Customer Reviews for

At Grave's End (Night Huntress Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(889)

4 Star

(241)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

The latest Night Huntress urban fantasy is enthralling

Married at least in terms of vampire laws, half-breed Cat Crawfield and pure bloodsucker Bones are euphoric. They were manipulated cleverly by her family keeping them apart for years. Now they live together and Bones has joined the government agency run by her uncle h...
Married at least in terms of vampire laws, half-breed Cat Crawfield and pure bloodsucker Bones are euphoric. They were manipulated cleverly by her family keeping them apart for years. Now they live together and Bones has joined the government agency run by her uncle hunting rogue vampires.

Already the most successful team due to Cat¿s unique prowess, the addition of Bones makes the unit seemingly invincible. However, the vampire world recently learned that Cat is the notorious Red Reaper making her a Scarlet letter type target to her enemy and that Bones is a traitor. While struggling to stay alive from hunter-vamps especially one who loathes Bones for dumping her, they must prevent a war of magic from devastating the world.

The latest Night Huntress urban fantasy (see HALFWAY TO THE GRAVE and ONE FOOT IN THE GRAVE) series is a powerful entry as the overarching theme moves forward with increasing complexity; while also containing an action-packed story line and intensifying the lead couple¿s romantic relationship. Now that Cat is outed, she wears a bulls-eye on her forehead as vampiric gunslingers know taking her down would make them into an over night superhero, not that Bones will sit idly allowing that to happen. Sub-genre fans will fully enjoy Cat¿s saga, as Jeaniene Frost¿s tour of the world of the ¿Grave¿ is deep yet fun to follow.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

WHY is NookBook & Paperback same price?

No paper & printing costs, not to mention shipping (with these gas prices) but priced the same...will NOT purchase until price reflects reduced costs!!!

posted by RinebergReviewer on March 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 62
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Night Huntress urban fantasy is enthralling

    Married at least in terms of vampire laws, half-breed Cat Crawfield and pure bloodsucker Bones are euphoric. They were manipulated cleverly by her family keeping them apart for years. Now they live together and Bones has joined the government agency run by her uncle hunting rogue vampires.<BR/><BR/>Already the most successful team due to Cat¿s unique prowess, the addition of Bones makes the unit seemingly invincible. However, the vampire world recently learned that Cat is the notorious Red Reaper making her a Scarlet letter type target to her enemy and that Bones is a traitor. While struggling to stay alive from hunter-vamps especially one who loathes Bones for dumping her, they must prevent a war of magic from devastating the world.<BR/><BR/>The latest Night Huntress urban fantasy (see HALFWAY TO THE GRAVE and ONE FOOT IN THE GRAVE) series is a powerful entry as the overarching theme moves forward with increasing complexity; while also containing an action-packed story line and intensifying the lead couple¿s romantic relationship. Now that Cat is outed, she wears a bulls-eye on her forehead as vampiric gunslingers know taking her down would make them into an over night superhero, not that Bones will sit idly allowing that to happen. Sub-genre fans will fully enjoy Cat¿s saga, as Jeaniene Frost¿s tour of the world of the ¿Grave¿ is deep yet fun to follow.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    WHY is NookBook & Paperback same price?

    No paper & printing costs, not to mention shipping (with these gas prices) but priced the same...will NOT purchase until price reflects reduced costs!!!

    7 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Red Reaper Strikes Again!

    This was a really fun read. Now that Cat and Bones are married you would think life would start slowing down¿¿.. Actually it seems like things are getting worse! However bad it gets, Cat and Bones stick it out together. This book didn¿t have a minute to spare. It has action, sex, humor, emotional scenes and interesting creatures. Cat¿s father makes a rather nasty appearance and almost succeeds in getting her killed. Justine is very surprising in this one. All in all I think this book was just about perfect. I like how Cat and Bones (and now I can say the gang) keep evolving instead of rehashing the same old story. I love the direction the book is taking and can¿t wait for the next installment, An Early Grave due out July 2009. I highly recommend this book and the rest of the series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    AWESOME, loved it!!!!!

    Five stars and definately two thumbs up!!! I totally suggest reading in order to fully appreciate the story and comprehend the events! If you love action, romance (sex), and just a great series, this is the series for you! Anita Blake fans, oh hell yeah, you'll love it!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cat and Bones are a great power couple

    Book three continues with another great plot. Personable side characters are back as well as new characters being introduced. There were some moments where I held my breath and chewed my nails. I was so engrossed in the story. Bones is fast becoming one of my favorite vampires. These just keep getting better. Well done!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    100X's better

    I'm a big vampire buff! and in all honesty I think this is the best paranormal book I have read yet to date. Its a 100 times better than twilight!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Love, Love, Love this series

    This is a must read series...I love all these books so much that after I read them I turned right around and read them all again. You'll love Cat (Kitten) and Bones...they had my eyes turning bright green with excitment and thrills...can't wait to see what will happen next ;-)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love Bones

    Wow I love this series! I have read a book a day, am now reading spin off #1 as it felt appropriate since it stats where book 3 leaves off. I really hope Vlad gets his own book, L really love that old guy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another installment in the Cat and Bones saga. Not my favorite t

    Another installment in the Cat and Bones saga. Not my favorite thus far, but very good nonetheless.

    My favorite things about this book:
    - Bones, of course. Still incredibly hot and sexy, and now even more powerful than before.
    - Cat. I like her attitude overall. She's not a wishy-washy female lead. She sees what needs to be done and does it. She does not let emotions interfere with her actions.
    -Cat's mom (Justina). This book shows a whole new side of her. I was laughing so hard reading the sections about her. Rodney deserves a medal!

    I wish:
    - We would have gotten more of Dave's transition to ghoul. This book picked up about four months after the last book, so we missed the newness of him. I would have really liked to see what it was like for him and the struggles involved with that. I'm sure it cannot be easy waking from the dead!
    - We would have gotten more of Patra. There was so much potential for a whole background story on her and Menechres, and I feel that it was all just pushed to the side and let die. I would have loved to know more about the magic used and the daughter of Cleopatra.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    a fun read.I really enjoyed the characters

    I've enjoyed the whole series.It was a entertaining story with likable characters.Light reading.Who doesn't like vampires!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not as solid as the first two, but still good

    The sexual tension between Cat and Bones just wasn't there, and the action sequences were a bit unbelievable at times (Cat is almost TOO indestructible), but I still enjoyed the book. It's not as solid as the first two, but I'm still a loyal fan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Jeaniene Frost Night Huntress Series

    I have never read a series of books that made me laugh, and cry out loud
    Outstanding - I loved loved these books. Bravo

    Ola

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Each book better then the last

    I'm hooked. Love this seried

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    LOVE THIS BOOK!

    I so enjoyed this book! I just couldn't read it fast enough. There was ALWAYS something
    to hold your interest from beginning to end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    yup, keep reading!

    This was a great book, probably one of my favorites in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Read

    Warning: may turn you into a crazy fan

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    I definitely recommend

    The series seems to get better with each book I read. I'm really pleased with it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I am loving the Night Huntress Series. At Garve's End really has a twist. This is a must read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2014

    Overall Rating: 4.5 Stars ¿ Kept telling myself ¿just one more c

    Overall Rating: 4.5 Stars – Kept telling myself “just one more chapter.”

    Something amazing happened while I was reading At Grave’s End, I actually started to like Cat’s Mother. She’s becoming less of an uptight hypocrite and more someone I find myself smiling for when she enters the story. The one person I’m starting to dislike? Bones. I know, I know. I don’t really, I still love him, but my God who hasn’t this man slept with? We find out about even more of his past conquests in this book and I wanted to throttle him each and every time.

    This book was so full of action, things were really starting to pick up. Threats on Cat, a vampire war, it was all good stuff, good for us readers anyway, not so great for the characters. And things happen in this book that just had my emotions roaring. I knew there was a happy ending with this book, I mean we have a book 4, but at the same time I just felt my heart breaking in this book. I wanted to cry right along with some of our main characters.

    There was so much action in At Grave’s End, but like I did in the last I almost wish we would have had a bit less action and more time for Bones to woo Cat and us, the readers. I want more mushy times with them so I could roll around in what is becoming my love for Bones. I need to be reminded why he’s such an awesome alpha and book boyfriend worthy.

    I also wish two of our main characters would just leave. I’ll call them A and T for lack of using a spoiler. I really wanted A to end up our traitor so she could be ‘kicked off the island’ and as for T, I don’t like when people mess with my couple. Thank God, the story hasn’t turned into some kind of twisted love square, that would be horrible.

    If you can’t tell, I really liked At Grave’s End, it was another winner in the Night Huntress series for me. If you like vampires and paranormal stuff this is definitely a series to check out. I already have the next book on my Kindle, but I might take a small break from the series. Probably, just a one book break, I don’t want to suffer Bones burnout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Awesome

    I was skeptical and only got to readinf the series out if lack of others to choose from but I fell head over heels. I found myself desperate to find out what happened next. Loved the characters and how the story wrapped me up. It was hard to put down from start to finish!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 62