BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

At Last Comes Love (Huxtable Series)

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The third Huxtable Regency romance is simply great

    Five years ago, Lord Duncan Pennethorne caused the scandal of the decade when he jilted his fiancé to run away with her sister-in-law. He stayed away from London until now. His grandfather has written him to find a wife in fifteen days or he will inherit nothing but a name. Desperate not for himself but for four years old Toby, Duncan moves into the home of his mom and stepfather as he has a fortnight to marry a proper spouse.--------------

    At a ball, almost thirty and obviously on the shelf, Margaret Huxtable flees an unwanted suitor only to crash into Duncan. He quickly realizes she is perfect to satisfy his grandfather, but she proves to be a stubborn spinster. As he courts her and she rejects him, they become friends and soon fall in love. As each reveals their past secrets, they find hope in each other's arms until his scandal re-explodes. With her extended family in their court the lead couple believes love will bring justice to those who unfairly were punished and those who should have but were not.-----------------

    The third Huxtable Regency romance (see FIRST COMES MARRIAGE and THEN COMES SEDUCTION) is simply great as the story line takes a deep look at values that were powerful in the early nineteenth century and remain so today. The lead couple is a delightful pairing of two intelligent caring souls who try to always do the right thing even when the cost is their reputation. Fans will enjoy this superb entry while awaiting the last single Huxtable tale to be told.----------

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    Another winner

    I started reading this series backwards. I've read Con Huxtable story. Then read Stephan's story. Now I've read Meg's story. This story is a great read and can be read with the series. Or on it's own. Ms. Balogh is one of the most gifted writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Wonderful book!  Mary Balogh does not disappoint!!

    Wonderful book!  Mary Balogh does not disappoint!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Liked this but didn't love...

    I liked this book, but I have to say that I didn't love it as much as the others. Meg just never really interested me a great deal and so I enjoyed the books about Vanessa and Kate much more than this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    Unique Way to Find Love - Interesting Story

    I enjoyed this novel though not as much as that of the other siblings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Enjoyable

    It was a good story that gave Mag's character a lot more depth while resolving her lingering storylines from the previous two books. Definitely one to read if you like the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    Mixed Feelings

    I am torn about this book. There were elements that were great and I enjoyed how the love between the two protagonists builds slowly rather than some sort of instant chemical reaction that happens in most novels of this sort. However, the book took to long to explain the hero's actions and the ending was not entirely satsifactory. For villans as henious as depicted in the book, you would expect more from the final confrontation that you ultimately receive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Least Fav

    This was my least favorite in the Huxtable group so far. They kept repeating the same story over and over again. Plus Meg and Duncan didn't really seem that into each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    At Last Comes Love is great story

    This is a heartwarming, intriguing story between Margaret and Duncan. It's one of those books that you could just FEEL the characters falling in love. The chemistry between the two leads is palpable. Margaret is a strong character whom I could relate to. She felt real. I thought she was a bit more of a complex character than Duncan was, but Duncan was is possibly one of my favorite heroes EVER. He's a rake and is completely sweet. He's not one of those aloof heroes who really annoy me. There is a happy ending, in spite of the fact that there appears to be an illegitimate child involved. This of course is not true, but a case of Lord Sheringford protecting a hapless and dying female and her young son.
    Once again the Huxtable family has another good and happy marriage in its ranks, and we have a lucious read. Great writing, story, characterization.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Charming and Romantic

    I always enjoy Mary Balough's family series! I love this sister's fierst loyalty to her family and her ability to laugh at herself. I thought the story line was great, a little dark and mysterious but very credible in dealing with spousal abuse. The fact that the male lead character was as hard and honorable as he was gentle and loving was icing on the cake!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It was quite charming.

    I really enjoyed this book. I had read all of the books proceeding this and I desperately hoped that Margaret Huxtable would finally find someone well suited for herself. Duncan Pennethorne, the Earl of Sheringford is the perfect amount of gentleman and scoundrel to keep Margaret on her toes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Mary Balogh at her best!

    This is the third in a series and my favorite so far. The first one was so much like "Pride and Prejudice" it was uncomfortable reading it. But this book is unique and alot of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A serious underlying theme that gives meat to the story of Margaret Huxtable and Duncan Pennethorne is that of prevailing marriage laws that condone the bondage of wives to their husbands.

    Now that her sisters have all married well and her brother has grown into his title of Earl of Merton, where does that leave Meg? Thirty, unmarried, still beautiful, but definitely on the shelf. Her early love, Crispin Dew has returned from Spain a widower with a young daughter along with expectations to make Meg his wife without much of an effort. And her old reliable Marquess of Allingham has up and gotten himself affianced! What's more, Meg has impulsively told Crispin she will introduce him to her secret betrothed at that evening's ball. What does she do? She flees and bumps into a very disagreeable, but memorable, man of her own age, who promptly proposes. Thus begins the amazing 'courtship' of Margaret Huxtable and the notorious bride jilter/wife stealer Duncan Pennethorne, the Earl of Sheringford. His strange history earns her respect; they marry and proceed to try to fall in love. More dark twists to come and more trials to surmount before they do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tired of historical romances featuring those in their 20s? Check this one out.

    Fans of Mary Balogh will not be disappointed with the third novel in her series around the Huxtable siblings. Whether one has recently discovered Ms. Balogh's writing or has already dedicated a shelf to hold these novels, At Last Comes Love will soon become a favorite.

    The eldest Huxtable, Margaret, has put her dreams of love, marriage, and motherhood aside to see her siblings raised to adulthood and settled, even though she is not that much older than they when their father dies. Although still a great beauty at thirty when her promise is done, Margaret Huxtable fears she has waited too long and may face a future as Aunt Margaret to her nieces and nephews, always dependent on the charity of her siblings. She decides to go to London for the Season with the express purpose of soliciting and accepting a proposal. Despite her age, Margaret's beauty, poise, and respectability as the sister of the Earl of Merton has always drawn a number of admirers to her side, as well as a few offers each Season.

    Arriving in London, she finds that Crispin Dew, the man she loved from the age of eighteen until he betrayed her by marrying another, has returned to England as a widower and expects to pick up where they left off twelve years previously, without benefit of any kind of understanding. Hurt and offended, she declines his offer of company under the pretense that her fiancé will not approve. Swearing Dew to secrecy, she explains that her betrothal has yet to be announced. Margaret feels sure that the lie will become truth once her most ardent admirer realizes she is in town. Unfortunately, Margaret discovers that a man can only be turned down a certain number of times before he seeks someone else who will have him. Horrified by the predicament she finds herself in; Margaret is desperate for a miracle.

    Duncan Pennethorne, Earl of Sheringford, has also arrived in London with a mission to carry out. To keep from being cut off from his inheritance, he must woo and wed, within fifteen days, a respectable female of excellent breeding, and willing to align herself with him. A daunting task since the Earl is tainted by a scandal so dark that he is not received by any but those on the absolute fringes of the ton. With nothing to lose and all to gain, when he collides with Margaret at a crowded ball, he makes her an extraordinary offer that may solve both their dilemmas.

    Before Margaret and Duncan can devise a plan, she is betrayed yet again by Crispin when he breaks his vow and news of the betrothal is spread throughout the ton by the next morning. Her reputation at risk whether she accepts Duncan's offer or not, she soon learns that there is more to Duncan's situation than the loss of his inheritance. Some betrayals are worse than others and the truth is not always best revealed.

    In this novel, Ms. Balogh takes up a theme explored in some of her previous novels - romance can and does occur for women older than twenty. Margaret Huxtable is thirty, an age that is not typical for the heroine of most historical romances. By choosing an older heroine, Balogh has added a certain depth to Margaret's character and as a result there is more complexity to this story than either of the first two novels in the series. It is a wonderful story and well worth making some time to read it.

    Reviewed by Mairead Walpole of Crystal Reviews (www.crystalreviews.com)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    Dull and disappointing

    After reading and enjoying the other books in the Huxtable series, Margaret's story was quite a let down. The book was predictable and the characters only marginally interesting. It was lots of talk and little action. Read the other books in the series and skip this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    Kind of dull

    Everyone was just so proper...the character were boring, There seemed to be no passion between the two main character...I cant even remember their names....I like Mary Balogh...I bought this book brand new, but I did not even finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5