Customer Reviews for

Asunder

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    Asunder picks right back up where the excitement in Incarnate

    Asunder picks right back up where the excitement in Incarnate ends. Right from the beginning, Jodi’s writing grabbed a hold of me and refused to let go until the final page had been read. As a musician, I love Sam. As a female, I love Sam. Every scene that involves musical teaching or experience between Ana and Sam, I just melt. I love how continually patient he is with her as she learns to bloom in a world that is so against her. As the first Newsoul, Ana is always met with apprehension and eventually with straight out disdain and violence.

    Asunder is the journey in which Ana learns the truth behind her existence and why the Oldsouls are reincarnated. The discovery makes her question everything about what she has so far learned. Before she makes this giant discovery, she and Sam spend some time away from Heart in the depths of Range to study her father’s study of the sylph. They are surprised to discover the sylph begin to act strangely toward Ana. They immediately decide that with the way Ana is received in Heart, this is a secret that must be kept at all costs. Ana is feared and misunderstood enough without adding on suspicion of the sylph behaviour.

    Despite all of the time spent on the research and music, Sam takes the time to tell Ana how he really feels about her. He confesses his love, and does not get upset when Ana doesn’t immediately say it back. He understands that as a Newsoul, she must sort out everything in her own time as she is learning to understand herself. Ana had always been told that she was incapable of feelings of any kind – especially love. As a Newsoul, she obviously didn’t have the capacity to understand such things after the Oldsouls had been around for hundreds and hundreds of years. they’ve had lifetimes to learn and understand emotions and relationships, how could a girl possibly learn to understand it in less than 20 years? Because of these hateful beliefs shoved down her throat her entire life, she must learn to accept that these things aren’t true and she’s just as capable of emotions and maintaining relationships as any of the Oldsouls.

    Through the entire adventures, Ana goes from a timid girl unsure of the world around her, to a young woman who is ready to fight and defend for those she loves. With the people of Heart turning quickly against her and the Newsouls that are born and are to be born, Ana takes it upon herself to become their champion. She must fight for them and for herself and she rises to the occasion beautifully.

    Meadows has definitely out done herself again. Questions are answered, and the drama and action continues to rise. It all builds and builds and sets up perfectly for the conclusion of the series: Infinite due out in 2014.

    It is hard to say which I enjoyed more, Incarnate or Asunder. I do know this for sure, this is definitely a series that now has a special place in my heart. The author also has a special place in my heart! Many wonderful chats have happened on Twitter, and I am greatly looking forwards to the Infinite book tour and hope that I will be able to go to a location if one is close enough!

    Recommended for: Readers who enjoy science fiction, dystopian/utopian societies, fantasy (there are dragons!), and a bit of Sam romance.
    Not recommended for: Those readers who do not enjoy reincarnation, futuristic civilisations, or romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    I must admit it took me several chapters to get into this novel,

    I must admit it took me several chapters to get into this novel, and sometimes when I did get into it, I would lose interest again later on. I'm not really sure what it was that made me not have interest in it originally. Lack of interest in the story line and what was happening? Lack of description? The fact that I read this after reading an amazing series and was still experiencing a hangover from it? I think it was a combination of all three. Fortunately, that ended and I was able to enjoy the story.




    There seemed to be a vague description of everything, from the description of the settings to the description of Ana's emotions. I'm used to reading books that go on and on with lots and lots of details. Even though I've read Incarnate, I'm still not quite used to the vagueness of it. I guess I shouldn't complain because I'm not very descriptive in my writing either. Also, I have come to appreciate the information Meadows incorporated into the story that most readers wouldn't even notice. What I'm referring to is the music and flower element of the story. Meadows must have done a lot of research to assure the accuracy of everything. I admire Meadows a lot for that because I'm lazy when it comes to doing research for my novel that I'm writing.




    As I said in my review of Incarnate, the plot and overall premise of this story is very unique. I've never read any novel like it before reading this series, and I love reading original novels/series. Jodi Meadows has a very creative mind. Not only that, but I found it interesting, and enjoyed learning the information that Ana and Sam discover throughout the book.




    I also still have a growing fondness for Sam. He is definitely the type of guy I would like to date. He's kind, selfless, brave, understanding, honorable, helpful, and not to mention, attractive. I really like him a lot. I did get annoyed with him during one or two occasions in the book when he and Ana were fighting, but I got over it when Ana did. I loved it when he practically bragged about her during one scene in the book. He's just so sweet! My favorite part with him was definitely chapter 25!! I also like Ana as well. I admire her willingness to stand up for the other Newsouls, and the way she handled herself during difficult situations. In addition to Sam and Ana, I also liked Cris as well. He reminded me a bit of Sam himself, and I love his kindness. The character Sarit was also likable as well. She was very funny!




    Overall, I liked this book, but it wasn't "I have to find out what happens next" type of book. I'm looking forward to reading the sequel and the novella, Phoenix Overture, written about Sam!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    Asunder was really something. While I loved the first book, see

    Asunder was really something. While I loved the first book, see my review here, I still enjoyed the book. The plot was slower and took longer to pick up, but the characters and background is still stellar. I had fantasy after fantasy about how the book would turn out, and not a single happened. It's not say that nothing happened, I'm saying something unexpected happened. It was the perfect ending for the book and leads perfectly into book three, Infinite, which comes out January 2014. While I didn't tear through the book, it built on a spectacularly immense world with ease. Nothing felt out of place or awkwardly inserted.




    The main character is Ana. While she's determined not to be, as she's deemed it, a butterfly in book one, she proves it in book two. Ana does what she believes is right, even when no one stands by her side. Not once does she falter from her task of created a world safe for Newsouls like herself. When terrifying information is thrown her way, Ana uses it to her advantage and does all she can to come out on top. She has as many, or more, enemies then she does friends. At times she feels weak and hopeless, yet her friends are able to lift her up and remind her of her self-given duty. Her fear changes to hurt. Hurt changes to anger. Anger changes to hope. And hope, lights a match. She's a fierce protector of those she cares about and refuses to give up on them, even when it seems she's been betrayed.




    The end of the book was a HUGE surprise. To make sure you read the book, I won't spoil it for you here, but oh my. It is amazing. The book is a bit of a struggle, but those last twenty pages are worth it. And even in the parts that seem slow or even forced, the writing itself is amazing. Jodi Meadows weaves an intricate story that even now I can't see the end of. Characters struggle and sacrifice. Ana constantly wavers between to sides of an equally difficult spectrum. Life and death are contemplated and the true meaning of immortality is revealed. Is immortal life worth it if someone else has to die?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    I'm a big fan of Incarnate, so as soon as I could get my grubby

    I'm a big fan of Incarnate, so as soon as I could get my grubby little hands on Asunder I started reading. Asunder is the second installment in the Jodi Meadows' Newsoul series, it continues Ana's  journey of discovery. Once again, I found myself  on an emotional roller coaster
    and experiencing the story through Ana's eyes. Jodi Meadows does a fantastic job of bringing Heart and its inhabitants to life. Asunder is full of romance, suspense and action. In the end I was left wanting more.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    Asunder picks up a short time after the chaos of the end of Inca

    Asunder picks up a short time after the chaos of the end of Incarnate. The citizens of Heart are busy picking up the physical and emotional pieces of the combined sylph and dragon attack and preparing for the ramifications of that night, namely that the souls who died during Templedark won't be reincarnated. Sam and Ana take a trip away from Heart, first to Purple Rose Cottage, where they meet Cris, and then to Menehem's research lab to study sylph. After a while, the duo heads back to Heart, where they witness the birth of another Newsoul, Anid, who faces as much persecution as Ana. The entire novel is a mystery that leads up to a truly shocking confrontation, where one character makes the ultimate sacrifice. Then, as the action settles, at the very end is another fairly significant shock. Jodi's good (or evil depeding on your viewpoint) like that.

    Throughout the novel, old characters stick around like Stef and Sarit, but some fade into the background. Meanwhile new characters, both friend and foe, make an appearance. It's hard to discuss the characters of Asunder fairly because everybody wears a mask, like the ones depicted on the gorgeous covers. There are so many characters who appear to be friends but are later revealed as antagonists. I will always have a problem with Stef because she's Ana and Sam's friend, but her feelings for Sam often get in the way of the friendship, and I don't like that. I mean, it makes sense and is totally realistic, but Samana forever, guys. Then there's Cris, who is Sam's other best friend. Cris is by far the most confusing character in Asunder. I just could not figure him out AT ALL. Like with Stef, there's a lot of unseen and unknown history. On one hand, Cris is a friend, trying to help Ana out with her mysterious symbols and the like, but on the other, Cris is enigmatic and closed off, which made me wonder through the whole novel what Cris is hiding. I'm quite glad for the upcoming novella "The Phoenix Overture" because clearly, the reader needs some context as far as Sam's history is concerned.

    I give Jodi an A+ for all the twists, tricks, and turns throughout the novel. Kind of like in the temple, sometimes I felt like up was down and down was up. I am not usually very surprised when I read because I have read a lot and watched a lot of movies and tv, and I have been blessed with the ability to usually guess where the plot is going. Not this time. Although everyone finds Ana's symbols somewhat familiar, no one is able to recall them perfectly. Like a half-remembered dream that slips out of your mind when you wake, only leaving tantalizing fragments that float around your memory. Yeah, Asunder is like that. I found myself constantly surprised, which is really exciting for me. Bravo, Jodi, you tricksy little hobbitses, you!

    My favorite aspect of the novel is Sam and Ana's blossoming romance. I mean, how could it not be? I really love it because ALL THE KISSING. I found myself having to put the book down several times because the kissing was so HOT. I mean, I've read books where the characters just get right down to it, and I'm just like, "eh, whatever." Jodi is truly a master of romance because she can do more with a small kiss and subtle caresses than some authors can do with a home run. Plus, if Sam and Ana just fell into bed, I'd find it disgenuine. Ana is still trying to find herself, and if Sam pushed her, I would like him less. Their relationship is still in the early growing stages, which means yes, all the kissing, but also the part where you do have to have some difficult conversations, which at first the two avoid fastidiously.

    I find this romance wholly realistic, despite being set in a fantasy world, which is awesome. Just because you write in a genre doesn't mean you should ignore believable romance! This relationship is at times difficult because of the significant age-gap (or knowledge gap, maybe), Ana's supreme lack of self esteem, and the pressures of society. Also, as I state above, Sam's history is a significant player in this relationship because Stef and Cris both pose as opposition in one way or another. But Sam and Ana work at things, and I love them for it. It's not easy, but it's real. <3

    Overall, I thoroughly recommend reading Asunder, but only after you've read Incarnate, obviously. Sometimes you can get away with skipping a novel in a series, but I really don't recommend that here. This trilogy is so wrapped up together that you won't want to miss a word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    4.5 Stars I think Asunder was even better than Incarnate, thoug

    4.5 Stars

    I think Asunder was even better than Incarnate, though I still have some irritation with whiny/angsty Ana. I think her reactions and emotions are understandable, again, just frustrating most of the time.

    The rest of the book, especially the ending, wow! I can't wait for Sam's novella, and the final book in the trilogy!

    Bottom line: I would recommend this series to read. It's a fascinating world with great characters and interesting ideas within it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great follow up to an amazing debut, Asunder has me ready for

    A great follow up to an amazing debut, Asunder has me ready for book 3

    Asunder begins not long after the devastation from Incarnate. Anna is feeling even more ostracized then before and asks Sam to go away with her. They end up at the house Anna shared with her mother before arriving at Heart and it's a bit of a reprieve for Anna until a "new" man enters the picture. A new love interest? A rival for Sam's affections? I'm not going to tell you other than to say he is important to them both--in different ways--by the end of the book.




    With more sylph and dragon attacks, and with the sylph now acting differently toward Anna, she becomes desperate for answers--about the sylph, about new souls, and about the temple itself--and what she finally discovers will change everything. I was completely SHOCKED at the turn of events. Fortunately, Meadows is kind enough to not leave us on a complete cliffhanger and we have a solid (though not finished) ending. So while many questions are answered, what Anna will do with the information she now has remains to be seen.












    I can't wait for the final book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     I couldn't decide between 3.5 and 4, so I went with four becaus

     I couldn't decide between 3.5 and 4, so I went with four because of Sam and the ending. 
       Got started with an emotional beginning, mourning those lost in Templedark. They had monuments made and did memorials. Asunder also showed different people grieving their losses in different ways, which I think is important because in real life people also mourn differently. 
       Then there was the twist with the sylph, and I was so interested in this plot line. I wanted to know what it was about why they were behaving differently to Ana, and what this meant for her. 
        We also get to see Ana and Sam together. I just love their romance and seeing them interact with each other and bond through music. I respect him so much when he said. Ana said "Like always, he let me do what I needed to do," and he supported her quietly and faithfully. That he spoke his advice, but stood by her side. And the way he talks to her and treats her is awesome.
    "I love you because you're good and honest. I love you because you're brave... because you're strong. I love you because you don't let anything get in the way of doing what's right."
        This is totally why I love Ana as a character, and why I adore Sam. 
        There were new characters and old ones where I started questioning loyalties and what exactly was going on. It was hard when Steph was questioning Sam's love for Ana because I had grown to like her a lot in the last one. I mean, I guess I can understand where she is coming from, but I don't like that she is deviating from her stance and what made me like about her in the last one. It was also hard to see Sam struggling in this one. As many hot and sweet moments, there are also ones where he is withdrawn and putting distance between him and Ana. 
        The ending gave me lots of answers but I still want to know so much more about this world, and see what Ana does next. There was also a great sacrifice that made me very sad. I totally understand the reasoning and it was honorable as all, but it was heartbreaking. 




    Bottom Line: Good second book with some hot scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I like reviews short and to the point, so here you go... Jodi M

    I like reviews short and to the point, so here you go...

    Jodi Meadows is a fantastic writer! There was good character development, interesting twists and turns, and it left me wishing the third book was releasing soon. At times I found myself completely taken with the author's writing style and immagination.

    There were two things keeping it from being a five star review. The first is quite minor. I would have preferred less time spent on music. The second being the pacing of the book. It was really good until 2/3rds of the way through. Fortunately, it picked back up and Jodi gave a great ending.

    I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    Just the pure concept of this series is amazing. It's so outrage

    Just the pure concept of this series is amazing. It's so outrageously original it almost makes my head spin.

    However, Asunder is not as good as the first book in the series. It's kind of boring at times and I couldn't find a character that I loved a lot or would make me smile just thinking about them. That reason alone is why I gave this book four stars. If there had been a character that was just a stand out character, I would have given it five stars.
    This book relies on music a lot. Half the book is Sam and Ana droning on and on about music. Yes, I get it. They love music but I don't want to spent half a book reading about how Ana should hold her flute.
    One thing that was awesome about Asunder is that whenever it got a tad boring to the point that I wished I could read something else, boom! Something would happen that would blow my mind or knock my socks off.


    The ending was wonderful. It didn't end in a way that makes me want to bang my head on a wall but it makes me want to next book in the series right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After the devastating events at the end of Incarnate, the people

    After the devastating events at the end of Incarnate, the people of Heart are now dealing with the loss of several of their friends. The people who died that night have no chance of ever reincarnating — their souls lost forever. But with the loss of old souls, comes a generation of New Souls — souls meant to replace the souls that were lost. For Ana, this means that she is no longer the only one, but for the people of Heart this is bad news. They resent these New Souls, and it only seems natural to blame Ana, the first of the New Souls to make her way into their world. To them, things didn’t really begin to go downhill until she arrived, so naturally they’ll blame her. As the people grow violent, Ana must fight to not only save herself, but the other New Souls as well.

    The world building in these books is just incredible. I remember being a little overwhelmed with everything while reading the first book. It was a bit old world, but then they had electronic gadgets and there were dragons. Once I made sense of it all (or really — once I just suspended disbelief and went with it), it all started to gel.

    While the world seemed a bit dark and “off”, in the first book, it’s even more so in this installment (in a good way). I felt I had a better handle on the world this time around, and I was able to slide into the setting much easier.

    I really felt for Ana in Incarnate and I loved watching her grow as a character as she sought the answers she so desperately needed. What I liked about this book was that Ana really stepped up. I sort of viewed her as a bit of  a victim the first time around, even though she wasn’t particularly weak. In this installment she is much stronger and is not only fighting for her own life, but those like her.

    I also felt closer to Sam after reading Asunder. I liked him okay in the first book, but I didn’t really connect with him. All of that changed this time around.

    Sometimes I get a bit nervous when I pick up the second book in a trilogy, because frequently the authors tend to use the second book as a crutch and fill the pages with a lot of drama, backstory and tension before throwing us into what we really want in the third book. That’s not the case here. I felt Asunder was a welcome entry and really moved the story forward. I also felt that the characterization and overall writing were much stronger this time around.

    If you were a fan of Incarnate, you will LOVE Asunder. The stakes are higher, the characters better rounded and the story more action-packed. Fans of this series will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    What I loved about Asunder, oh the writing it flowed with each p

    What I loved about Asunder, oh the writing it flowed with each page and made me keep going, I have come to love author Jodi Meadows writing! This 2nd book in the trilogy lead me down a path of AH-HA moments as well as ARE YOU KIDDING ME moments. I really liked how Ana the main character found more of herself in this book, she was a new last book, that was to be expected being a new soul. Asunder gave little Ana a voice a mission. I really enjoyed Asunder giving me hints here and there but without  letting you know all of it or being predictable in the plot. Ana has begun to have friends in Heart I was always on my toes the entire book as too who can Ana trust and who is leading her on, loved that! Alot of books give away the surprise, nice to not see these surprises coming.




    I was encouraging Ana in my head on a mission to find information about the almighty Janan, that is kind of like the people of Hearts God per say. She wanted answers and Ana was willing to risk alot to get those answers. Also in this book people were out to get the New Souls which was something that I was on edge about, I first thought why wouldn't they embrace Ana? However I come to realize why would they accept someone new the people haven't had anything new in 5 thousand years. It was an all out attack and I for one could not figure out up until the end who it was, well written by Jodi!!!




    Sam's character Ana's new guardian in Heart and love interest, the romance was killing me I stated in the first book that I loved the way the romance was written, Asunder was driving me mad. I want you, no I can't have you, I need you, no it's wrong!!! Come on Come on figure it out, the cat and mouse chase was not what I had in mind. So that really annoyed me, I didn't want a steamy scene or anything of course I just wanted them to figure it out. I did love how author Jodi Meadows, didn't include anything steamy but we needed less of a game from Sam. So frankly Sam you annoy me.....I was really tired this book of the whining going on by more than a few characters, that just seem to drag out a little.




    Asunder took me a little longer to get into than the first book did I was hooked with Incarnate in chapter 1 took me about 110 pages to get hooked to Asunder. I am hoping, wishing that there are dragons, trolls, giants, centaurs in the next book because I was HUGELY disappointed by no dragons..... Incarnate presented dragon attacks along with strange sylph talks about centaurs, trolls and giants. So I was waiting for those to appear....Nope just sylph. While that was good I needed more spits of dragon acid, touches with death and full blown attacks.




    However in Asunder they discover something about the sylph that will blow you away!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1