Customer Reviews for

Astraware Crosswords Deluxe

Average Rating 4
( 7033 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3000)

4 Star

(2332)

3 Star

(946)

2 Star

(312)

1 Star

(443)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

211 out of 257 people found this review helpful.

Nice

If you love crossword puzzles this is the app for you , it has very nice features like locking your answer in if it is right and it lets you know right away if the answer is right. Free daily puzzle and weekend puzzle makes for extra fun. Unlimited hints without pental...
If you love crossword puzzles this is the app for you , it has very nice features like locking your answer in if it is right and it lets you know right away if the answer is right. Free daily puzzle and weekend puzzle makes for extra fun. Unlimited hints without pentalies. Unlimited time so you can relax and not rush. Runs very smooth on my nook tablet . Nice variety of puzzles , lets you save your progress at any time .

posted by 10235011 on September 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

120 out of 140 people found this review helpful.

Deluxe keeps reverting to original version on HD+

I upgraded to Deluxe because I really like the basic app. Unfortunately, it keeps reverting back to the old version with a prompt to go to the Nook store to upgrade to Deluxe. I have contacted Astraware's support team, but still have not received a response (not even ...
I upgraded to Deluxe because I really like the basic app. Unfortunately, it keeps reverting back to the old version with a prompt to go to the Nook store to upgrade to Deluxe. I have contacted Astraware's support team, but still have not received a response (not even an auto-reply). If I send the app to the cloud then reload it, I get the Deluxe version again, but it has forgotten the puzzles I completed and I have to start again. I would unload the old version, but since it came with the HD+ standard load, it will not let me.

posted by san_marco on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 312 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Strangely buggy at times

    Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. Not sure why. Entertaining enough when it works properly.

    65 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Buggy

    Great app, but everytime itupdates the daily puzzle it reverts to the trial version. For the cost of this app user data should be safe from this incessant crashing.

    33 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    nice game, poor software

    Have had this app only since late December, early January and it will not load properly now. I enjoyed the game, but am very frustrated to not be able to access it after so short a time.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    I loved the app that came on my HD+ so I purchased the deluxe...

    I loved the app that came on my HD+ so I purchased the deluxe...what a flippin fiasco!  It has restarted itself so many times I lost count .
    And then it starts you back to square one doing the same puzzles over and over again.  I sent three notices to Astraware, not one response. 
    What I need is a refund and the B&N customer service on the phone has been a horrible experience for me, they just hang up on me and I'm 
    a polite person!  Anyhow, this program would be a five star but how can it be if it doesn't work?  It's in the cloud as I write this if I pull it out of cloud
    which is what the fix they finally gave me..well it starts as thought it's brand new...how many times do I want to do the same crossword puzzle? I just wish they would come out with a fix for it! 

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Constantly locks up.

    Get tired of replaying same puzzles because game locks up and I have to reinstall.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    When it works....if it works

    Before upgrading to the deluxe version, I read several reviews that questioned its functionality. After purchasing the upgrade it worked just fine. But later that same day it stopped working. Obviously has a bug that I should think would have already been fixed. I will think twice before buying any other apps from this company. Thought it would be all right despite the reviews since their basic version worked very well.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Fine, when it works

    The puzzles were good, but the app quit working after about a week. I contacted B&N Tech Support and described the error message. I got a response telling me they needed more information, which I provided. That was over a week ago and I haven't heard back from them. I logged to the astraware web site and explained the problem to them. A week later I haven't heard from them at all.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Crosswod. Astroware

    Site doesnot work well. Have to start over repeatly.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Works on IPhone but not the nook?

    What is up.?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Good game, bad app

    I've had to uninstall and re install this app several times each day. Its very annoying.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Anonymous

    I really like this crossword puzzle,but it keeps freezes on me and I constantly have to reboot. I would not recommend this app.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Stopped working after one week

    Stopped working after one week. Sent email to astraware,no response. Can reload if sent to cloud and then retrieved,but will lose all previous games.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Shuts down all the time

    Constantly shuts down. Wish I wouldn't have paid for this app.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Rate it!

    I think you should have your rating posted on your daily puzzle. Solvers would know whether to pull out their diction- aries or like apps.




    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Get definitions!

    Cadence has
    Nothingwhatever to do with tone. Why don't you research answer for real meanings? How frustrating, not as much fun as it SHOULD be...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Crossword

    I Suggest that words should not be repeated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    When i say don,t ask me again

    Why do you keep on asking me to rate this ap when I check dont ask me again? The crosswords are fair to good but some of the clues are ridiculous and there are often repeat words in the puzzles. Doesn't inspire me to want to upgrade.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Unfair

    Some of the puzzles, and they seem to be occuring with more frequency, have a nasty quirk. Example: clue ~ Greek letter (5); last letter is A; enter alpha - incorrect, try delta - incorrect, try kappa - also incorrect; move on with the puzzle. Come back, there is now a p in the 3rd position. Solution is alpha, but that was tried and rejected. Not fair!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Often shuts itself dow n


    Very unereliable

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    so so

    Only worked for a week or two. Then it reverted back to the regular Astraware Crossword, which is a repeat of puzzles I already worked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 312 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16