Customer Reviews for

The Assignment

Average Rating 4
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

it was fantastic

from all the books i've read this made me stay up all night until i finished it. The part when Obrien was willing to do anything until the case was solved, it got me by suprise and Valenti had all those chances to do what he wanted to do, and even Obrien was willing to,...
from all the books i've read this made me stay up all night until i finished it. The part when Obrien was willing to do anything until the case was solved, it got me by suprise and Valenti had all those chances to do what he wanted to do, and even Obrien was willing to, but over all it was a fantastic gay erotica novel. I give it a 5 stars.

posted by puppies77 on September 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Steamy

Hot and steamy, but way too short

posted by billcain on March 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    An amazingly touching story. The characters and their story from

    An amazingly touching story. The characters and their story from friends to lovers holds you until the end. Only 4 stars because I wish it was longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Fabulous!

    I'd heard a lot about this book in the past, and when I decided to do M/M Romance Month I knew this was one of the books I needed to read. I'm so glad I did; I loved it!

    First of all - that cover - so hot! It made it very easy to picture these two sexy cops as I read the story.

    The premise was simple - two straight cops going undercover at a gay resort to bust a drug ring, except one of the cops has been having sexual feelings for his partner. Nicholas Valenti is confused as to why he's been thinking about his partner, Sean O'Brian, in a possessive way, and he's sure taking this undercover assignment at the RamJack is a bad idea - what if Sean figures it out?

    O'Brian is ready to take on the assignment, he's a touchy-feely guy already, always has been, and Valenti knows that trait will come in handy on this job. They meet with a friend of a friend for some "gay training" and Valenti likes it; he knows he's in soooo much trouble on this assignment.

    Once they're at the resort, things start happening all at once - security notices them and they've got to be convincing. Things start to get out of hand and they're pushed into situations they wouldn't have otherwise have been in, setting off a chain of events that could ruin their friendship, and their careers.

    My thoughts: Loved it! I liked Valenti and O'Brien - Valenti was so paranoid and O'Brien was so easy-going - they made a great pair. The "friends to lovers" and "gay for you" mixed with the "undercover cop/drug bust" story lines worked for me, and the sexy scenes were hot, but not excessive. A couple of times I thought "that wouldn't happen", but easily let it go to enjoy the rest of the book; I think it was mostly due to the length of the story that things had to hurry along a bit.

    The Assignment would be a good read for both beginner and experienced readers of M/M Romance - I definitely recommend it!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    A very nice story which could happen in real life

    very nice story line. could have more suspense to it or twist but overall a nice story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    Great story addicting

    Loved this story, very addicting. But the mini sequal I'll be hot for christmas was listed in the synopsis, but was not in the ebook, nor is it offered anywhere on this site. Oh well I will find it somewhere else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Both characters are well written. Story line is great but the police work was secondary not that I minded. I wish more straight men and homophobes would read books like these and get a feel for what it's like to have to come to terms with your feelings, especially the ones you don't want to have. I am a straight woman and I have enjoyed reading the M/M romance books as well as the m/f and m/f/m. I recommend this to one and all. I will be checking out Ms. Anderson's other books to be sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4