Customer Reviews for

Assistant

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The story will haunt you long after you've turned the last page

Bernard Malamud captured the immigrant life beautifully - America where dreams are made or broken; where one struggles to make a better life for their family. Morris Bober is confined to his small grocery store - his grave - an honest man struggling to make an honest li...
Bernard Malamud captured the immigrant life beautifully - America where dreams are made or broken; where one struggles to make a better life for their family. Morris Bober is confined to his small grocery store - his grave - an honest man struggling to make an honest living against many odds. In this captivating story you will encounter the physicality of rape, robbery, beatings and death. The mental and emotional journey you will take includes astounding glimpses of internal conflict, guilt, regret, human suffering, remorse, reconciliation, a quest for forgiveness and redemption. The Assistant is a story that transcends time. Wonderful read!

posted by Cenzo64 on September 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting

This book was interesting. The way the author explained and described each ethnic group. From the Jewish grocer to the New York liquer dealer. It is set in post war Brooklyn. Its a good book, it teaches you about Jewish life as well as other cultures you may not know ab...
This book was interesting. The way the author explained and described each ethnic group. From the Jewish grocer to the New York liquer dealer. It is set in post war Brooklyn. Its a good book, it teaches you about Jewish life as well as other cultures you may not know about. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in learning about different cultures in a past time.

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The story will haunt you long after you've turned the last page

    Bernard Malamud captured the immigrant life beautifully - America where dreams are made or broken; where one struggles to make a better life for their family. Morris Bober is confined to his small grocery store - his grave - an honest man struggling to make an honest living against many odds. In this captivating story you will encounter the physicality of rape, robbery, beatings and death. The mental and emotional journey you will take includes astounding glimpses of internal conflict, guilt, regret, human suffering, remorse, reconciliation, a quest for forgiveness and redemption. The Assistant is a story that transcends time. Wonderful read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    Interesting

    This book was interesting. The way the author explained and described each ethnic group. From the Jewish grocer to the New York liquer dealer. It is set in post war Brooklyn. Its a good book, it teaches you about Jewish life as well as other cultures you may not know about. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in learning about different cultures in a past time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    An Interesting Piece

    The ¿American dream¿ is cleverly described in Bernard Malamud¿s book, The Assistant. Bober, the main character, is a recent Russian immigrant who is trying to run a grocery store in Brooklyn in the late 1800¿s. A new grocery store is making him loose costumers, and the store is being supported mostly by his daughters pay checks. Malamund is able to describe the stress and desperation of Bobers¿s predicament. Just when Bober considers giving up the business, He meets Frank Alpine. And when Frank crosses paths with Bober, they start to take on a father-son relationship, and the story begins to develop rapidly. The characterization in Malamud¿s work is fantastic. The characters are honestly displayed with both positive and negative aspects. The scene of the story is also interesting. New York at that time was very diverse and unique, and Malamud captures that with his descriptions of the many outdoor scenes where Frank looks deep within his soul. The book puts in perspective the troubles immigrants and new business owners have, and the importance of work ethics and honesty.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2002

    Malamud 's finest novel .A minor classic.

    This in my judgment remains Malamud's finest novel. The story of Frankie Alpine the petty thief who comes to work in the store of Morris Bober, a poor Jewish grocer , and through the work come to identify and understand Jewish suffering is a poetically written , and deeply moving work. The story of Frankie Alpine's moral transformation in becoming Malamud 's kind of Jew is subtlely and beautiful told, as is Alpine's problematic love story with Bober's daughter. For Malamud a Jew is someone who is made more humane by a special and deep suffering.This is not a very Halachic definition, and not perhaps a very accurate definition in any real way. But it is Malamud 's literary and philosophical premise, and it informs all his work.Here it is illustrated in its most compelling and sympathetic way . Who reads this work will feel the need to be a kinder and better human being.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2001

    beautiful

    this is the first book by malamud i've ever read and i can honestly say i'm not even one bit disappointed. i love the jewish grocer's dignity and frank's moral renewal. both characters made me once again re-evaluate my very existence in this world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    I know this is supposed to be one of the "it" books bu

    I know this is supposed to be one of the "it" books but I simply could not get into this story at all. I thought the characters were awful people who actively ruined their own lives. I am not the kind of person that needs rainbows and sunshine in every story I read, but I would like at least one character to root for. Sadly this book did not have any such character. Totally depressing, skip it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    Depressing, boring, find another book!

    Without a doubt the most boring book I have EVER read. This was required reading for my Sophomore son; I'll read anything and picked it up. I can not imagine why an English teacher would imagine that a 15 year old would have any interest in this type of setting. The main character suffers through his entire life trying to make a living, his daughter gives up her dream of an education to help the family, his "assistant" steals from him, assaults him, and rapes his daughter. Not to mention his nagging wife, who talks him out of his "dream" to be a pharmacist. If you want to be depressed, read the newspaper or watch the evening newscast. There is a multitude of great literature our children can read...classics, that depict daily life...please, let the suffering stop with "The Assistant"!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    It kept interested throughout the entire book. Yet I kinda saw a few things coming without having to even read that part. :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unsuccessful portray of characters

    This is a book where most of the characters complain about their harsh lives...for me it turned out as a self-pitying bonanza. The story dragged on and more than half way through I couldn't imagine how this was going to end. A plethora of depressing events take place and then the ending slaps you in the face with a moral punch. The Assistant is supposed to be about the transformation of this Frank Alpine. Malamud, the author, focused more on basic facts and actions rather than helping the reader see "eye to eye" with Frank. I really wanted to empathize with these characters and see what they saw. Out of everything that happened the ending left me unsatisfied and with a big, "Who cares?" hanging over my head.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    why I picked this particular book

    I liked this book because it taught me how to look at things and makes me want change the way I act towards other's. The book explained how this man named Frank went through transformation and he didn't really know who he wanted to be and he felt lost. The book made me feel that I shouldn't give up on anything just because I may not have certain things in life. I feel that when you don't have much in life that you have to put effort to try to do something with your life so that you then can be in a higher postion that everyone else is in. The book made me realize to not to judge anyone just because they might not be in the same religion that you are in you should always get to know the good side of a person, before you judge first and end up getting the bad side of them. This book can really make some one feel different about themselves after reading this book because it gives you tips and details on how a man that didn't have anything ended up having pride and being caring of other's at the end. So I would recommand people to read this book if they want to learn a little more on how they can change certain things about themselves after reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2001

    Not the best book

    The book started off very, very boring. I almost put it down. But then it got a little interesting. (Just a little). The ending wasn't great at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1