Customer Reviews for

Astraware Crosswords Deluxe

Average Rating 4
( 7992 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3431)

4 Star

(2597)

3 Star

(1078)

2 Star

(357)

1 Star

(529)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

249 out of 298 people found this review helpful.

Nice

If you love crossword puzzles this is the app for you , it has very nice features like locking your answer in if it is right and it lets you know right away if the answer is right. Free daily puzzle and weekend puzzle makes for extra fun. Unlimited hints without pental...
If you love crossword puzzles this is the app for you , it has very nice features like locking your answer in if it is right and it lets you know right away if the answer is right. Free daily puzzle and weekend puzzle makes for extra fun. Unlimited hints without pentalies. Unlimited time so you can relax and not rush. Runs very smooth on my nook tablet . Nice variety of puzzles , lets you save your progress at any time .

posted by 10235011 on September 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

129 out of 154 people found this review helpful.

Deluxe keeps reverting to original version on HD+

I upgraded to Deluxe because I really like the basic app. Unfortunately, it keeps reverting back to the old version with a prompt to go to the Nook store to upgrade to Deluxe. I have contacted Astraware's support team, but still have not received a response (not even ...
I upgraded to Deluxe because I really like the basic app. Unfortunately, it keeps reverting back to the old version with a prompt to go to the Nook store to upgrade to Deluxe. I have contacted Astraware's support team, but still have not received a response (not even an auto-reply). If I send the app to the cloud then reload it, I get the Deluxe version again, but it has forgotten the puzzles I completed and I have to start again. I would unload the old version, but since it came with the HD+ standard load, it will not let me.

posted by san_marco on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 7992 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 400
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Nice

    If you love crossword puzzles this is the app for you , it has very nice features like locking your answer in if it is right and it lets you know right away if the answer is right. Free daily puzzle and weekend puzzle makes for extra fun. Unlimited hints without pentalies. Unlimited time so you can relax and not rush. Runs very smooth on my nook tablet . Nice variety of puzzles , lets you save your progress at any time .

    249 out of 298 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Deluxe keeps reverting to original version on HD+

    I upgraded to Deluxe because I really like the basic app. Unfortunately, it keeps reverting back to the old version with a prompt to go to the Nook store to upgrade to Deluxe. I have contacted Astraware's support team, but still have not received a response (not even an auto-reply). If I send the app to the cloud then reload it, I get the Deluxe version again, but it has forgotten the puzzles I completed and I have to start again. I would unload the old version, but since it came with the HD+ standard load, it will not let me.

    129 out of 154 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Will not install

    I purchased the app and it appears on my app menu, but it does not register as the deluxe version and continues to push me to the store. It seems I'm not the only one to have this issue.

    117 out of 148 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Got my hopes up

    I've only had my nook hd two weeks and the free version of this app was already installed into it. Well, I tried it out and loved it so I bought the deluxe version. It only worked a couple of days before it just went briefly to a black screen then out of the app completely. It keeps doing it no matter how many times I go into the app or rebooting it.

    110 out of 125 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Wont install

    I bought this game and it wont even install :(

    85 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Strangely buggy at times

    Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. Not sure why. Entertaining enough when it works properly.

    73 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Very fun

    A nice light-weight crossword app. 3 different sizes and 3 different difficulties, plus the daily and weekender puzzles for extra fun. You can check your times against others when doing the daily. Hints for letters if you get stuck and cute noises. Highly recommended.

    63 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    dar

    I bought this game, but it isn't working. It only lets me play plain old crosswords

    60 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    A little disappointed

    No reviews to read so I bought. It is OK for a little brain exercise but I ws expecting LA or NY type puzzles. Some of the answers are obscure.

    52 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Buggy

    Great app, but everytime itupdates the daily puzzle it reverts to the trial version. For the cost of this app user data should be safe from this incessant crashing.

    40 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Worth every penny

    Great crossword app. I highly recommend it.

    29 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Ok but issues

    Fun but app keeps reverting back to the original, non upgraded version. Very annoying!

    28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Delux crossword

    I bought the delux crosswords after my standard edition quit working. The delux edition worked fine for a few days and then the dictionary quit working. A few more.days later it stopped opening. It,s says to push continue or restore but that doesn,t work. Contacted support and got no answer. I would not advise to buy. I feel it is a rip off.


    26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Deluxe version

    The deluxe version is a waste of money. It only opened a few times. It always brings up the origional version only.

    26 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    I see that people have been posting this same problem with the a

    I see that people have been posting this same problem with the app installing incorrectly. I bought the deluxe version yesterday, but when I try to open the app, it still opens the regular version. Clicking the "go deluxe" button only takes me to the App Store again, and into an endless loop. Is there any word on if and when this will be fixed? Otherwise I want a refund. 

    26 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Doesn't Work

    I bought the Deluxe version, but it's still the free version. I emailed BN and Astraware about this and they haven't done again about the problem

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Broken

    I bought the deluxe game and it stopped working. Pity because the game was fun while it worked. Thinking of selling my nook hd and getting the kindle just not enough apps and the ones that are out are junk

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Great app

    Great app

    21 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    I am having the same trouble with this game after I bought the d

    I am having the same trouble with this game after I bought the deluxe version as most people have had. I would advise against buying this app until the problem is fixed (which is not likely to happen, seeing as it appears that Astraware has not even remotely addressed the problem).

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    enjoyed the deluxe version for a short time now it won't load-ig

    enjoyed the deluxe version for a short time now it won't load-iget a message that it stopped responding --followed directions to restore defaults--it is on my app menu but just giving me the same message over and over and no crosswords-- the version that came with the nook does the same thing--very disappointed can't even find where to lodge a complaint-- getting this was a big mistake-- would put a zero for rating but the lowest it will go is 1

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 7992 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 400