Customer Reviews for

The Associate

Average Rating 3
( 657 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(174)

3 Star

(145)

2 Star

(144)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Grisham delivers a winner!

The Associate was a fantastic read. Lots of enjoyable characters and a plot that keeps the pages turning. I appreciate the notion that you have to try different things to keep what you do fresh, such as A Painted House or Playing For Pizza, but the legal thriller genre ...
The Associate was a fantastic read. Lots of enjoyable characters and a plot that keeps the pages turning. I appreciate the notion that you have to try different things to keep what you do fresh, such as A Painted House or Playing For Pizza, but the legal thriller genre is at least this reviewers favorite for John Grisham. The Associate certainly lives up to it's billing in its comparison to The Firm.

posted by 947635 on February 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Most Disappointing Grisham book to date

Being an avat fan of John Grisham, I anxiously await every year for his next novel. However, the year long wait has ended in nothing but disappointment. This book moved too slow and worst of all, had no real conclusion with an ending that wasn't there. Characters were l...
Being an avat fan of John Grisham, I anxiously await every year for his next novel. However, the year long wait has ended in nothing but disappointment. This book moved too slow and worst of all, had no real conclusion with an ending that wasn't there. Characters were left undefined and relationships went nowhere. Worst of all, I found this book to be haphazard and not very believable.
I appreciate Mr. Grisham for his writing and that he doesn't mass produce several books a year as other prominent authors. Everyone deserves a repreive and I believe it's fair to say, this book is it!

posted by 918571 on January 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    An Absolute Waste of Time

    This book was undoubtedly the worst tease ever. <BR/><BR/>The buildup was great, the potential¿even better. <BR/><BR/>But another reviewer put it best: 'It's like Grisham had a deadline to meet or just plain gave up and ended the book'. <BR/><BR/>So many questions remained unanswered, plots unresolved and the story was wholly underdeveloped. <BR/><BR/>Don't waste your time on this 'blatant end-of-the-year-contract-filler'

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    Where's the Last Chapter

    It's like the whole last chapter is missing. The book started out great, and then Grisham must have gotten tired of writing and forgot to end it. I knew I was running out of pages and thought, "How is this thing going to end? There are too many unanswered questions. Surely he's not going to let it just fizzle out." And then he did. No ending whatsoever. I feel cheated. It's like he had to hurry up and get it over with because he had to be somewhere else. Major disappointment. People should be able to get refunds for books like this. Grisham's first few books were good and then the popularity must have gone to his head. I read a few of his later ones and said I'd never read another one. Then I picked up this one and, sure enough, I was extremely disappointed. I should have listened to that little voice that said "just borrow it from the library and then you're not out any money."

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    I'm through reading Grisham

    I said that when I read his last book but went to the well one more time. Like the last book this one was a huge disappointment. Perhaps Mr. Grisham needs to take a sabbatical from writing. The plot was weak, the main character was weak, and the ending was pathetic.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    Is there a Part II?

    What a disappointment. I tolerated the uneventful story line and sub par literary writing to find out what happened in the plot. The author left us without a who, what, and why. I was quite offended that I wasted the time reading it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    Don't waste your time

    This book is not up to Grisham standards. The ending is so anticlimatic and a great diappointment. I don't know how the publishers let him get away with this!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    Really, really bad!

    I am a huge John Grisham fan but this book was a HUGE disappointment. Nothing happens in this book. It is essentially a character study of a new law school graduate and the pressures of working in a big law firm. The plot of this story never developed. I kept waiting and waiting for the twists and turns (as promised on the book's jacket) to happen but they never materialized. As I was getting towards the end of the book I kept telling myself "well there must be some big surprise at the very end" but nope that didn't happen either. This book was a total waste of my time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2009

    Worst Book Ever

    The last time I felt like this was at a Hank William Jr. concert, and he was to drunk to sing...Total Rip Off...Shame on you John...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    disappointing ending

    The text was breezy, with a conversational tone that flew by. That's probably the best I can say about this book. The main character, Kyle, was interesting enough, but the rest of the characters seemed shallow and undeveloped. I could have overlooked all of this, but the ending flat out sucked. I kept waiting for something to happen - for a shocker, or a twist. Something ... but it never came. The main character literally walked around a corner and was gone. What happened to the bad guy (Bennie)? I don't know. He just vanished quietly. If this is a setup for a sequel, I could almost see the open ending, but it just seems like the story unraveled at the end, and the author just didn't care. Further, if this were Mr. Grisham's first book, I doubt I'd ever read a second. <BR/><BR/>I hate it when a popular author does this - they sell a book based solely on their name. It's the James Patterson syndrome - crank out anything and it'll sell. It made me wish the "good for" option listed, "door stop."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not happening

    I read a 150 pages and stopped. I have to many good books awaiting me to read a boring thriller

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A waste of time

    This will be the last Grisham book I read. He has gone from being my favorite author to major disappointment in the last few years. The plot is absurd. A brilliant law student whose father is an attorney is "duped" by some bullies (with scant evidence that he may have witnessed an alleged rape) into committing felonious activities post graduation. It is beyond belief that an attorney actually wrote this. And, if you think the plot is senseless... wait for the non-existing ending. It is sure to disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    Don't waste your money or time

    John Grisham fails to deliver with "The Associate". The plot is somewhat plausible, however the ending leaves the reader feeling like Grisham decided to take a vacation and just end the narrative. A waste of time and money, Do not buy this book it's a terrible investment. I for one was shocked by this second rate effort from a talented writer who has delivered great stories over the years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    44 pages

    That is as far as I could take it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    Terrible

    It was an absolute waste of money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    Story line was too shallow

    Mr Grisham's books of late seem to range from very good to just fluff and this one fell into the fluff category. The story line had little depth...if any. Grisham's last really good book was the "Innocent Man"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT

    I was so disappointed in this book. It just went on forever and for what - the ending just leaves you hanging. I usually pass his books around to family and friends, but this one is already down at the Goodwill store to be sold for $.64, exactly what I feel it is worth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Complete Waste of My Money and My Time (minor spoiler)

    I was wondering why all the discount stores were trying to give this one away. It didn't take long to figure out. Not only was it "The Firm" written for 2008, the author also decided to rip off a couple of his other one's as well... "The Summons" comes to mind immediately.(The whole addict and treatment sidebar that was underdeveloped and then cut short by murder. What an easy way out of a storyline). One item that this was mentioned earlier that I just cannot let go. How in the world could the mistake made on page 177 get past the author as well as the editors and proofers. I really have enjoyed nearly everything written by Grisham and I want to believe that maybe someone out there kidnapped him and borrowed his name for a while. I must ask... Mr. Grisham, after 21 previous best sellers, do you really need the money that badly? That said, there was potential and it could have been salvaged if at least there was some kind of an ending... Anything at all would be fine. I'll wait for the paperback on the next few.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Not worth it

    I did not feel this book was on par with his previous novels. The premise was too unbelievable and the ending left you unfulfilled.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    Huge Disappointment

    I've read almost everything by Grisham and have yet to be this disappointed. Some of his books are better than others, but this one just never came together for me. There were so many loose ends that were never tied up, I finished this book and wondered where the rest of it was. I'm a big Grisham fan and will always be, but this was weak and just plain puzzling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    What a disappointment !

    Generally love John Grishman's books.......wish I had gone to the library for this one and saved my money. The plot was ridiculous and the ending was even worse, if you can call it an ending. Nothing was tied up in the end, nothing mentioned about what his father had done for him to "resolve" his problem. All in all , not worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    Never had an ending!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I can't believe that I thought this was such a good story line and could not wait to see how Mr. Grisham ended with a surprising twist. What a surprise!!! Boring, boring and no ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4