Customer Reviews for

At the Dungeon Master's Hand

Average Rating 3.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    It's okay for the price

    This book is about about a women who walks into a BDSM club and finds a co-worker there. She has been interested in this co-worker, but nothings ever happened. Later, this co-worker, dressed in a leather mask, takes the woman to his privet room and has his was with her.
    The plot is lacking and almost all but the first twenty and last couple are about sex. Now the sex is quite graphic, it should be since almost the whole book is about it. The co-worker is into bondage and toys. So there is no making someone scream in mercy or anything like that. Even though the names Master and slave are thrown around, I think it is done for fun and no one's will is broken. I did laugh at the last couple pages. So if you want a cheep bondage book with no depth, then this is the book for you.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Pretty good

    Storyline was pretty typical and predictable at times. It did have steamy scenes occasionally that made you wipe your brow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Mediocre

    ** some spoilers **
    Story is 90 pages. Whole premise that best friends would drag her to a BDSM club and leave her to hang with other men is a bit difficult to believe. Likewise that the club's rule that by walking into it you agree to participate and that means being dragged off by a masked stranger is okay.

    The sex scenes aren't bad but the story doesn't flow as smoothly as it could. Some tense changes and awkward sentence structure make it a bit rough. Not a bad read but not brilliant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Ladybug1

    Thanks to her friend Dani, Nat finds her true Love.... Read the other 2 books about Megan and Dani... The 3 of ladies are best friends Watch out and read what happens next!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So when I started reading this book, for some reason I didn┬┐t re

    So when I started reading this book, for some reason I didn’t realize it was part of a trilogy. And on top of that, I didn’t realize I had all three books. You can not even imagine the joy I had once I discovered both of those points!












    I think Jennifer Cole took a really fantastic approach to this series. There are three books, each featuring a different person; Natalie, Megan and Dani. And all three books are tied into together!! Seriously, I was just going nuts with joy when I discovered this. At The Dungeon Master’s Hand is Natalies book. I’ll keep my reviews over the next couple days brief, as these books aren’t very long, themselves. So make sure you check back tomorrow and Friday for the next two books! 




    Natalie is overworked. She is a copy editor, and to loosen up after a project she goes out with her friends, Megan and Dani. She thinks they are going to a club. They actually are going to a club, just not the kind Natalie thinks. Megan and Dani have organized a trip to Le Club D’Esclavage. That basically translates to: The Bondage Club. Oh yeah, fun times are ahead. 




    While sitting there, abandoned by her friends, Natalie runs into a coworker. A coworker she’s been crushing on. Meet Max. Max is wonderful, I really just loved him. And I loved getting to know him through the trilogy. He was very attentive and very caring, and he definitely has that Alpha air to him that just had me imagining all kinds of things involving him and this club.




    Natalie’s story had a little twist. Sure, she was tricked into going – but there is the reason. And that reason is incredibly sexy. Meet The Dungeon Master. Like the blurb says, he whispers, “You are mine…” Really, I can see why Natalie didn’t resist. The man was BDSM awesomeness. He took control of her and the situation with ease, and opened up a whole new world to her.  This story was incredibly hot. The Dungeon Master was masked, and it was so intriguing.  I couldn't wait to find out who was under the mask, and I had to know if Natalie would be happy or upset.  That of course, is something you have to find out on your own!  Natalie was surprisingly pliable, but then part of the rules of entering the club are that you are giving your consent just by entering in the first place. The sexy heat was terrific. 




    If you want a quick hot read, I suggest this trilogy. The layout of the three books is superb the way they all revolve around one evening and these three friends, and Jennifer Cole’s writing is really great. She was able to build this club so beautifully, I felt I was right in there with them all. I can picture every bar, every staircase, every table. But not only that, she was able to pack in some really great emotional scenes throughout all of the books. So give it a try – or have you already? Let me know!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Posted on Romancing the Books blog / Reviewed by Victoria / Re

    Posted on Romancing the Books blog / Reviewed by Victoria / Review Copy Provided by the Publisher / HOT! At the Dungeon Master’s Hand is the first book in the Le Club d’Esclavage series by Jennifer Cole. I chose this book because I enjoy reading about first time experiences in BDSM clubs.

    Natalie’s two best friends Megan and Dani convince her to go out and relax after a very long project at work is finished. Natalie is a strong willed, and courageous woman has no idea where she is going until she arrives at the club. It takes a lot of courage to step outside your boundaries especially when it’s sprung onto you.

    Max is the owner of the BDSM club Natalie’s friends take her too. He has been interested in Natalie for a while. Max is a very private person. He appears in a mask so Natalie does not know who he is.

    The author did a great job on the sex scenes in the story being very realistic and steamy. The characters had tons of chemistry together. Natalie and Max burned up the pages when they were together.

    This is a hot erotic story, but it’s a fantasy. In real life there are discussions that need to take place first. I did not like that while introducing Natalie to the BDSM lifestyle there was not talk of limits and safe word. I find that not very authentic, especially since Max owns the club. Story or not, this is very dangerous. Someone could get very hurt without a safe word.

    Overall this is a incredibly hot and well written short story. I cannot wait to read the rest of
    the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    At the Dungeon Master's Hands

    This was middle of the road for me. Some unrealistic issues bothered me about this story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4