Customer Reviews for

The Associate

Average Rating 3
( 658 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(144)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Grisham delivers a winner!

The Associate was a fantastic read. Lots of enjoyable characters and a plot that keeps the pages turning. I appreciate the notion that you have to try different things to keep what you do fresh, such as A Painted House or Playing For Pizza, but the legal thriller genre ...
The Associate was a fantastic read. Lots of enjoyable characters and a plot that keeps the pages turning. I appreciate the notion that you have to try different things to keep what you do fresh, such as A Painted House or Playing For Pizza, but the legal thriller genre is at least this reviewers favorite for John Grisham. The Associate certainly lives up to it's billing in its comparison to The Firm.

posted by 947635 on February 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Most Disappointing Grisham book to date

Being an avat fan of John Grisham, I anxiously await every year for his next novel. However, the year long wait has ended in nothing but disappointment. This book moved too slow and worst of all, had no real conclusion with an ending that wasn't there. Characters were l...
Being an avat fan of John Grisham, I anxiously await every year for his next novel. However, the year long wait has ended in nothing but disappointment. This book moved too slow and worst of all, had no real conclusion with an ending that wasn't there. Characters were left undefined and relationships went nowhere. Worst of all, I found this book to be haphazard and not very believable.
I appreciate Mr. Grisham for his writing and that he doesn't mass produce several books a year as other prominent authors. Everyone deserves a repreive and I believe it's fair to say, this book is it!

posted by 918571 on January 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 144 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Terrible

    Not worth the read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Forgettable

    kinda interesting, but lacked action. it was just constantly leading up to things that never happen. not many suprises. then it just ends. it wasn't terrible, but i don't know that i would ever recommend it. i can see where some people may have enjoyed the plot, but it really just wasn't my kinda book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    Absolutey terrible

    Read all JG books and found this to be pitifully bad. Worst book he has ever written. Took 200 pages to get me interested. Everything (plot, characters,story line) was overly simple. Ending, as other reviewers mentioned, was out of nowhere. Did seem like he got bored with his own book and just ended it. Wife wanted to read the book when I was finished. Told her to not waste her time. This is his second strike, one more and he's out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    BAD

    This book was terrible. It says something that the highest rating I gave it was for the cover art. The story is flimsy at best from beginning to end. Don't waste your time, I'm am sorry I wasted mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Terrible

    I am saying this as a true Grisham fan....This book is horrible. I have read all of Grisham's books and loved many. The Associate, though, is just not up to snuff. The plot is just ridiculous, the ending unsatisfying and the characters one dimensional. The only unifying theme seems to be the evils of alcohol. If you are about to read this book you will soon understand what I mean. If you are about to buy this book do your self a favor and just set a ten dollar bill on fire, take the financial loss, and save your self the 5 hours of reading.

    MS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    Very disappointing

    I loved John Grisham to death! And I've been collecting all his books so far but the ending fell so flat no there was no ending there was nothing! I loved the beginning it keep me going but he lost it. i was on this high and it just ended.

    Of course i will still buy all his books but this did not end well at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    Weak!

    Fortunately I borrowed this book rather than purchased it. Good plot idea but very little character development and no closure. The story line just stops! I have not been so disappointed in a book in such a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Dis-Associate

    I must say I was disppointed again. Like several of Grisham's last books this one started out well and then went in the tank. I think I was around page 300 when I realized...its happening again. The ending fell with a thud. And reallty the middle of the book really developed nothing. There was no real plot. I have no idea how this will ever translate into any film. The main character basically sleep walks thorugh the book and makes a few quips. I have no visions of him running through the streets of Manahattan like Tom Cruise did in the firm. Maybe they can get Perry Como to play the leasd. Oh right...he's dead. So is the ending.

    The vilians, as well, are undefined and uninteresting. The only thing intriquing about them was their disinterest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    Very disappointing

    I thought the last book was disappointing and was REALLY hoping this one would be better. It was not. It is full of charaters and relationships that go no where, unexplained plot twists, and an ending that tells the reader NOTHING about what happens to he characters. You are left wondering why you read half of the book, since none of it comes to fruition and seems like useless page filling. This story had such potential and it's sad how it was left.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Kind of a miss

    The first Grisham books I read, years ago, were fresh and original. He carried the story from beginning to end and everything was solid.

    The last couple of his books, for me, have fallen kind of flat. It's like he is just fulfilling a contract. There is no real passion for the work. This one had a really flat ending. Perhaps that is the publisher limiting the number of pages rather than the authors lack of imagination. I don't know. In short, this book didn't work for me. I'll probably skip his next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    OK, where's the real ending?

    I was truly enjoying this read. It was captivating, exciting and hard to put down, not unlike many previous Grisham novels I've read. And then it ended. I don't want to play spoiler, so I won't go into great detail, but there was simply no drama to the conclusion. No closure for the relationship. No outcome for the lawsuit. It was almost as if there should be a part II..."next week on The Associate..., the exciting conclusion..." But it just wasn't there. Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not up to John Grisham's usual standard of legal thriller.

    This book sucks. I'm not saying that to be mean. I've read all of John Grisham's legal thriller novels dating back to the release of The Firm. Some I've enjoyed more than others but there aren't any that I'd rate below a 4 overall until this one. The book starts out suspenseful enough. There's plenty of early plot and build up to something big. At least that's what he leads you to believe. Then the book just fizzles and dies a quiet death.

    It's almost like John wrote this book and decided "Hey I've reached 300 pages, let me wrap this up" and then hurried to a finale.

    If you're new to John Grisham's books look at his other legal thrillers because this certainly isn't his best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Did John Grisham write this in his sleep?

    The only John Grisham I haven't liked. Boring, predictable. Not like him at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing...again

    I'm about to give up on Grisham as this is another disappointing effort. The storyline was interesting with some great insights into the world of a young lawyer, but the ending...well, there really wasn't one. I felt like he either ran out of ideas or writing materials and just decided to end the book. After spending my time reading almost 300 pages, the least he could have done was give me a real conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Grisham's writing days should end

    After all of the hype, I reluctantly decided to try one more Grisham book. Nice start, redundant middle, and, as usual a zero ending. I believe that his publisher calls and says the manuscript is due the next day, so he just ends the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    He must have been bored with this one...and so was I

    I generally enjoy Grisham's style and the development of his plot twists but I really felt he became bored with this book and just stopped. There were so many possibilities for this to end much differently and with much more interest than...he just walked on down Browadway (or whatever...don't have book next to met). Grisham left the whole idea of the payoff the father had arranged...how are they paying off her now when he is no longer employed at a rich firm? I realize that is not necessary now but this "string" was left unpulled! He added many characters and then just dropped them or didn't bother to use them to develop the plot. I was just very disappointed and will not invest in his next book...just borrow it from the library. After all, if Grisham is bored (or on some kind of deadline for completing a book) and does not have the time to really work out a story, I don't have the time to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Not the old Grisham

    Didn't even want to finish this book; it has none of the plot depth of his early novels - the story line is tired and the characters are thinly developed. Grisham has made his millions and evidentally doesn't feel the need to spend the artistic energy to "create" another keeper. It's almost as if this is a screenplay in the making. We'll hope the movie is better than the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    Very disappointing

    I am a faithful reader of John Grisham, and have been for many, many years. But this is disappointing to say the least. While it keeps you on the edge of your seat at points, the ending is flat. Loose ends are not tied up and one is left with the empty feeling they wasted many hours of their lives for nothing. There are many characers which one invests themselves into, and then abruptly nothing is heard of them. The last chapter is very anticlimatic and leaves the reader feeling completely cheated. John Grisham is a brilliant writer, however " The Associate" is not an example of his superior gift for story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Associate, John Grisham

    I was somewhat disappointed with this Grisham novel because I really enjoy his stories (and I've read almost all of them). This is good writing with intersting characters and vivid descriptions but, it's the story. A story about a man who is getting blackmailed and where does he turn for help? All the wrong places and people like I would do. Who wants to escape into a character that does what I do? Where's the twists? It was like paying for a rollercoaster ride, and you know its going to be a good ride because it is after all John Grisham, but after the first and only steep, gut wrenching hill, it's over. A 'so-what' thesis.

    After finishing the very last sentence I turned the page, and then the remaining pages in the back until I realised that was the last sentence! I can only conclude that Mr. Grisham purposely did that because there's going to be a sequel. And I'll surely grab it the day it comes out because I continue on as a Grisham fan. Even A Painted House didn't deter me, although this one came close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Ummm....

    Typically, I am a lover of anything John Grisham. HOWEVER, I was not thrilled with this book. The plot was ok, but nothing exceptional. I think what spoiled this the most for me was the ending, as in the book just ENDED. I do not believe this was Mr. Grisham's best work so I would tell anyone interested in reading this book to proceed with caution. If you happen to be a huge Grisham fan (like myself) you will likely be dissapointed :-(.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 144 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8