Customer Reviews for

The Associate

Average Rating 3
( 658 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(144)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Grisham delivers a winner!

The Associate was a fantastic read. Lots of enjoyable characters and a plot that keeps the pages turning. I appreciate the notion that you have to try different things to keep what you do fresh, such as A Painted House or Playing For Pizza, but the legal thriller genre ...
The Associate was a fantastic read. Lots of enjoyable characters and a plot that keeps the pages turning. I appreciate the notion that you have to try different things to keep what you do fresh, such as A Painted House or Playing For Pizza, but the legal thriller genre is at least this reviewers favorite for John Grisham. The Associate certainly lives up to it's billing in its comparison to The Firm.

posted by 947635 on February 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Most Disappointing Grisham book to date

Being an avat fan of John Grisham, I anxiously await every year for his next novel. However, the year long wait has ended in nothing but disappointment. This book moved too slow and worst of all, had no real conclusion with an ending that wasn't there. Characters were l...
Being an avat fan of John Grisham, I anxiously await every year for his next novel. However, the year long wait has ended in nothing but disappointment. This book moved too slow and worst of all, had no real conclusion with an ending that wasn't there. Characters were left undefined and relationships went nowhere. Worst of all, I found this book to be haphazard and not very believable.
I appreciate Mr. Grisham for his writing and that he doesn't mass produce several books a year as other prominent authors. Everyone deserves a repreive and I believe it's fair to say, this book is it!

posted by 918571 on January 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 660 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 33
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    Entertaining throughout the book until the quick finish

    This book is a typical John Grisham legal thriller. Not one of the best books he has written, but I would still recommend it. The story shows the dirty side of the lawyers on Wall Street and padded billing that gives lawyers a bad reputation. Quite interesting topic considering the economic position we are in currently and all the media Wall Street is receiving. The main character is under blackmail and has to commit crimes he doesn't want to. Extortion and risky scandals are also involved throughout the book to add to the main character's problems. I thought the book had interesting twists to the characters and plot until the ending. The ending was kind of weak, and maybe a little too much was left unanswered. The reader has to fill in some blanks at the end to close the story. Overall, the novel is appealing for any John Grisham fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    Don't waste your money or time

    John Grisham fails to deliver with "The Associate". The plot is somewhat plausible, however the ending leaves the reader feeling like Grisham decided to take a vacation and just end the narrative. A waste of time and money, Do not buy this book it's a terrible investment. I for one was shocked by this second rate effort from a talented writer who has delivered great stories over the years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Almost

    I haven't read a John Grisham book in a while and was excited when I purchased this book. I really enjoyed the lead character and was drawn in with the story line. Everything was building to an exciting, suspenseful finish and then the book just peters out. It seems like Grisham got tired of writing this book and was 'okay, I am finished now.'

    Overall, I good book. Just not great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    He's finally done it again!! He's remembered his readers!! AND, he seems to appreciate them.

    I think that Grisham has started to find his earlier style of writing and
    suspense and storyline. His early works were page turners. After he
    became a huge success with books like The Firm, I feel he started to cheat his fans. He wrote books without much style and certainly without
    the length and depth we had come to expect from him.

    This new book was fascinating, a page-turner. I couldn't wait to see what happened next, how it happened and how our character was able to
    deal with it.

    Kudos to J Grisham for finally remembering how to write. Now he just has to learn how to make his book last longer.

    FB

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    Road to Nowhere

    Like many others have written here, I was left hanging by a non-ending. Where things should have been pulled together, explained and resolved... nothing happened. They wasted nine CD disks getting me to the place where I could feel satisfied and.... nothing. What's wrong with Grisham?... he knows better than this. Is he using a ghost writer?

    There is also the element of corporate or monetary disdain in some of his books. It's like he's anti-money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Decent!

    Overall a good read. However, the ending was a little wack.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    Good read!

    Fast paced...page turner....couldn't put it down. This is my # 2 favorite of Grisham's following The Firm. I was disappointed in the ending though...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thugs with Briefcases

    In many ways similar to his breakout novel "The Firm," Grisham's "Associate" is one of his better legal thrillers. There isn't much action in "The Associate," but Grisham manages to pique the reader's interest and grab his attention without it.


    As in "The Firm," in "The Associate" a novice lawyer becomes embroiled in the legal corruption that permeates the very fiber of a large law firm. In "The Associate" the young law-school grad chooses to take part in the ongoing corruption at the law firm--not because he wants to but because he is being blackmailed into accepting the job by malefactors working for a rival (and equally corrupt and avaricious) law firm.


    The fun here is in following the complications that ensue as the blackmailed Kyle McAvoy, terrified that his enemies will expose his involvement in an alleged college rape, attempts to defeat these very enemies even as they have him jumping through hoops to do their bidding.


    Some of his methods include his reading of paperback spy thrillers in order to figure out how to shake the blackmailers that tail him and, as well, his buying of espionage gadgets at electronics stores to counter their surveillance of him.


    Grisham's depiction of the machinations at the unscrupulous New York law firm is fascinating, especially his rendering of the extent to which these thugs with briefcases and law degrees will go in order to win their trials and the vast sums of money at stake in their lawsuits.


    All in all, I found the book as entertaining as "The Firm."


    --Bryan Cassiday, author of "Fete of Death"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    44 pages

    That is as far as I could take it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    Terrible

    It was an absolute waste of money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    Story line was too shallow

    Mr Grisham's books of late seem to range from very good to just fluff and this one fell into the fluff category. The story line had little depth...if any. Grisham's last really good book was the "Innocent Man"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    NOT HIS BEST-TENUOUS STORY.

    The first half of the book will have you shaking your head in disbelief.
    In it, the number one student at Yale Law wants to do low paying community service law upon graduation. The author would have us think that this bright, idealistic law student can be blackmailed into joining the largest law firm in the country to commit corporate espionage, all because of a mildly incriminating video taken during a drunken evening.
    The main problem with this premise is that the only thing this video really threatens is his career with a top tier law firm, a career he doesn't really want, anyway.
    This renders a fairly tedious first 100 pages.
    But, by the second half of the novel the plot does pick up, and the narrative makes the danger to him somewhat more plausible. The second half is far better than the first, but I wonder how many readers will make it that far.
    Tenuous at best. I would rather read a hundred bleachers than read another like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT

    I was so disappointed in this book. It just went on forever and for what - the ending just leaves you hanging. I usually pass his books around to family and friends, but this one is already down at the Goodwill store to be sold for $.64, exactly what I feel it is worth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Complete Waste of My Money and My Time (minor spoiler)

    I was wondering why all the discount stores were trying to give this one away. It didn't take long to figure out. Not only was it "The Firm" written for 2008, the author also decided to rip off a couple of his other one's as well... "The Summons" comes to mind immediately.(The whole addict and treatment sidebar that was underdeveloped and then cut short by murder. What an easy way out of a storyline). One item that this was mentioned earlier that I just cannot let go. How in the world could the mistake made on page 177 get past the author as well as the editors and proofers. I really have enjoyed nearly everything written by Grisham and I want to believe that maybe someone out there kidnapped him and borrowed his name for a while. I must ask... Mr. Grisham, after 21 previous best sellers, do you really need the money that badly? That said, there was potential and it could have been salvaged if at least there was some kind of an ending... Anything at all would be fine. I'll wait for the paperback on the next few.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Not worth it

    I did not feel this book was on par with his previous novels. The premise was too unbelievable and the ending left you unfulfilled.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    No Closure

    It was not the usual John Grisham novel...I read and read the first part of the book and then started picking it up, reading a chapter at a time, then back on the table, etc...finally I finished it expecting something exciting to climax with Bennie getting caught, but "not to happen"...left alot to be desired from my favorite author. Prehaps a sequel to complete the story??? People like Bennie surely could be caught by one of our agcenies since this was a work of fiction!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    Huge Disappointment

    I've read almost everything by Grisham and have yet to be this disappointed. Some of his books are better than others, but this one just never came together for me. There were so many loose ends that were never tied up, I finished this book and wondered where the rest of it was. I'm a big Grisham fan and will always be, but this was weak and just plain puzzling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    Not as bad as others have said!

    I agree with most of the reviewers that the ending was a letdown; however, it was an easy read and a good story line. I couldn't put the book down waiting to see how it ended. In spite of its weaknesses, I enjoyed it, but maybe my expectations of Grisham's books are not as great as they used to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not his best but...

    Still worth diving into... This book is like The Firm in so much as it centres around a newly-qualified young lawyer working all hours for a huge big-city American law firm. In The Associate the central character is being blackmailed into disclosing sensitive information from his employer to a mysterious third party. I've read all John Grisham's books and am a huge fan, and initially I enjoyed this one too. But the ending was a huge let-down, with several loose ends left untied (unless I missed something).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not one of Grishams's best!

    You can tell John Grisham is getting older, his books are being phoned in. This had so much promise in the beginning, but by the flat ending, I was sorry I had bought the book. You are better off checking it out from the library if you want to read it at all. It was like a short story Grisham once wrote, that he now padded to be a novel. If you want a good lawyer story, read The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 660 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 33