Customer Reviews for

At Risk (Win Garano Series #1)

Average Rating 2.5
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A good quick read

In the few pages of this book, I felt Ms. Cornwell gave real insight into the characters. The only disappointment here was the similarity of her Win Garano character to James Patterson's Alex Cross in the grandmother character. I think Ms. Cornwell could have been a t...
In the few pages of this book, I felt Ms. Cornwell gave real insight into the characters. The only disappointment here was the similarity of her Win Garano character to James Patterson's Alex Cross in the grandmother character. I think Ms. Cornwell could have been a tad more original there. Overall, though, I found the characters fresh and interesting. The plot also had originality and enough twists to keep the reader guessing.
Because of the brevity of the book, there was not a lot of the redundancy found in some of the longer volumes today. It was a good book for travel as it could be finished in a few hours. Without getting graphic, there was still sexual friction between several of the characters leading one to wonder where these relationships might go in a future novel with the same characters. (And I do see that this is #1 in the Win Garano Series.)
This book also skimmed over all the forensics which I found refreshing after so many books and television series getting overly (in my opinion) graphic in this area and concentrating on this aspect so much that there isn't much plot development.
I found this a welcome departure from so many of the books of this genre.

posted by LouiseJH on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

At Risk -- What happened to Ms. Cornwell?

I have been a true Patricia Cornwell fan for years looking forward to every release. Not only was "At Risk" disappointing for it's lack of content it was disappointing to see Cornwell wrote it as a vehicle for an angry political agenda. As a fan I look forward to her we...
I have been a true Patricia Cornwell fan for years looking forward to every release. Not only was "At Risk" disappointing for it's lack of content it was disappointing to see Cornwell wrote it as a vehicle for an angry political agenda. As a fan I look forward to her well developed characters and plots and lately both have seemed tired. I will wait to see reviews before I buy her next novel.

posted by read4funAZ on July 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    At Risk -- What happened to Ms. Cornwell?

    I have been a true Patricia Cornwell fan for years looking forward to every release. Not only was "At Risk" disappointing for it's lack of content it was disappointing to see Cornwell wrote it as a vehicle for an angry political agenda. As a fan I look forward to her well developed characters and plots and lately both have seemed tired. I will wait to see reviews before I buy her next novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Not Her best work

    I've enjoyed Ms. Cromwell's Kay Scarpetta series. This series quality didn't even come close. Very disappointed. Plot and characters not developed well at all. No originality in this series at all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    At Risk, Not

    I'll stick to Kay S.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    A good quick read

    In the few pages of this book, I felt Ms. Cornwell gave real insight into the characters. The only disappointment here was the similarity of her Win Garano character to James Patterson's Alex Cross in the grandmother character. I think Ms. Cornwell could have been a tad more original there. Overall, though, I found the characters fresh and interesting. The plot also had originality and enough twists to keep the reader guessing.
    Because of the brevity of the book, there was not a lot of the redundancy found in some of the longer volumes today. It was a good book for travel as it could be finished in a few hours. Without getting graphic, there was still sexual friction between several of the characters leading one to wonder where these relationships might go in a future novel with the same characters. (And I do see that this is #1 in the Win Garano Series.)
    This book also skimmed over all the forensics which I found refreshing after so many books and television series getting overly (in my opinion) graphic in this area and concentrating on this aspect so much that there isn't much plot development.
    I found this a welcome departure from so many of the books of this genre.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    highly recommended!!

    I loved 'At Risk' and 'The Front'!! I thought some parts were boring as hell and dragged on, but I loved the characters, although the DA is quite the hardass but overall they're both really good!! lots of twists!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    Pages missing

    Where is the other pages, i only received 121 pages of 304. WHY? Help

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    Great story

    I find one character very interesting and weird, but I like the storytelling involved in this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    New Character Studies By Patricia Cornwell

    Two new characters, Win Garano and Monique Lamont, are brought to life by Patricia Cornwell in "At RisK" and a follow-up book "The Front". The character developement is not quite as deep as the Kay Scarpetta series of books, but that is expected since both books are only 200 pages. The stories are similar to Sherlock Holmes mysteries with intrique, twists and surprising conclusions. The similarity does not end there as these books were originally intended to be serialized in a weekly magazine. If you want to read a quick mystery, like a old 90 minute Holmes movie, this is a very good book to start with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    An enjoyable audiobook

    Whenever we travel we bring audiobooks to pass the time. The last Patricia Cornwell book I thought was a rehash of several others. I read most of her books and I enjoy her plots. I thought this book new and refreshing. I am looking forward to development of her character Win Garano. I will definitely buy the next book of this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    Twists and Turns

    An interesting book and another hit by Cornwell.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    At Risk should really read: Read at your own risk

    This book was very disapointing. I was constantly waiting for something to happen and it never did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I always enjoy Patricia Cornwell

    I always read the latest Patricia Cornwell even if the circle of characters aren't as appealing as they used to be. It seems as if Dr. Scarpatta's personal life just isn't as interesting as before. But the storyline and plot are always worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    Patricia Cornwell's new protagonist was disappointing

    I felt the plot was uninteresting and did not feel it was developed the way the Scarpetta novels were.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A mixed message

    THe writing style of this novel leaves much to be desired. THe plot and characters don't seem to be very well developed either. It took a lot of determination to get through this book. I don't think I will be reading another book from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    IT WAS NOT HER BEST

    I LOVE PATRCIA CORNWELL AND ALL HER BOOKS BUT THIS IN PATICULAR I DIDNT FIND THAT INTERESTING IT WAS HONESTLY A LIL BORING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    Cornwell at Her Worst

    Deciding to take some time to myself to read a good book, I looked forward to reading 'At Risk.' This proved to be a huge mistake. Cornwell's writing is not only pedestrian, it lacks any sort of style. Unless, of course, constant use of fragmented sentences is considered style. It is, in fact, the worst book she has written. In short, don't waste your money -- and, if you really choose to be bored senseless, check it out at the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    What a great read!

    Loved At Risk and Win! What a hunk! Can't wait to read The Front. Characters have depth. Keep the series going!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    AWESOME

    Probably on the best books I've ever read. So it's nothing like what you oldies are used to reading about Scarpetta, GET OVER IT. This book is exciting, interesting, and by far one of the best plots and intriguing characters of all time. Buy this book, you will be glad you didn't listen to the losers who do not know quality. Definitely Cornwell quality. Actually, I say Cornwell's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    Disappointing - Not Cornwell Quality

    This book does not even sound like Cornwell wrote it. I think she let someone else use her name! Do not waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    What happened to Patricia?

    Unlike some of your readers, I loved 'Predator'. My husband I listed to the audio book when returning to Ohio from Florida. I've also been a big fan of the Kay Scarpetta books. I was tremendously disappointed with 'At Risk'. Not what I was expecting at all. Not interesting, not fun, not believeable, and either insipid or nasty characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7