial services industry. Very on point and well done. Tim White

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    One of the Best

    I found this book to be one of the best books on this topic. The book is written in a manner that is easy to understand for both the seasoned professional as well as the armchair advisor. This is going to be at the top of my 'recommendations' list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    Very solid

    This is a very different book about asset protection. It is factual and technical and seems to be written more as a guide to professionals to implement asset protection plans than to the general public, making it the first of its kind. This book does not talk about litigation crises or how the average American is likely to be sued. It does not dwell on the offshore islands where people hide money, and it does not give hints about hiding money or tax evasion. What it does do is give a very good overview of assets protection as it relates to complex legal planning. It talks in great detail about the fraudulent transfer laws and the bankruptcy laws. It talks about how to maximize the benefits of mostly domestic structures, strengthened only as necessary by offshore planning. There is a discussion of captive insurance companies and offshore life insurance, but it is toward the end and does not dominate the book. I think that the best parts of the book were giving an inside glimpse into the asset protection planning world, and showing how the mostly highly marketed structures suffer from serious defects. This is definitely a wake-up call for those who are serious about asset protection, and do not want to fall under the spell of some marketer who sounds good but doesn¿t really know what they are talking about. We could certainly use a few more books about asset protection like this one, and less of the self-promotional offshore type.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    Refreshing and funny in places

    Just finished it. This was a very well-written book, although it is hard to figure out who the intended audience is. It doesn¿t seem like they are writing to potential clients, since much of the subject matter is complex, but it is written somewhat like a novel, with occasional anecdotes, so more than just other planners would get something meaningful out of it. The writing style reminds me a lot of the Burton Malkiel classic ¿A Random Walk Down Wall Street¿ where there is a mixture of technical theory heavily laced with enlightening storytelling. It definitely has the flavor of professional editing by McGraw-Hill¿s staff and is obviously not a self-published work. Anyhow, whether you are looking for asset protection solutions or not, the book is quite entertaining and gives an often unflattering view of how asset protection is marketed, such as seminar promoters hiring shills to sit in the audience and act like they are participants to encourage others in the audience to buy kits. A good fifth of the book seems to be an expose of offshore trusts ¿ you certainly won¿t read this book and rush out to start your own offshore trust after reading about how some people who set them up have gone to jail. The section on equity stripping is very good, as is the section on offshore limited liability companies. This book has ample diagrams to help explain complicated strategies, but the part on advanced methodologies whetted my appetite to learn more and I wish that several additional chapters had been devoted to these topics. It is refreshing to finally see a book whose treatment of asset protection goes beyond ¿just hire me to hide your money overseas¿ as so many of the books heretofore have done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    Like a good bottle of wine

    Reading this book is like finally getting a good bottle of aged wine after drinking years of fruit punch. From the descriptions of the seedy offshore planners who sell Cook Islands trusts to people whether they need it or not, to the domestic seminar promoters who line up shills to encourage attendees to buy cheapie family limited partnership kits, this book gives a candid look into how asset protection is sometimes shamelessly promoted. Having revealed the dirt under the rug, the book then goes on to address asset protection as a field of risk management and gives the best treatment of fraudulent transfer and bankruptcy preference rules that I have ever read. Just about all the popular asset protection strategies are reviewed, from Nevada bearer share entities to complex litigation expense policies, with the major strengths and weaknesses of each pointed out. The book spends quite a bit of time discussing both foreign and domestic asset protection trusts and their potential flaws (if I were a creditor attempting to penetrate such a structure, this would be the first resource that I would turn to), such that it is a wonderment that those structures are even used at all. Overall, the writing style is good, with just enough technical background on key points to let serious researchers know where to start, without it being overwhelming for the average business reader. Kudos to Jay and Chris. This book is well-researched and provides a level of thoughtfulness and depth of content that has been sadly absent from all the other books considering the topic of asset protection. Big thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1