Customer Reviews for

At First Sight

Average Rating 4
( 604 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(299)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Loved It

Nicholas Sparks At First Sight was a book that kept me wondering. Is Lexie cheating on Jeremy? What else has she kept from him? These were the questions I kept asking myself. This story about two people in love after just meeting really shows that love at first sight is...
Nicholas Sparks At First Sight was a book that kept me wondering. Is Lexie cheating on Jeremy? What else has she kept from him? These were the questions I kept asking myself. This story about two people in love after just meeting really shows that love at first sight is real. From the ups and downs that couples face every day, Sparks almost in a way sped things up. In less than a year, Jeremy, a man from New York City and his wife Lexie, from Boone Creek, North Carolina, were moving in together, getting married, and having a baby. I really enjoyed this book for many different reasons. It showed that love is hard but if you really love a person nothing will matter and love always gets through the tough times. I have to admit though that the end of this story was not what I expected and I was completely shocked. This story will make you laugh, cry, and think about the ones you love in a different way. I would tell anyone to read this story; it truly is an amazing book.

posted by K_56_R on November 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I really liked True Believer so I was exctied to read this book. Now that I have read At Frist Sight I realize that this book was completely unnecessary and he should have stopped at True Believer. True Believer ended on such a postive note and this book was just heartb...
I really liked True Believer so I was exctied to read this book. Now that I have read At Frist Sight I realize that this book was completely unnecessary and he should have stopped at True Believer. True Believer ended on such a postive note and this book was just heartbreaking. The characters were unhappy throughout the entire story and there really never was a happy moment. The ending was awful and it really ruined both books for me. I really don't understand why a man whose fan base is made up of mostly women would chose to end a story this way because this would scare most women. Seriously if you are pregnant or thinking of becoming pregnant don't read this book because it will terrify you. If you liked True Believer don't read this book because it will only leave you heartbroken and pissed off.

posted by 8417221 on May 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 82 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2006

    What can I say?

    I think that Nicholas Sparks is a wonderful writer and I really love his books. However, I will have to agree with the others that this book is just to much! It is such a wonderful story and then to have such a painful ending is just heartbreaking. I literally had to stop reading because I could not stop crying. As a newlywed myself, it is such a scary thought that in an instant everything could end. This would have been such a great great story if only the ending were different. The ending was still very good, but in this world we need something to make us smile, not something that makes us depressed. I am still a fan. His next book better be happy though! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2005

    Definitely not his best

    I love Nicholas Sparks. I recommend all his books to friends and family, but this one won't be on that list. I was thoroughly disappointed. The story really didn't go anywhere. At points touching, but overall I wasn't impressed and I feel bad about that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    Not his best

    Nic Sparks is a wonderful author with several great books to his credit, but this one was not one of his best. I just didn't feel like I cared much about these characters, which suprises me because they were great in True Believer. Still, he lost me somewhere in the slow pacing of this one. I just couldn't get into it...it felt as if I was going no where.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2005

    Don't know what to think

    Don't get me wrong I love to read Sparks book and I almost have read them all. As soon as I got done reading True Believer I started reading At first Sight, and I hated the fact that they only knew each other for a little while and then she got pregnant and there was no time for them and your thinking well maybe by the time the stress is over and shes already had the baby that there will be time for 'them' but it never happens and his life is more miserable by the end. But yes it made me sad and I felt for them at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2005

    not his best

    Although I always read straight through all of his books, this one took some effort. I don't think that suspense is his forte. I was disappointed through most of the book. There were a few laugh out loud moments but no 'gasping' moments until the very last pages. For me it was a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2005

    This was good, but not his best!

    I read this book in a day as I do most Sparks novels. (Obviously, I am a fan) This one was a little flat compared to his others. I was surprised by the WHO WAS IT twist but a little dissapointed. I didn't think that he gave the twist enough background for me to care much. I guess what I am saying is that in past novels, he has brought the characters to life. They have literally leapt off the page and joined me in my own life for the few days it took to read the novel and even sometimes, for weeks after, as I thought back over the read. In this novel, I couldn't become invested in the characters, though I tried. I finished the story more out of closure about the characters than because it was a page turner. And I felt in the end, a little cheated that the characters did not come to life much. Nick is a VERY talented writer and you would be hard-pressed to find much not to like in his other books. But this one, again, was just good, not great. I am used to 'great' with his stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    A good book...if you have never read other Sparks novels...

    Nicholas Sparks is known for his ability to touch the heart of the reader through the relationships of his characters. As with True Believer, At First Sight is a solid book, but not one of Sparks' best. Here we are brought up to speed with characters we first met in True Believer, but here the realistic character portrayals that Sparks usually captures are somewhat lacking. Although the story is touching in parts (especially near the end of the book), it does not successfully leave you with the same overwhelming emotional attachment to the characters that you will find in other Sparks' novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2005

    for TRUE BELIEVER

    I too am a big fan of Nicholas Sparks--I read them all. However, of all his books this was just OK--not his best and very predictable. I will however still read his sequel because I love his writing style and hope I like it as much as 'The Wedding'-one of my faovrites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    True Believer

    I love Nicholas Sparks. However, I found True Believer to be my least favorite. I am hoping the sequel is alot better. I found it slower than the others. Usually I can't get my nose out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 82 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5