Customer Reviews for

Astra: Synchronicity

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding

I would have purchased this as a hardback... and I'm a cheap bastard. Highly involved story and very well written. Had to keep swiping my wife's nook color... made for some late nights. I typically characterize a novel on 3 levels: writing, story itself and the charact...
I would have purchased this as a hardback... and I'm a cheap bastard. Highly involved story and very well written. Had to keep swiping my wife's nook color... made for some late nights. I typically characterize a novel on 3 levels: writing, story itself and the characters. Pick any 2 out of 3 and you have a very good book. This hit on all 3... which makes it a rarity, a great book. Can't wait for the follow up

posted by 7083268 on April 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

good story, give it a read

I liked the overall story of this book. The way it is written made it hard to get into it. Every chapter I was reading about a different character than the chapter before. Constantly bouncing from one person to the next. Made the story kinda choppy and hard to stay focu...
I liked the overall story of this book. The way it is written made it hard to get into it. Every chapter I was reading about a different character than the chapter before. Constantly bouncing from one person to the next. Made the story kinda choppy and hard to stay focused on.

posted by Gytell on August 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Outstanding

    I would have purchased this as a hardback... and I'm a cheap bastard. Highly involved story and very well written. Had to keep swiping my wife's nook color... made for some late nights. I typically characterize a novel on 3 levels: writing, story itself and the characters. Pick any 2 out of 3 and you have a very good book. This hit on all 3... which makes it a rarity, a great book. Can't wait for the follow up

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Sci-Fi saga

    The first books have created a very exciting story line. I have been reading sci-fi a long time. This reminds me of the Lensman series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Even better!

    The second book does not let you down.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    Great Read

    I actually read this book on my anddroid phone in 1 sitting it was that good!

    Very well written, great plot and well developed characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Cry to the Stars: Part One

    I was sitting in my room tearing a seal off a letter. It was dark blue with a gold dragon curled in a squiggly shape. The envelope was of old parchment, as was the letter inside. It read, in slanted mideval cursive: <p>
    Dear Cadancalynn Anabelha Darnavel, <br>
    You have been accepted to the Ariana Marie Rose Jackson School of Fantasies. It is directly in front of Silvershimmer Ink Inc. on Luna Avenue, Rosinine, Sharpe. The items you are required to have are on the green silk slip inside the envelope. <br>
    Best of wishes,
    Hope Crystal Brine <p>
    I read the letter twice and pulled out a small green slip. The words were in the same script but gold. They read: <br>
    fine plaster <br>
    golden spoon <br>
    formal dress <br>
    The Four Fantasies <br>
    magic ink <br>
    a mason jar <br>
    Complete Guide to Ariana and the Rest <br>
    Sleep, Hypnos, and Love: The Art of Artificial Actions <br>
    Gods of the New Age <br>
    Ancient Mummies of the Not-So-Ancient Days <br>
    five multicolored feathered pens <br>
    ten notebooks <br>
    Vasoline <br>
    tissues <p>
    ~Miss Brine <p>
    Okay. Now where would I find these books?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Couldnt stop reading!

    Great beginning to a scifi saga. Keeps you interested throughout the progression of the story line, and makes you want more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Good read

    I didn't think I would like this book, but I was surprisingly impressed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    scifi at it's best

    I can't wait for more of this story. The waiting is torturous. Does anyone know when the next will be out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Loved it!

    This book was a very good read. Definitely enjoyed it and would recommend it. Though there is one graphic scene in it. But other than that, extremely good story line and very imaginitive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Great followup to Astra:Synchronicity

    I enjoyed the first book in the series so much I immediately purchased this one. Can't wait for the next one! Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Great+read%21

    I+can%27t+understand+why+a+reviewer+would+claim+there+was+no+%22character+development%22+in+this+story.++I+guess+were%27t+reading+the+same+book......++and+too+complain+about+no+%22ending+to+story%22%3F%3F%3F%3F++I+guess+he+wasn%27t+smart+enough+to+figure+out+that+this+is+first+book+in+a+series...++Ever+hear+of+the+%27Foundation+Trilogy%27+by+Isaac+Asimov%3F++Geez....++I+thought+this+was+a+great+story+from+an+excellent+writer+and+I+just+purchased+the+second+book+in+the+series.++Time+to+finish+this+review+and+start+reading%21

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    A gem!

    What a great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Great

    Very enjoyable... also free, which is a price you just can't beat!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Wow

    Its been way too log since i read a good sci fi novel. There is absolutly no reason not to read this book! The story is an entertaining adventure with a hint of love story thrown in the mix. Obviously there will be much to come from this series and i cant wait!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Addictive reading

    This is one that will make you miss sleep reading it in the middle of the night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Highly Recommend this book

    I very much enjoyed reading this book. There were several questions I had which were answered as the story progressed. As my wife could attest to there were several 2am nights reading this book for me. I am eagerly awaiting the next book. I'm hooked and need my next fix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    An awesomly amazingly fantabulous book!,!!!!!

    An awesomely amazingly fantabulous book. I absoulotly enjoyed. If it was ten bucks I would have bought it. But its free. Enjoy an amazing book!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    READ IT!!

    This is one that you can't pass up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Enjoyed greatly

    This was one of the first book i aquired on my nook color. i found the characters intresting, the interactions engaging, and the plot overall enjoyable. i look foreward to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2