BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Asylum (Asylum Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Curious for a mysterious and spooky read, I picked up this book

Curious for a mysterious and spooky read, I picked up this book wanting to be entranced. It took me down some strange halls that I would never forget.

Pictures: First, I want to talk about the pictures that came along with the story. I loved them. I felt it gave the st...
Curious for a mysterious and spooky read, I picked up this book wanting to be entranced. It took me down some strange halls that I would never forget.

Pictures: First, I want to talk about the pictures that came along with the story. I loved them. I felt it gave the story a more 3-d. Like you can read the story but a visual is placed in front of you as well. Some pictures were interesting while others were well creepy. Still, I enjoyed turning the page and looking at long past history.

Plot: One of my fave movies to watch during this season is House On Haunted Hill both the old and new version. I adore the whole premise of vengeful spirits luring back their heirs to a place that has gone mad. This story carries a similar plot. I loved every bit of piecing together the mysterious clues of the staff and the coincidence of clues left for others to follow.

Love/Friendship: Since this is a thriller read, there isn’t much romance but it did carry a good flirtation feel that gives the book that right amount of peace. There are creepy moments then two characters get real and get to know each other, smiling. I loved that. The friendships formed have more than what the reader sees. I love reading the story and watching it unfold secret by secret before my eyes.

This is a great story of mystery and mayhem. Lots of scary tales of the old building, told by the townspeople, give this story dimension. The pictures add a great affect to visualizing the world that is being built for the reader. Ultimately an intriguing read that you can not put down, Asylum is perfect for Halloween!

posted by BooksWithBite on October 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I was excited about the plot and use of photos. I couldn't wait to read the book being compaired to Miss Peregrin's Home for Peculiar Children. Unfortunatly, this book fell short of expectations. The characterization tried to be dynamic but instead the characters came a...
I was excited about the plot and use of photos. I couldn't wait to read the book being compaired to Miss Peregrin's Home for Peculiar Children. Unfortunatly, this book fell short of expectations. The characterization tried to be dynamic but instead the characters came across as unfleshed out. I never had a grasp on who they were supposed to be. The use of photos was strange because they didn't run congruently with the text, they seemed random at times. Further more, the end (and I promise not to spoil) was not a satisfactory resolution to the plot and didn't provide a compelling cliff hanger for a sequel. I have since learned this is the first in a series but I will not be reading the subsequent books.

posted by MrsParadise on August 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Not bad

    After reading Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children, I was so excited to read this. I did like the real photos and the plot. However I was not very satisfied with the ending, I felt like there were a lot of questions unanswered.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    I seem to be reading a lot of books lately that leaves me with m

    I seem to be reading a lot of books lately that leaves me with mixed feelings. Sadly, Asylum ended up being one of those books that starts off intensely suspenseful, bringing on the chills in quick succession, but soon losing momentum.

    The only elements driving this story, and which also kept me riveted, are the endless questions and guess work that goes into the who, what, where, and when. Is Dan crazy? Is it a long-forgotten escaped mental patient that wasn’t accounted for when Brookline was closed down who are committing all these shocking murders? Could it be a copycat murderer impersonating the serial killer known as The Sculptor? Or, is it just a matter of the evil mental institution warden reincarnated into the body of the mentally unstable protagonist who happens to be his namesake? You see? All of these questions are more than enough to keep you turning the pages to find out why Brookline was closed down in the late 1960s, what sort of grisly experiments were done on the mental patients, and why all these weird and unexplainable things are happening to Abby, Jordan, and Dan. And you know what else? I STILL DON’T KNOW WHAT HAPPENED!!!

    It all sounds interesting enough, but the big reveal (which went completely over my head) felt a little rushed and for me it wasn’t such a “wow” reveal at all. The issue I have with Asylum is that it builds up the reader’s expectation for a magnificent conclusion, but then it fails to deliver. I still had a multitude of questions that weren’t answered by the time I turned the final page. And I was also left with a sense of “what the heck just happened?”. Maybe I’m just a bit slow, but I was confused by most of what was happening throughout the book, yet still holding out hope that all will be explained at the end of the story.

    But, Asylum does have a few good things going for it, which is why I’m giving it a solid three-star rating:

    A male protagonist (books in YA with a male voice are so few and far apart, it’s actually worth mentioning).
    The photos added to the sinister undertone of the story, and made it feel real.
    No love-triangle or romantic angst, but just a tiny hint of romance in the first half of the book. Nothing noteworthy though.

    To sum it up: Asylum had a disappointing conclusion for me, but still it was an intriguing read as the author built up the suspense expertly. Maybe I just need to reread it again in case I missed that one clue that would help me understand the ending – or, in fact, the whole point of the story. The characters were rather bland, and I struggled to care about them. I did, however, enjoy that this is a psychological thriller for YA readers as there are so few books of this sort in this genre. Asylum is a book I’ll recommend to fans of Kendare Blake’s Anna Dressed in Blood, though that was a way better book than this one, but the feel of this novel is the same as Anna’s. It started off as a promising read, but quickly slowed down and left me disappointed with the conclusion. The ending felt like drinking the last dregs of a cup of tea that had gone cold really quickly. The story had potential and I would of course want to read more books by this author, but sadly, I don’t think I’ll be recommending this one to any of my friends.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Overall, I was disappointed in Asylum, which is a shame as the


    Overall, I was disappointed in Asylum, which is a shame as the cover looked so promising!  The entire novel had some good ideas, but it felt like Roux was testing the waters of authorship rather than diving in headfirst.  Although billed as a photo novel, I did not find the pictures to enhance, but detract from the storyline, they appeared to be poor reproductions or B grade PhotoShop examples.  This book was alright, I am interested in reading the second installment solely to discover if Roux developed the suggestions of Asylum. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Sg

    Love it

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay

    The title alone made me want to read this. Obviously will remind anyone of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, what with the photographs incorporated with the story. Helps to what with the atmosphere tone etc. But from what I hear, this one had potential but was either boring, nothing happens or it was just slow. To be honest, I tried not to put that in mind while reading this. But it did have a slow place, which I don't mind now and then as it builds up the mystery, story. And while I didn't mind this book, I thought was something missing, near the end especially. I don't know. I will say that I didn't see a twist or two coming but thought if it was foreshadowed or maybe I skimmed by it. This reminded me of a kind of similar read with a group of teens exploring a former asylum called Project 17. That too while good you expected more from. This one as well but it was still an interesting read I guess.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Good

    But for a pre teen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Ok

    Not terrible butnot the best read. Very quick and simple.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Shortie022

    I got the book in my school libery i havent really got that faw into it yet

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1