Customer Reviews for

At Any Cost

Average Rating 3
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    Gonna keep my review short and sweet and keep more to my emotion

    Gonna keep my review short and sweet and keep more to my emotions as the cover write up is pretty lengthy. It’s a pretty solid read you guys. I was drawn in and felt invested in these characters. I fell in love with Fallon right off the bat. She is sweet and smart a wonderful combo. Tom, I really loved his evolution. Massive tears when he went to visit his family. The two of them together - perfection.

    The story is a good one, thrilling and suspenseful. Dysfunctional soon to be first family – amazing. The city of DC itself was a wonderful back drop with all the action and suspense.

    All in all I give At Any Cost 3.5 STARS!

    T~
    .KTBookreviews dot blogspot dot com

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Disappointing...

    The story starts out potentially interesting....but quickly becomes a sexually graphic novel with foul language and a main female character who is portrayed as "innocent and honest" and yet in the next sentence is having sex and is breaking the law. Really? Very little romance too, the espionage piece is pretty well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    ::SPOILER-IFIC REVIEW - NOT THAT IT MATTERS....:: J.D. Robb Won't Be Losing Any Sleep Over This One

    This book got highlighted for me because I purchase all Nora Roberts's "J.D. Robb" books in eBook format - since it was only a couple bucks and it's a romantic thriller, I figured "Why not?" That's about the right reaction for this book - it's not *terrible* and I don't feel my $2.99 was a complete waste of money, but I'm not likely to pick up any more books by this author or featuring these characters.

    You can pretty much predict every story point before it happens - Hunky Mysterious Guy and Gorgeous Daughter of Oil Baron-Turned-President-Elect who had a wild fling in Greece with some years back, he resurfaces as her Secret Service detail, sparks fly again and hot monkey sex isn't far behind, e-EVIL! Conspiracy Leaking Government Secrets From Behind the Shield of Homeland Security tries to kill then kidnap daughter Because She Knows Too Much, Hunky Secret Service Agent to the rescue, weak conspiracy wrap-up because really, you're supposed to be reading this to see if Our lovebird Live Happily Ever After, right? Oh, and her parents are emotionally distant and all but estranged, his wife died on 9/11 (which was why he was in Greece beachcombing in time to have the fling w/her!), she's a former hippie chick turned corporate lawyer (as you do), and they're an autistic kid brother she loves unreservedly who he treats well So We Know They're Soulmates....

    I read romantic thrillers and military SF as mind candy, so I don't expect originality or depth there - what I do expect is good storytelling and enjoyable characters. Two Stars is an apt assessment of both here - it's not awful, but it's awfully obvious and stock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Great Read...

    I could'nt put it down...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Awesome book

    Enjoyed reading this book! Good plot & steamy sex, plus lots of interesting twists & turns. Could not put it down... Will be waiting for more from this author,..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    At any cost

    279 pages.......a good story of White House moles and spies with lots of romance. Did not like all the bad words and too much dirty sex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Would not recommend

    I actually stopped reading it and had it removed from my library. The story had an ok story line but I feel the author was also trying to write a romance novel and just threw in encounters whenever. I felt I was reading a very "cheap novel".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    The story starts off great but then you have all the sex scenes

    The story starts off great but then you have all the sex scenes written in. I am no prude, but the vulgar terms used don't enhance the scenes at all.  I go for the plot & the romance, not the quickie in the closet w/ four letter words describing the anatomy. Doesn't anyone write clean romances any more?  I may update my rating if I can get back to the storyline without the bleep filter going off in my head.  Writer's take note..you don't need 4-letter words to sell the book, write a great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Great read!!!!!

    Great political thriller with lots of twist and turns and great love scenes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Exciting read!

    Exciting read! Great blend of drama, thrills and romance. Hope the author has another story ready soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Enjoyed

    I enjoyed this book very much. The plot was exciting and the characters seemed real. The story brought out the behind the scenes of politicians and the cover stories they spin for votes. The daughter of the president elect is asked by phone to meet with a man who fears he is in danger of being killed because he has evidence of a national security disaster. His supposed suicide before their meeting begins an exciting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1