BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Associate

Average Rating 3
( 658 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(144)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Grisham delivers a winner!

The Associate was a fantastic read. Lots of enjoyable characters and a plot that keeps the pages turning. I appreciate the notion that you have to try different things to keep what you do fresh, such as A Painted House or Playing For Pizza, but the legal thriller genre ...
The Associate was a fantastic read. Lots of enjoyable characters and a plot that keeps the pages turning. I appreciate the notion that you have to try different things to keep what you do fresh, such as A Painted House or Playing For Pizza, but the legal thriller genre is at least this reviewers favorite for John Grisham. The Associate certainly lives up to it's billing in its comparison to The Firm.

posted by 947635 on February 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Most Disappointing Grisham book to date

Being an avat fan of John Grisham, I anxiously await every year for his next novel. However, the year long wait has ended in nothing but disappointment. This book moved too slow and worst of all, had no real conclusion with an ending that wasn't there. Characters were l...
Being an avat fan of John Grisham, I anxiously await every year for his next novel. However, the year long wait has ended in nothing but disappointment. This book moved too slow and worst of all, had no real conclusion with an ending that wasn't there. Characters were left undefined and relationships went nowhere. Worst of all, I found this book to be haphazard and not very believable.
I appreciate Mr. Grisham for his writing and that he doesn't mass produce several books a year as other prominent authors. Everyone deserves a repreive and I believe it's fair to say, this book is it!

posted by 918571 on January 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 660 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    Most Disappointing Grisham book to date

    Being an avat fan of John Grisham, I anxiously await every year for his next novel. However, the year long wait has ended in nothing but disappointment. This book moved too slow and worst of all, had no real conclusion with an ending that wasn't there. Characters were left undefined and relationships went nowhere. Worst of all, I found this book to be haphazard and not very believable.<BR/>I appreciate Mr. Grisham for his writing and that he doesn't mass produce several books a year as other prominent authors. Everyone deserves a repreive and I believe it's fair to say, this book is it!

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    An Absolute Waste of Time

    This book was undoubtedly the worst tease ever. <BR/><BR/>The buildup was great, the potential¿even better. <BR/><BR/>But another reviewer put it best: 'It's like Grisham had a deadline to meet or just plain gave up and ended the book'. <BR/><BR/>So many questions remained unanswered, plots unresolved and the story was wholly underdeveloped. <BR/><BR/>Don't waste your time on this 'blatant end-of-the-year-contract-filler'

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    So so...

    I enjoy Grisham. I have read all his work. This one is typical. Not one of his best, but ok. I learned again of New York big firm life. I liked the main character and thought he was believable. I enjoyed the relationship of son/father and of those with the frat brothers. But, like much of his work, the ending is weak. How many times have we read of omnipotent bad guys fading at the end. Here we get to use our imagination on potential endings, but sometimes, I just like to have it neatly wrapped up in a creative way.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    Good, Not Great...Ending in Need of Rewrite

    It wasn't as bad as most reviewers seem to make it. It just isn't up to JG's usually high standards. The plot is a bit unbelievable, making the villain seemingly all-knowing and all powerful. The hero is a bit too naive in pursuing alternatives to the "blackmail", especially for a graduate of an elite law school. The rest of the characters are mere shells, except for the father who gets one good chapter to create a "persona". <BR/><BR/> And the ending? Simply put, it is about the worst book ending I have seen in a long time. No explanations and no justice--the hero just moves on with his life. That may be real life, but come on, this is a book and readers deserve better. <BR/><BR/> Having said all that, I still had trouble putting the book down and found JG's details about life in a mega-law firm totally engrossing. If only the plot had a few more twists and a decent ending, this WOULD have been one of his best.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    Grisham delivers a winner!

    The Associate was a fantastic read. Lots of enjoyable characters and a plot that keeps the pages turning. I appreciate the notion that you have to try different things to keep what you do fresh, such as A Painted House or Playing For Pizza, but the legal thriller genre is at least this reviewers favorite for John Grisham. The Associate certainly lives up to it's billing in its comparison to The Firm.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    Where's the Last Chapter

    It's like the whole last chapter is missing. The book started out great, and then Grisham must have gotten tired of writing and forgot to end it. I knew I was running out of pages and thought, "How is this thing going to end? There are too many unanswered questions. Surely he's not going to let it just fizzle out." And then he did. No ending whatsoever. I feel cheated. It's like he had to hurry up and get it over with because he had to be somewhere else. Major disappointment. People should be able to get refunds for books like this. Grisham's first few books were good and then the popularity must have gone to his head. I read a few of his later ones and said I'd never read another one. Then I picked up this one and, sure enough, I was extremely disappointed. I should have listened to that little voice that said "just borrow it from the library and then you're not out any money."

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    I'm through reading Grisham

    I said that when I read his last book but went to the well one more time. Like the last book this one was a huge disappointment. Perhaps Mr. Grisham needs to take a sabbatical from writing. The plot was weak, the main character was weak, and the ending was pathetic.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    Is there a Part II?

    What a disappointment. I tolerated the uneventful story line and sub par literary writing to find out what happened in the plot. The author left us without a who, what, and why. I was quite offended that I wasted the time reading it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    Don't waste your time

    This book is not up to Grisham standards. The ending is so anticlimatic and a great diappointment. I don't know how the publishers let him get away with this!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    A Bruised Golden Apple

    The thrilling story of a lawyer, fresh out of law school, being blacked mailed for a major New York law firm's secrets makes The Associate a captivating book. Throughout the novel John Grisham develops a plot that will fascinate any reader. The book gives an inside view to the intriguing life of fresh associates at major law firms through the character Kyle McAvoy. Kyle doesn't only have to deal with adjusting to the grueling workload of an associate, but also must worry about a grave mistake he made way back in his first years of college. Professional thugs discover Kyle's embarrassing past and use it to black mail him into committing serious crimes. Kyle, having never wanting to be a criminal, is constantly working on a scheme to free himself from the thugs grasp. With so many potential outcomes to the story, one finds themselves trying to predict the unpredictable; making this story impossible to set down.
    Sadly when the end arrives, ones predictions are neither confirmed nor denied. The ending, if it can even be called that, is a dull conclusion to such an exhilarating setup. Although the end is a disappointment, The Associate is still worth the read. If you exclude that last few chapters, The Associate is the definition of a well written suspense novel. It examines the theme of the importance of taking responsibility for one's actions. Also, it is a great example of how actions in your past will inevitably impact your future. Even with the unsatisfactory ending, overall the story is enthralling, making it worth one's while.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    Continuing Disappointment

    As many others have noted, Grisham's early works were excellent thrillers that kept you engaged till the end when everything came together for an awesome ending. Later books seemed like movie scripts that lost the tight writing he previously exhibited. Thought I'd give this one a try:it had great characters and it looked like we were really getting into a complex plot. I was wondering how things could ever resolve. Lo and behold they didn't! The ending was so flat and disappointing. No complex relationships were revealed - no tying together of all the pieces! I truly wish he would go back to the solid writing he used to do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    Really, really bad!

    I am a huge John Grisham fan but this book was a HUGE disappointment. Nothing happens in this book. It is essentially a character study of a new law school graduate and the pressures of working in a big law firm. The plot of this story never developed. I kept waiting and waiting for the twists and turns (as promised on the book's jacket) to happen but they never materialized. As I was getting towards the end of the book I kept telling myself "well there must be some big surprise at the very end" but nope that didn't happen either. This book was a total waste of my time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    A very entertaining book, too bad Grisham forgot to write the last 200 pages

    I was just really getting into this book when it abruptly ended, leaving very loose ends. Must be nice to write half a book and still have it end up on the NYT's best seller list. He did his fans a disservice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2009

    Worst Book Ever

    The last time I felt like this was at a Hank William Jr. concert, and he was to drunk to sing...Total Rip Off...Shame on you John...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    WORST ENDING EVER

    I am so, so SO disappointed in this book. it's like Grisham gave up the end and said to himself. "You know, I really don't feel like finishing writing this book". The ending is atrocious. I am done with Grisham, I want my money back!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    There must be a few chapters missing at the end.

    The book held my interest right to the end. The problem is, as there got to be fewer and fewer pages left, I couldn't see how he was going to explain everything with so little left; and he didn't. The book ends without a clue as to what happened, in a number of areas.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    disappointing ending

    The text was breezy, with a conversational tone that flew by. That's probably the best I can say about this book. The main character, Kyle, was interesting enough, but the rest of the characters seemed shallow and undeveloped. I could have overlooked all of this, but the ending flat out sucked. I kept waiting for something to happen - for a shocker, or a twist. Something ... but it never came. The main character literally walked around a corner and was gone. What happened to the bad guy (Bennie)? I don't know. He just vanished quietly. If this is a setup for a sequel, I could almost see the open ending, but it just seems like the story unraveled at the end, and the author just didn't care. Further, if this were Mr. Grisham's first book, I doubt I'd ever read a second. <BR/><BR/>I hate it when a popular author does this - they sell a book based solely on their name. It's the James Patterson syndrome - crank out anything and it'll sell. It made me wish the "good for" option listed, "door stop."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    Still Waiting

    I had hoped that this would be a book from Grisham that returned to the level of "The Firm" based on the previews of the book. Very ordinary and disappointing waiting for the plot to kick into high gear.........still waiting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not happening

    I read a 150 pages and stopped. I have to many good books awaiting me to read a boring thriller

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A waste of time

    This will be the last Grisham book I read. He has gone from being my favorite author to major disappointment in the last few years. The plot is absurd. A brilliant law student whose father is an attorney is "duped" by some bullies (with scant evidence that he may have witnessed an alleged rape) into committing felonious activities post graduation. It is beyond belief that an attorney actually wrote this. And, if you think the plot is senseless... wait for the non-existing ending. It is sure to disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 660 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33