Customer Reviews for

The Associate

Average Rating 3
( 657 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(174)

3 Star

(145)

2 Star

(144)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Grisham delivers a winner!

The Associate was a fantastic read. Lots of enjoyable characters and a plot that keeps the pages turning. I appreciate the notion that you have to try different things to keep what you do fresh, such as A Painted House or Playing For Pizza, but the legal thriller genre ...
The Associate was a fantastic read. Lots of enjoyable characters and a plot that keeps the pages turning. I appreciate the notion that you have to try different things to keep what you do fresh, such as A Painted House or Playing For Pizza, but the legal thriller genre is at least this reviewers favorite for John Grisham. The Associate certainly lives up to it's billing in its comparison to The Firm.

posted by 947635 on February 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Most Disappointing Grisham book to date

Being an avat fan of John Grisham, I anxiously await every year for his next novel. However, the year long wait has ended in nothing but disappointment. This book moved too slow and worst of all, had no real conclusion with an ending that wasn't there. Characters were l...
Being an avat fan of John Grisham, I anxiously await every year for his next novel. However, the year long wait has ended in nothing but disappointment. This book moved too slow and worst of all, had no real conclusion with an ending that wasn't there. Characters were left undefined and relationships went nowhere. Worst of all, I found this book to be haphazard and not very believable.
I appreciate Mr. Grisham for his writing and that he doesn't mass produce several books a year as other prominent authors. Everyone deserves a repreive and I believe it's fair to say, this book is it!

posted by 918571 on January 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    Most Disappointing Grisham book to date

    Being an avat fan of John Grisham, I anxiously await every year for his next novel. However, the year long wait has ended in nothing but disappointment. This book moved too slow and worst of all, had no real conclusion with an ending that wasn't there. Characters were left undefined and relationships went nowhere. Worst of all, I found this book to be haphazard and not very believable.<BR/>I appreciate Mr. Grisham for his writing and that he doesn't mass produce several books a year as other prominent authors. Everyone deserves a repreive and I believe it's fair to say, this book is it!

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    Continuing Disappointment

    As many others have noted, Grisham's early works were excellent thrillers that kept you engaged till the end when everything came together for an awesome ending. Later books seemed like movie scripts that lost the tight writing he previously exhibited. Thought I'd give this one a try:it had great characters and it looked like we were really getting into a complex plot. I was wondering how things could ever resolve. Lo and behold they didn't! The ending was so flat and disappointing. No complex relationships were revealed - no tying together of all the pieces! I truly wish he would go back to the solid writing he used to do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    A very entertaining book, too bad Grisham forgot to write the last 200 pages

    I was just really getting into this book when it abruptly ended, leaving very loose ends. Must be nice to write half a book and still have it end up on the NYT's best seller list. He did his fans a disservice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    WORST ENDING EVER

    I am so, so SO disappointed in this book. it's like Grisham gave up the end and said to himself. "You know, I really don't feel like finishing writing this book". The ending is atrocious. I am done with Grisham, I want my money back!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    Still Waiting

    I had hoped that this would be a book from Grisham that returned to the level of "The Firm" based on the previews of the book. Very ordinary and disappointing waiting for the plot to kick into high gear.........still waiting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    Road to Nowhere

    Like many others have written here, I was left hanging by a non-ending. Where things should have been pulled together, explained and resolved... nothing happened. They wasted nine CD disks getting me to the place where I could feel satisfied and.... nothing. What's wrong with Grisham?... he knows better than this. Is he using a ghost writer?

    There is also the element of corporate or monetary disdain in some of his books. It's like he's anti-money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    No Closure

    It was not the usual John Grisham novel...I read and read the first part of the book and then started picking it up, reading a chapter at a time, then back on the table, etc...finally I finished it expecting something exciting to climax with Bennie getting caught, but "not to happen"...left alot to be desired from my favorite author. Prehaps a sequel to complete the story??? People like Bennie surely could be caught by one of our agcenies since this was a work of fiction!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not one of Grishams's best!

    You can tell John Grisham is getting older, his books are being phoned in. This had so much promise in the beginning, but by the flat ending, I was sorry I had bought the book. You are better off checking it out from the library if you want to read it at all. It was like a short story Grisham once wrote, that he now padded to be a novel. If you want a good lawyer story, read The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2009

    Not one of Grisham's best

    I've read most of Grisham's novels and saddly this is not one of his best efforts. This could have been a good novel. Unfortunately, there are many shortcomings with the novel starting with Grisham's failure in just scratching the surface of most of the characters. With the exception of the main character, Kyle McAvoy, and Kyle's old college chum, Baxter Tate, none of the other characters were fully developed. Even with the villan, Benny Wright, Grisham just gave the reader a surface view of the characters. In fact the real villan in this novel was never actually revealed. In many respects this novel felt incomplete in its plot, story line, and development of its characters. Either Grisham has a sequel in mind or he simply ran out of gas and stopped writing, resulting in an unfinished piece of work. Mr. Grisham you can do much, much better....shame on you!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just Really Fair to Bad

    this is the second, the last two in fact, of Grisham's books that I've found to be very disappointing. The Associate felt as if it was a short story that he just padded and padded to be a full length novel. The inner workings of a large firm just went on ad infinitum. As well, the cloak and dagger stuff got old quickly. One really wonders how a person as brilliant as the main character could be just so stupid. His friend's death, in fact the whole character was terribly flawed. You were lead to believe that there would be more to him, something. The last hundred pages are teh whole book and one wonders why it took so long to get there. It was definitely put-downable and not worth the expense.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Grisham phoned it in.

    CD/abridged/legal thriller: Thriller? The first 90% of the book builds up to....nothing. In reality, there is no ending. Kyle is a fresh Yale graduate being blackmailed. One of his former roommates is murdered. So, who was really blackmailing him....you never find out. Who murdered the roommate.....you never find out. The narrator is good, the background on how big law firms are run is interesting, how Kyle tries to get himself out of this pickle is engrossing, but there is such a non-ending. Personally, I thought the another roommate did the murder, but my theory was never a thought in anyone's head. You kept waiting for the shoe to drop at the end and Grisham decided to take a nap then finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Where's the ending?

    Like so many other reviews, I agree that the ending was a huge letdown. Actually that's not correct, there was NO ending to be a letdown. I have it on audiobook and had to check and double check that I hadn't skipped the last chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Disappointing at best....

    Lame story, lamer characters, and no ending. Fan of his other work, but I wont ever get he wasted time back from reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Where is the ending?

    Not a bad plot but the lack of ending destroyed this novel. I am so glad i downloaded this from the library and did not purchase!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not Grisham's best

    Grisham's best known trademark is his ability to write mesmerizing legal thrillers. With a political overtone to his one, he has brought us another story that is absorbing enough to keep readers attention. If you liked "The Pelican Brief" and "The Firm", you may want to read this one.

    The hero is Kyle McAvoy, onetime editor of the Yale Law Journal, whose post-graduation plans were to work as a legal-aid representing illegal migrant workers. His dream is chattered when he is visited by Bennie Wright, a sinister fellow who has discovered a skeleton in Kyle's closet: a video of Kyle's fraternity brothers, gang raping a girl in his apartment while he watched on. Bennie threatens to make it public and destroy Kyle's legal career if he doesn't accept a job at the prestigious law firm of Scully& Pershing. He needs Kyle inside the firm to obtain confidential information and documents regarding a law suit against two defense industries.

    We have two main themes playing throughout the novel that criss-cross each other, first the novel highlights the extreme pressure of being an associate in a powerful firm where it is expected two work limitless billable hours in order to artificially inflate their customers bill. The other is Kyle's reluctant role as Bennie's in house spy.

    The author usually writes intricate plots that have his readers flipping page after page. This novel started in the same manner but for some reason mid-way, the storyline fizzled and the pacing began to bog down. Although not unique, Kyle's character is interesting and rather smart. I particularly liked his clever plan to outwit Bennie; it provided some unpredictability and helped maintain my attention. As for the supporting characters, most were rather dull and some I would even consider a distraction to the main plot. I felt Grisham ran out steam towards the end, this has left me with a so so memory of the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good idea, bad ending. Not Grisham's best.

    I absolutely LOVE John Grisham. This book had a wonderful idea and read mostly well until the end. The ending is very disappointing. If Grisham would have added a few more chapters and fixed the ending, this would have been absolute literature genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    What the heck?

    I could not put this book down! Great story line until the end. I kept looking for the extra pages. I thought What the heck? Grisham did not finish this book....One of my favorite authors, but really now, what happened to the finished product?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    Sadly, the idea was not as big as Grisham thought it was.

    The Associate starts out of the gate very well. It's exciting, we don't know who a lot of these people are, and we happily keep reading to find out. It's like this for about one hundred and thirty pages. But after the seemingly endless and boring conversations between Kyle and Bennie Wright that go nowhere, I started to lose interest. This goes on for over three hundred pages, and I found myself skimming the pages just to get it over with. If it was shorter, It would have made more sense, the idea was small, and there is nothing wrong that. I think Grisham is a very good writer and he is one of my favorites. But this is the worst book he has ever written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    Don't waste your money

    The suspense was great ... until the end. You were just left with nothing. The best book Grisham wrote was his first -- each book after has just gone downhill from there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just OK

    I enjoyed the first half of the book which had the ordinary good guy trying to out smart the sophisticated bad guys. The ending fizzled and you were left with unanswered questions. I felt the author was attempting to recreate "The Firm". This attempt was unsuccessful. I would stick with the original.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8