Customer Reviews for

Astraware Solitaire

Average Rating 4
( 1480 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(757)

4 Star

(477)

3 Star

(141)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

111 out of 134 people found this review helpful.

solution for update problem

I too had a problem loading the program after the Dec 2011 update. I contacted Astraware and they gave me the following work-around which solved the problem for me - maybe it will also help others:

-turn the Nook completely off
-remove the SD memory card
-turn the ...
I too had a problem loading the program after the Dec 2011 update. I contacted Astraware and they gave me the following work-around which solved the problem for me - maybe it will also help others:

-turn the Nook completely off
-remove the SD memory card
-turn the Nook on, wait for everything to load, then open Solitaire
-if it comes up ok (mine did), then it's ok to put the SD card back in.

btw - I received the solution from Astraware within just a few minutes of emailing my question - so my 5star rating stands - enjoyable program with quick and accurate technical support

posted by 3460238 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

DO NOT UPDATE!

This game was expensive but functional and enjoyable. After an update, however, it has stopped working completely. Totally inexcusable, I can't believe a "professional" software developer would let something like this happen. If I could rate it zero stars, I would.

posted by DisappointedAD on December 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 757 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 38
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    solution for update problem

    I too had a problem loading the program after the Dec 2011 update. I contacted Astraware and they gave me the following work-around which solved the problem for me - maybe it will also help others:

    -turn the Nook completely off
    -remove the SD memory card
    -turn the Nook on, wait for everything to load, then open Solitaire
    -if it comes up ok (mine did), then it's ok to put the SD card back in.

    btw - I received the solution from Astraware within just a few minutes of emailing my question - so my 5star rating stands - enjoyable program with quick and accurate technical support

    111 out of 134 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Works great for me

    This is a really good set of solitaire apps. Totally worth $5, maybe more, if you suspect you'll play it a lot.

    Almost every game is customizeable. For intance, Spider can be 1,2 or 4 suits, you can allow any card to start a new tableau, or just kings. You can be allowed to move any pile of cards, or just cards in sequence, or just cards in sequence with matching suits.

    You can learn almost any game by turning on "Highlight useful moves", which will show you which cards are legitimate moves. It'll generally move them for you when you tap, and the moves are rarely wrong, and you can always undo and move manually if you want to. There's an AI which will warn you when you've reached a dead end, it seems to be accurate (except for Spider, the AI doesn't seem to consider the usefulness of moving cards in mixed-suit in-sequence piles onto new tableaux to straighten out the suits, but if this happens, you know that you have almost won)

    Occasionally, you'll break away, and come back to see that the card backs are white. Renavigating to the Apps screen and reopening it fixes that. And some of the navigation buttons to tap are in the corners of the screen, where sensitivity seems poor on the Nook. I've had it crash maybe twice in several months, and I play it a lot. Powering down and back on fixed it. But really, that's the absolute worst problems I've had with this app, and those are pretty minor problems.

    70 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Awesome

    Love this app. Yes I needed to remove my sd card after the update and reboot but no big deal. Astraware has always been helpful with the very few glitches I have ever had with any of their games. I love this one and the Mahjong too.

    32 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Play it all the time

    Lots of good games that are all very costomizable. The graphics can be slow - but it doesn't hurt game play. I love it!

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Great

    I have had this game for along time an its a really good game. I love it. I have't had any problems with it and its well worth the money spent. I highly recommened this game!!! Also after the december update i loved the new backgrounnds for the cards. Was a total suprise when i started playing after the update. Thank you to the developers for that

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    The best solitaire game available!

    This is one of my favorite games. I first bought it on my HP Touchpad and totally loved it. Then I found it on my Nook Tablet! So happy. I love the way that you can totally customise it. And there are so many configuration choices. The games themselves are wonderful and it has my favorite - Canfield! I like that there is the challenge of winning the elusive golden deck. Just a great app!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Thank You, Thank You, Thank You

    I got my solitaire back. That worked beautifully on my NC. Thanks again.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    If u r really bored

    Thia is a great card game. Its got all time favorites. Love it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Addiction

    This game is so addicting! It also is calming and it helps me sleep

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Excellent Porting to the Nook Color - Worth More

    We have had Astraware games on Palm and Windows devices for a while so I was sure their Solitaire game would be stable and fully functional on the Nook Color. I am not disappointed! I like the ability to change backgrounds and difficulty level of each game. In fact, you can set the number of suites to play and how cards are to be placed. Color is very good and the cards are readable and easy to "move" during game play. This is likely the only Solitaire collection you will ever want. It is worth more than the $4.99 being charged at the Nook App Store.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love this game

    I'm addicted, I play constantly. All levels of games from very simple to more challenging. Easy to learn.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Impressive nuber of games

    I really like the variety in this game pack. I was pleasantly surprised to find that you can also change the settings for each game, makinng them easier or more difficult for your skill level. I would definitly recommend this pack!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ADDICTED

    I thought I'd probably play mostly "regular" solitaire (klondike) with this app, but I have tried a few of the other versions as well & have been pleasantly surprised. Just discovered "pyramid"-stopped playing only to write this reviewM ;)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Fun and Options

    I love this app. There are lots of game options and ways to change each games rules to fit your preferences. Easy to use and very fun. I woukd definitely reccomend it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Finally fullu computerised solitaite!!

    I love the computer does all the boring card movement and the quickly avilable hints whe I am stymied.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great solitaire game

    Many games to choose from and the graphics are great. Another great app.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Another Hit

    Astraware does it again here. Numerous versions of solitare in an easy to use and beautiful interface. A great set of games here, you'll get more than your moneys worth.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Best app everrrrrr

    Im so addicted even if is the "Lonley people's game" worth every penny.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Great App! Buy It: RUN DON'T WALK!!! BUY IT!!!

    This is fantistic set of Solatire games giving loads of options, for someone who is learning its great, and for people who know the games turn off the cheats and get into all the options for many many backgrounds and endless combinations of card backs and backgrounds. Fantistic options endless combs.
    Tonigirl
    Yes yes i know i could use a spelling app soon as they have ablity of opening two things at once i'm there dudes. LOL

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Mine works great and I like it!

    I got this when it was brand new and I've never had any trouble with it. It's a good collection of solitaire games.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 757 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 38