Customer Reviews for

At First Sight

Average Rating 4
( 599 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(297)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Loved It

Nicholas Sparks At First Sight was a book that kept me wondering. Is Lexie cheating on Jeremy? What else has she kept from him? These were the questions I kept asking myself. This story about two people in love after just meeting really shows that love at first sight is...
Nicholas Sparks At First Sight was a book that kept me wondering. Is Lexie cheating on Jeremy? What else has she kept from him? These were the questions I kept asking myself. This story about two people in love after just meeting really shows that love at first sight is real. From the ups and downs that couples face every day, Sparks almost in a way sped things up. In less than a year, Jeremy, a man from New York City and his wife Lexie, from Boone Creek, North Carolina, were moving in together, getting married, and having a baby. I really enjoyed this book for many different reasons. It showed that love is hard but if you really love a person nothing will matter and love always gets through the tough times. I have to admit though that the end of this story was not what I expected and I was completely shocked. This story will make you laugh, cry, and think about the ones you love in a different way. I would tell anyone to read this story; it truly is an amazing book.

posted by K_56_R on November 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I really liked True Believer so I was exctied to read this book. Now that I have read At Frist Sight I realize that this book was completely unnecessary and he should have stopped at True Believer. True Believer ended on such a postive note and this book was just heartb...
I really liked True Believer so I was exctied to read this book. Now that I have read At Frist Sight I realize that this book was completely unnecessary and he should have stopped at True Believer. True Believer ended on such a postive note and this book was just heartbreaking. The characters were unhappy throughout the entire story and there really never was a happy moment. The ending was awful and it really ruined both books for me. I really don't understand why a man whose fan base is made up of mostly women would chose to end a story this way because this would scare most women. Seriously if you are pregnant or thinking of becoming pregnant don't read this book because it will terrify you. If you liked True Believer don't read this book because it will only leave you heartbroken and pissed off.

posted by 8417221 on May 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 603 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It

    Nicholas Sparks At First Sight was a book that kept me wondering. Is Lexie cheating on Jeremy? What else has she kept from him? These were the questions I kept asking myself. This story about two people in love after just meeting really shows that love at first sight is real. From the ups and downs that couples face every day, Sparks almost in a way sped things up. In less than a year, Jeremy, a man from New York City and his wife Lexie, from Boone Creek, North Carolina, were moving in together, getting married, and having a baby. I really enjoyed this book for many different reasons. It showed that love is hard but if you really love a person nothing will matter and love always gets through the tough times. I have to admit though that the end of this story was not what I expected and I was completely shocked. This story will make you laugh, cry, and think about the ones you love in a different way. I would tell anyone to read this story; it truly is an amazing book.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    Disappointing

    I really liked True Believer so I was exctied to read this book. Now that I have read At Frist Sight I realize that this book was completely unnecessary and he should have stopped at True Believer. True Believer ended on such a postive note and this book was just heartbreaking. The characters were unhappy throughout the entire story and there really never was a happy moment. The ending was awful and it really ruined both books for me. I really don't understand why a man whose fan base is made up of mostly women would chose to end a story this way because this would scare most women. Seriously if you are pregnant or thinking of becoming pregnant don't read this book because it will terrify you. If you liked True Believer don't read this book because it will only leave you heartbroken and pissed off.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    So romantic

    Romance in every corner. What I love about Nicholas Sparks is the way he portrays regular people changing and becoming better because of the power of love. It makes you hope for that special someone out there. The ending was completely unexpected, I was in tears.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Amazing

    I began reading this a year ago when I was in the hospital and one of the staff members let me start reading her copy. When I got home, I got it for my NookColor. I have read it at least 20 times since. By far my favorite book. I can't wait to read Nicholas Sparks' books!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Great!

    I loved this book just like i have all of his books

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Made me boycott Sparks!

    The way he killed off the main character after all the pregnancy difficulties was cheap! No joy in the book at all.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    A Wonderful Read

    At First Sight is a wonderful book that explores love and human actions caused by guilt, jealousy, and trauma. The main theme is love and how it makes humans act and the results of that. It also talks a lot about marriage and intentions vs. actions. Another theme is telling the truth, the difference between lying and not mentioning something, and the greater effects loss of trust has on people. The book is about the young couple Lexie and Jeremy Marsh and their adventure through the beginning of their marriage and the birth of their first child. They move down to a small town named Boone Creek and buy their first house. Their relationship is a roller coaster but through the ups and downs and you really begin to sympathize with the characters. Jeremy a writer from New York is the protagonist in the book, and you learn all about his sacrafices he makes for love and to begin on a new journey different from anything he's ever been used to. I loved the way the author set the book up, there are unexpected twists and turns behind every chapter, and nothing goes as planned. You feel the story come to life as you begin to have a deeper understanding of how the characters think and feel about each other. However, if your looking for a light happy read, that leaves you feeling better about life, this may not be the best choice for you. It's a heavy book and times makes you feel very sad, but it is also one of the best books I have ever read. I would rate this book a nine out of ten because it's a wonderful read and I enjoyed every page. I would also recommend any other books by Nicholas Sparks, because I have found all his books to be great reads, and have not been disappointed once when reading his books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    Didn't Read The First, But One Of His Best!

    Yes, that may shock you...I didn't read the first one, but I got enough of the plot from True Believer that I needed to read this one. I couldn't set it down. Read it in a night! The two substantial zingers were unexpected, and it made me shed light on my own situation. An awesome book, but it kind of makes me want to read True Believer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Good book

    Nicholas sparks is the best for male writers. He always has a twist at the end, although I am usually disappointed in the ending, but they are realistic and emotional books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    A really good read

    Nicolas Sparks has done it again with the sequel to True believer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Cool

    Cool

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Not one of my favorites Would not recommend.

    Far fetched. Unlikely the events in this book would ever happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    First sight

    Couldn't put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Love

    Such an amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Best book

    His best book ive read by far and he doesnt write a bad book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    A Must Read!

    This book was just complitly amazing! It kept we guessing and wondering. Why? When? How? Who? Time? Place? And all of the above. I was torn to know the answers to my questions. What a BACKSTABBER! But I cried, laughed, smiled, and did those "Aww" moments. In the end I ended up lovely the book and the author on how it was over all. It was a very unique endding.

    Read. If you were lost in what I said just buy the book and read. Then you will undrstand!

    <333 Love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    As always...AWESOME!

    Love his books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    Nicholas Sparks never disappoints!

    At first Sight is a fast read that keeps the reader wanting more! I really enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Must read after the first book!

    I didn't realize this was the second book to True Believer. I love these two books so much!! Some parts were a little dull, but I promise you the book defiantly picks up! The second book was so good! There's a huge twist and I bawled through the last few chapters! But was worth it! Must read these books! Sparks never disappoints!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 603 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31