Customer Reviews for

At Dawn We Slept: The Untold Story of Pearl Harbor; Revised Edition

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    EPIC!

    My 12 year old son was born a war history buff. His favorite being WWII. This came hightly recommended by a co-worker so I got it for my son for Christmas. He sleeps with it and reads it a little bit each night before bed. It is a lot... but priceless!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    Detail, Detail, Detail

    Almost mind boggling the amount of detail this piece of work presents about Pearl Harbor and the events surrounding the attack. A must read for those interested in learning about the attack that officially drew the United States into WWII.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    A Can┬┐t Miss Book

    At Dawn we Slept is one of the best histories I have read in a long time. Twenty-five years has not dimmed its brilliance. The cat and mouse game between American and Japanese intelligence reads like a thriller. The actual attack is given about 50 pages of the book. The author was focused on finding out the deeper truths and lessons of Pearl Harbor. Gordon W. Prange spent decades researching the book and interviewed most of the survivors on both sides. He was fair and balanced in his judgments and conclusions. He died before the book was published but his analysis is sobering to read in a time when the US faces dangers on many fronts. I wonder how many members of the Bush Administration have seen and understood this book. Iraq leads me to suspect not many have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    Probably the best WWII History text

    I promise that you will never find another WWII history text as well researched and level headed as this one. The detail is comprehensive - if anything of importance happened with respect to the Pearl harbor attack, I guarantee you that it's in this book. It makes most other accounts seem thoroughly amateurish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2003

    Great reading

    This is probably the finest book written about the attack at Pearl Harbor. Gordon Prange's intense research, aided ably by Donald Goldstien and Katherin Dillon, brings the attack to life in a way few authors can. I would recommend this book to any student of history to see how a book like this SHOULD be written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2001

    A Time for Courage and Brotherhood

    This novel, written by the peerless authority of Anglo-Japanese conflict in the pacific, is riviting and thorough. Mr. Prange tells the complete story of the most momentous day in American history of the twentieth century. So complete was Mr. Prange's knowledge that he was hired as the script and on set advisor of the motion picture,'Tora, Tora, Tora.' This is a must read for anyone who loves military history, American history, or history in general.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2001

    NON-STOP READING

    This had to be the best book I know of about Pearl Harbor! Hard to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2001

    This book renders all other works as fiction!

    The complete account of Pearl Harbor, from both sides of the Pacific Ocean. I have read this account three times since 1993, and each time was better than the previous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2001

    GREAT HISTORY

    Fact upon fact portrayed in in a well-written story. A must for the history buff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    Very thorough and well written

    This is an excellent history book about Pearl Harbor. It gives details upon details about events prior to, during, and after the attack. I give it my highest recommendation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 1999

    Definitive account

    Anyone who might wish to write a book or article about Pearl Harbor should read this book ... and then give up the notion that they can add anything of significance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1