Customer Reviews for

Astor Place Vintage: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Imagine living your life as a working young woman in 1907 or in

    Imagine living your life as a working young woman in 1907 or in 2007.  What would be the same and what would be different?  Believe it or not, not much, although as this novel depicts two women from each period run into society’s strictures and mistakes of their own.  This is the story of Olive Westcott, a young woman living in the earlier part of the 20th Century.  She wants to be a retail seller of clothing in the worst possible way, but her father and business owners will not allow social pressures to make her dream possible.  A woman could never go anywhere alone, let alone work without a male reference or supporter.  She is up to the fight however, when her father no longer has that ever-present influence in her life.  She proves that times are slowly changing by starting at the bottom as a salesgirl at a department store.  
    How do we know all this? Amanda Rosenbloom, who owns a clothing shop named per this novel’s title, finds Olive’s journal.  Amanda is in a bit of a quandary herself.  She’s an insomniac dating a married man.  She knows her future with him is going nowhere fast but lacks the strength to end it, at least initially.  As it turns out, the economy in New York City is changing as well, and Amanda finds herself being evicted so the owner can charge a more exorbitant rent to the next person.  After all, New York, both in Amanda and Olive’s time, is prime territory for real estate and business.  Amanda will prove to be creative and resourceful in her attempt to save her business, find a better place to live, and seek a satisfying romance. 
    Tall order for Olive and Amanda, yes; but Stephanie Lehmann offers the reader two females with all their strengths and weaknesses who are all the more likeable because they are so real!  Lehmann also offers us through quaint, exciting and painstaking detail a thorough panorama of the architecture, interior designs, fashions in clothing, food, music, and art prominent in both time periods.  This is an elegant picture of New York as it evolved over 100 years and a delight to relish equally with the story!  
    Astor Place Vintage is very finely written and a hugely entertaining read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Just finished Stephanie Lehmann's latest novel, ASTOR PLACE VINT

    Just finished Stephanie Lehmann's latest novel, ASTOR PLACE VINTAGE and this book is quickly jumping to the top of my highly recommended books. It's enchanting, rich with historical detail and tells the story of two women from different time periods that will have you rooting for them all the way. I couldn't put it down! This one is a real winner!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Even though I¿m not familiar with most of the buildings in New Y

    Even though I’m not familiar with most of the buildings in New York City, Astor Place Vintage by Stephanie Lehmann was still a book that I could enjoy. 

    Amanda has a vintage clothing store and she loves connections to the past.  Not the cheesy 70’s & 80’s past, but the REAL past, like 1900s, 1920s, etc.  As she is struggling with a bad economy and a relationship that has nowhere to go, Amanda stumbles upon the 100-year-old diary of Olive, a NYC transplant from the suburbs.  

    As Amanda reads Olive’s diary, she realizes that she has the power to make some necessary changes in her life.  At the same time, Amanda discovers that many of the NYC locations she frequents have connections to Olive’s past.  

    This story is told from both Amanda and Olive’s perspectives, which is something that I always love, especially when done well!  

    Astor Place Vintage is a light, enjoyable read about two connected women 100 years apart, and one I highly recommend, whether you’re familiar with NYC or not.  

    Thank you to my friend @ Touchstone Books for this copy of one of her new favorites!

    This book takes place in NYC – have you been?

    Thanks for reading, 

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Perfect summer - or fall, winter, spring - reading.Great for reading groups.

    We chose Astor Place Vintage as our "family reading group" summer selection and we couldnt have done better. We wanted a really good read that was perfect for a number of mostly female readers from age 20 to 64 - who like both literary fiction and totally escapist fiction. This was a perfect balance -- a page-turner that was well-written and engrossing. The two women protagonists - a hundred years apart - gave us a good sense of issues facing women at the turn of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. But mostly it was just a good, heart-warming, interesting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2013

    Great story, well written

    Great story, well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    GOOD READ

    This was an enjoyable read . The contrasting of 2 lives in different eras present and the past and how their passages eventually are intertwined. I had passed this book to two other people who enjoyed it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Astor Place Vintage arrived in my mailbox at just the right time

    Astor Place Vintage arrived in my mailbox at just the right time. I was wanting to read something light and fun, but not mindless. A mix of chick lit and historical fiction, this book fit the bill.

    The story is told in alternating perspectives by two women living in New York City 100 years apart—Olive, age 20 in 1907, and Amanda, age 39 in 2007.

    Amanda drove me nuts. I found her a little shallow and completely juvenile. Plus, she's been having an affair with a married man for years, and the only remorse she ever seems to feel has only to do with what she has lost. Well, boo-hoo! I can't count the number of times I rolled my eyes at her. I didn't feel sympathetic toward her character at all, but I also didn't mind watching the train wreck.

    But Olive... Olive was a fantastic character! I loved watching her change, become empowered, break away from societal expectations. In a sense, this is Olive's coming-of-age story. I was surprised by how inhibited women of her time and her social class were, by how taboo it was to discuss very normal things that take place in a woman's life. I also didn't realize single women had so much trouble finding a respectable place to live; apparently being unmarried was frowned upon.

    Astor Place Vintage has a satisfying conclusion, and overall is an engaging read. There are even turn-of-the-century photographs of New York City interspersed throughout. This book is perfect for vacations, the beach... anytime you want something undemanding yet not frivolous.

    I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive any other compensation for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Astor Place Vintage is a seamlessly-woven tale about two women l

    Astor Place Vintage is a seamlessly-woven tale about two women living a century apart but connected by a weird combination of mystical and historical phenomena. Amanda Rosenbloom, a Manhattan vintage clothing dealer battling insomnia and exhaustion, stumbles upon Olive Wescott’s diary (written in 1907-08) while purchasing garments from an eccentric old lady. Amanda becomes enthralled by Olive’s fascinating journal entries, which seem to bring the turn-of-the century protagonist eerily to life. But this isn’t a novel about time travel so much as an imaginative, well-executed story about the interconnectedness of two human souls through time and space.

    The chapters narrated by Olive offer a marvelous glimpse at feminism’s “first wave” in the form of Olive’s personal challenges as a single woman living and working in the same lower-East Side neighborhood now inhabited by Amanda, but during a far more conventional and inequitable era. Through equally engaging past and present-day narratives, Astor Place Vintage provides an eye-opening education into the plight of women at the beginning of the twentieth century, and the ripple effect their disenchantment had on future generations. Second- and third-wave feminists often forget that an oppressed crop of feisty females laid the groundwork for the feminist surge that took place during the Sixties and Seventies. Women like Olive were not only unable to vote, but also faced societal norms that would keep them both ignorant of their biology and tacitly dependent on men’s physical needs for their financial survival (whether through the “legitimizing” marriage marketplace or the unsanctioned trade of sexual favors in exchange for financial ones). Outside of marriage, women of that era had few viable means of garnering a living wage, much less partaking equally in social and civic life alongside their male counterparts.

    Olive experiences this injustice firsthand when a devastating setback forces her to find work and fend for herself. I was reminded of Edith Wharton’s House of Mirth in the way Olive had to cope with socioeconomic restraints and sexual mores stacked squarely against women in general, but especially unmarried ones. Readers will easily understand why Olive’s warmhearted co-worker friend, Angelina, supplemented her meager wages by “keeping company” with a wealthy married man. However, ostensibly independent Amanda—a modern-day businesswoman who clearly should know better—strikes a far less defensible bargain by accepting financial help from her married boyfriend, Jeff. Although the fact that he was her high school sweetheart makes their affair somewhat less detestable, I found Amanda rather vexing at times (as I am sure the author intended). Lehmann’s irresolute protagonist yearns for motherhood, yet remains hopelessly embroiled in a dead-end relationship, knowingly trading her prime childbearing years for financial support and erratic male companionship. Though frustrating, I found Amanda’s dilemma both plausible and authentic—and not all that different from Olive’s in the sense that, unlike men, women have a biologically finite time frame within which to link up with a man if we want to create families of our own, and still find it emotionally challenging and less than desirable to remain child-free by choice.

    Replete with fertile scenes and mounting emotional tension, Astor Place Vintage climaxes with a masterful birthing event that sets this novel apart for its realism and suspense. Until then, it’s an easygoing thrill ride with just a hint of understated edginess. But that passage—including the forthright discussion that follows between Olive and the Johnny-come-lately doctor—imbue this otherwise pleasurable novel with an important substantive component that makes it worthy of “must read” stature as contemporary women’s fiction and historical fiction. (And lest anyone doubt that women could be as ignorant as Olive when it came to sex and reproduction, I can personally attest that my mother, born in 1917, misinformed me that a woman is most likely to conceive immediately before her period. I definitely got a chuckle over Olive’s ongoing confusion over that erroneous detail!)

    A simply delightful read from first page to last, I didn’t want Astor Place Vintage to end. Nevertheless, Stephanie Lehmann wraps it up neatly and convincingly, leaving the reader perfectly sated yet still longing for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    A

    A great easy read and fabulous story. But, be careful this is one that won't let you go until the very last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1