Customer Reviews for

Astraware Word Games

Average Rating 4.5
( 5525 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2989)

4 Star

(1900)

3 Star

(491)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

65 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Very nice, well worth the $$$ spent

Great games and they work perfectly. Best game app I have bought on the nook so far.

posted by SkyeHarris on August 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Stopped working

Nook shuts off every time i play. Thought nook was broken so had it replaced. Same thing happened so i know it's the app. Takes the nook about 5hours before it will power on after this game shuts it off. Don't buy until they fix it.

posted by 3273767 on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1900 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 95
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Awesome game, some glitches.

    Few times the game has crashed out or caused me to have to shut off the Nook due to black screening. Also the Astraware loading screen keeps adding itself to my personal pictures.

    Would also be nice to be able to look definitions in the dictionary.

    40 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Pleasing mix of challenging word games

    Play all the time. Next to Angry Birds is my favorite game app on color nook. Nice choice of games. Nice visually too. Wish it were available for Android based cellphone...

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Very very nice...

    This set of word games is so much fun! There are five different games, with three levels of difficulty in each. There are three choices for how the screen looks, which adds another level of interest. The only reason I gave four stars instead of five is that in a couple of the games my fingers seem too big and clunky for manipulating the letters (and my fingers are long and thin). Otherwise ... this rocks!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Great app...as long as it's working.

    Thoroughly enjoyed this app...now it won't open. I can not find any info on the website. I am hopeful that an update becomes available that fixes the problem.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Program Freezes

    I love the options this word game offers and really enjoy each of them! However, if I play the program too long and the screen suddenly turns black and completely freezes my Nook. I have to manually force the Nook to shut down and then wait for it to power up again. After having the same thing happen no matter which of the games I played, I opted to play for a few minutes, switch to a different app or read a book for a few minutes, then go back to my "paused" word game. What a pain. What a shame. This would have scored a 5 star rating from me if the program didn't always freeze. It would have scored a 1 star rating from me if the games weren't so much fun.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Awesome word game!!

    This is one of the best word games for the nook tablet. The whole family enjoys it. Only issue I have is sometimes it freezes and locks up my nook. Otherwise, I would have given it 5 stars. I thought it was worth the money.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Dictionary of imaginary words and it's still one of my favorites!

    There are three games of five that push you to the edge of your vocabulary as you either build from within a set number of letters--Shuffle-- or attempt to coerce words from a random jumble of changing letters-- Hexxed and Gridlock. The game allows you to look up the definitions of your words in Shuffle and I have found two so far that have no definition. Proper names and ancient unused words are a hoot and a learning experience that I've found take me out of the stuffier boundaries of other games. However, the gamemakers have left out slang, anything related to sex, most words related to violence and some random small words...is 'nip' x-rated? Fortunately, you can send requests for words to be added. I don't know yet if they will be.

    The spelling game and word search are pretty much what you expect. If you like these types of games, there seems to be an endless supply of puzzles.

    As far as reviewing goes, I would gladly add my pen name, but the B&N site refuses to follow through. Fix that glitch, folks.

    My only other complaints are the connectivity to facebook (not required, but you can't keep track of your daily puzzle without it) and the crashiness of the app. I play it often and I've lost my scores 7 or 8 times in a relatively short period. Once it would't let me enter a name for two days. Still not enough for me to archive this jewel.

    It is well worth the small cost and has kept me from searching for additional word games for 3 weeks and counting!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Best word game I've played!

    I just love the game; from the relaxing earth tone graphics and soothing piano soundtrack to the cute little pictures it draws when one makes a word. It is highly addictive. If you like word games, you'll love this!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Locks up

    Awesome game but locks my nook up on occasion...hope they can fix, would be 5 stars.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Stopped working

    Mine quit working too. What is going on?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Updating

    Having difficult time trying to update this app.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Still enjoying this over a year later

    I go back to this game almost every day and still enjoy the challenges it presents. Good graphics, quick and reliable gameplay. Thanks Astraware.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    I like

    Its a pretty good collection of games to keep u occupied and attentive.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worth the money!

    Fun games. Good dictionary. Buttons when tracing words are a bit small and I have small hands. Very fun though!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Love these word games!

    Nice to finally make #one on something. They can be addictive. Lost my connection or my Nook froze a couple of times so lost a couple of almost finished games. Still have a lot to learn, but it's fun, fun, fun.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Good

    Sometimes glitches but if I go back then back to my game seems to be okay. Would be a good thing to fix.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Wonderful for vocab building

    This word search has great variety of lists. It does crash a lot somedays. Other than that, i love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Be Careful - Not a Stable App

    I love word games and this was a great app to play on my Nook. Each game is great, lots of fun while I pass time in Airports etc. BUT be careful and don't ignore the other reviews. This App ran perfectly for about an hour then completely locked-up and fried my new Nook. Haven't been able to revive it, may end up tossing in the towel and buying an iPad.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Fix it

    Also purchased game and now it is not working

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I really enjoy this app and think it was worth the money. The Shuffle game is a lot like text twist for people out there that enjoy that game, and it has three different levels. My younger children enjoy the wordsearch... it is a little tricky and works better with a stylus, but my 4 year old can play it! I haven't had any problems with opening it and am keeping my fingers crossed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1900 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 95