Customer Reviews for

At the River's Edge (Chesapeake Diaries Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    A Delightful Romantic Read! At The River¿s Edge is the first boo

    A Delightful Romantic Read!
    At The River’s Edge is the first book I have read by this author. I found it to be a fun read with delightful and not so delightful characters. I thought it had a good story line.
    Have you ever had circumstances in your life that blind sighted you and knocked you for a loop? This story has some of those life circumstances that I am sure most readers can relate to.
    Sophie Enright is a strong character and I loved that about her. She is a real go-getter and when she wants something she makes it happen. She decides to start over in St. Dennis, Maryland after she catches her boyfriend cheating on her.
    Jason Bowers too is a strong character in this book. He ends up in St. Dennis after the death of his brother. He didn’t plan to stay in St. Dennis but as we know life has a way of changing our plans.
    Sophie plans to build her dream business. Jason plans to expand his growing business. Will their dreams clash with each other?
    I really wanted to move to St. Dennis by the time I finished this book. The description of the town and the people were very well done by this author.
    If you are a fan of Mariah Stewart, I urge you to pick up a copy of “At The River’s Edge” today. I highly recommend it.
    I won this book on LibraryThing. I wish to thank Ballantine Books for sending me a copy to read and review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    wow what a great book Sophie Enright just need something to open

    wow what a great book Sophie Enright just need something to open up her eyes to see how her life was she thought she had to go into law because her whole family is into law until she finds he boyfriend doing the nasty with someone else her eyes are open now. She starts to think what to do with her life and when she goes to visit her brother she figures out what she wants to do with it plus she meets the sweet great guy to Jason Bowers I was hoping they would have gotten married before the book ended but maybe the next book will have there wedding in it can't wait to read the next book in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Enjoyed the book very much. Sophis Enright has come back to St.

    Enjoyed the book very much. Sophis Enright has come back to St. Dennis, Maryland to decide what she wants to do about her law career and a two-timing boyfriend. She had always wanted to open a restaurant. She finds a shuttered restaurant and makes a bold move. She meets Jason Bowers again, He is the local landscaper and he wanted the building to.
    At The River's Edge by Mariah Stewart. She has out did herself again. Can not want for the next book to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    LEADER DEN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Nursury

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    &#9787 L out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Blackfang

    He dodged everystry and slahed open her neck while she wasnt aware and leaves her to blee to death "ugh." H disappered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Lillypaw

    (You can force mate Lillypaw if she dosent die. Deal?)
    Fine you can forcemate me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    Great Series

    I have read all seven books in the series and loved all of them! Mariah Stewart consistently writes great story lines re separation, loss of a loved one, single parenthood, changing jobs. I am biting my nails or staying up late at night to see how the story is going to turn out!

    I already checked to see when book #8 is coming out! Not too long await, this Spring! Yeah!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    A Must read for all Chesapeake Diary lovers!!

    I didn't want this book to end and can't wait to read Sunset Beach. I love the way she pulls all the characters together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Mariah Stewart has once again proven why is is on my auto buy li

    Mariah Stewart has once again proven why is is on my auto buy list and why she is one of my favorite authors.  I couldn't get enough of this book and read it in a few hours.  This book is like coming home for me.  Yes, I know the people and the city are not real but that doesn't stop me from wishing it was. You get to see characters that you have known from the first book in the series.  Even though this book is not out yet, I can't wait for the next book in the Chesapeake Diaries.




    When Sophie Enright has a REALLY bad day, she takes some time off and goes to see her brother and Grandfather in St Dennis, Maryland.  There she see's how over worked her brother is in the family's law firm.  She decides to move and help him out.  The problem is that she doesn't want to be a lawyer anymore.  She wants to follow her dream and become a Chef.  Sophie runs into Jason Bower and feels the attraction to him, even after she caught her boy friend cheating on her.  Sparks fly when Jason tries to buy a piece a property next to his land only to find that Sophie has bought it from under his nose.  Will Sophie and Jason get their happily ever after?  You must read this wonderful book to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Just in time for Valentine's Day, Mariah Stewart launches her la

    Just in time for Valentine's Day, Mariah Stewart launches her latest novel in the Chesapeake Diaries series, At River's Edge! If you love romance stories set in a small seaside village, much like Debbie Macomber's Cedar Creek series, you will definitely want to grab these. This is her seventh novel in the series and like most readers who become addicted to their favorite author's series, I am thrilled that Mariah didn't stop at the standard three novels in a series. And before you ask, yes there is going to be an eighth novel which you get a sneak peek at when you get to the end of this one. You can read these as stand alones, but in order to understand who all the characters are that are referenced in these novels, you will want to start at the beginning. I have listed them in order at the conclusion of this review for your reference and buying list.

    In At River's Edge, we are introduced to Sophie Enright who is a hard working and successful prosecutor for the DA's office who literally had the world at her fingertips. Great job, Chris, a man who she had fallen in love with, and was in the beginning stages of taking that next step when she found him with someone else in the backseat of his car in the parking ground of the law firm they both work at. Now thrown for a tailspin and having to face him and her every day at the office, she is looking for a change of pace. Perhaps even a change in career and place to live, so she takes some time off of work and heads to visit her brother, Jessie who lives in St. Dennis to spend some time getting a different perspective on what to do next and to spend time with him before his wedding to Brooke.

    Jesse tries to convince Sophie to join the family law firm Enright and Enright who have been practicing law in St. Dennis as far back as any of them can remember. With her uncle and grandfather having retired, Jesse has more than enough cases for her to join the firm.Only she's not sure if she wants to continue in law or try something else, like running a diner, if she can find a building she can rent that is affordable, something she has always LOVED doing since she spent her summers working as a short order cook, but Jesse thinks she's crazy to try anything like that. However when an abandoned piece of property that used to be a former restaurant comes on the market, perhaps Sophie's dreams are just beginning to fall in place after all.

    I received At River's Edge by Mariah Stewart compliments of TLC Book Tours and Ballantine Books for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. It's hard not to rush through this book because you just want redemption of some sort for Sophie after everything she has gone through with Chris, that you are turning pages as fast as you can. Yet at the same time, the story is so good you don't want it to end. Ah power struggle until the next book comes out in the Spring of 2014. There are such a host of secondary characters like the mysterious ghost of Rose, Sophie's grandmother that died twenty years ago that still frequents the house her grandfather lives in alone. Her fragrance of gardenia's is always present when she is near even though no gardenias are present in the house or in the garden, and it provides a sense of lasting romance that carries over from Sophie's grandparents and hoping that she, too can find love that transcends the passage of time like they have. A poignant love story of what all romance is about and just in time for Valentine's Day. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars. I can't wait for On Sunset Beach in the Spring! A must read for romantics at heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Another great story!

    Once again, a fantastic read. I love this series, along with the others I have read. Can not wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Goldenfire

    Hello leperdfur. I have posted my bio at res 6

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Lepardfur

    Hey all may join yes u can be her! She is one of my favs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Silverstream.....

    Can i be her?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Willowshine?

    ((Could I be Willowshine?))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Five stars plus for Mariah Stewart's At the River's Edge

    Review: Five stars plus for Mariah Stewart's At the River's Edge where true love is found through faith, compassion, and forgiveness




    I am counting my blessings today. One blessing is what I term my reader OCD, an insatiable need to read series in order. When I received At the River's Edge by Mariah Stewart, book seven in her The Chesapeake Diaries series, I knew that I should read books one to six. What I hadn’t counted on was that there were more books from Stewart’s backlist that would elucidate the stories of The Chesapeake Diaries, specifically book two in her Last series, Last Words, which introduces readers to the town of St. Dennis and the characters of Police Chief Gabriel Beck and FBI agent Mia Shields.




    Why am I so happy and feeling blessed that I “had” to read additional books? Because they are just so wonderful! I have been having a Mariah Stewart moment here the past two days, and read not just book two in her Last series, but books one and three as well. I “needed” to know more about the Shields family. Really, I did.




    Now, I’m not going to say that you have to read any other books to enjoy At the River's Edge, book seven in Stewart’s The Chesapeake Diaries series. You really don’t have to as this is a self-contained novel. But may I strongly encourage you to do so? This is an author and series that you will want keep on your permanent book shelf for years to come. She’s created a true family, characters, and community that you’ll fall in love with too and I know you’ll want to follow their stories as I do. In fact, I’ll be searching out both her Enright Family series and other books that relate to the characters of St. Dennis.




    At the River's Edge is the story of Sophie Enright. sister of lawyer Jesse, and Jason Bower, brother-in-law of Brooke. (Brooke and Jason’s story isis told in book four, Hometown Girl.)




    Sophie, who is a prosecuting attorney in the Ohio town where she and Jesse grew up, discovers that her long-time boyfriend is cheating on her. Not only is he cheating on her, but he’s one of her colleagues at work and is doing the deed with the “office skank.” To clear her head, she makes the decision to visit Jesse and her grandfather Enright in St. Dennis and takes a week vacation from her job. While there, she discovers a special location that might be the outlet for a longterm dream of hers - a restaurant.




    Jason, who moved to St. Dennis after dissolving the Florida landscaping business he and his deceased brother founded, has just purchased part of his dream location, permanently locating his new landscaping business in St. Dennis. But he has his eye on a neglected property next door and is doing everything he can to purchase it to make his dream of a nursery garden retail location a reality.




    When Sophie and Jason encounter one another during this week-long visit, sparks begin to fly, but they’re a bit muted as neither one is serious about starting anything from a distance. What happens next? Will either of their dreams come true? Will those sparks be turned into flames and something lasting? Oh, you’ll just have to read At the River's Edge to find out!




    I love the way Stewart intertwines all the characters from the previous three books - as well as bringing in other characters like the Enrights (Jesse and Sophie’s half sisters and brothers) whose stories are contained in Stewart’s The Enright Family Collection: Devlin's Light, Moon Dance, and Wonderful You. In addition, there's a special treat as at the end of the book, Stewart shares some of the heirloom St. Dennis recipes she described with such mouth-watering success in At the River's Edge.




    For me it’s a bit like Christmas to find an author who can convey the sense of “knowing” that Stewart does in her stories. With each book I read, I felt more and more as though I could plug coordinates into my GPS and set my car south towards the Eastern Shore of Maryland to arrive at St. Dennis. 




    Yes, I’m ready to “Discover St. Dennis,” grab a coffee at Cuppachino's, a dress or bag at Bling, stroll with a cone from Scoops, grab my favorite other sweet treat at Cupcake, and have breakfast or lunch at Blossoms, while spending my night at The Inn. Stewart has made me, as a reader, feel invested in her stories and her characters in a way that can only be said to be remarkable. So, I highly recommend that you add her books, if they are not already there, to your must-read list. They are just fabulous stories that are filled with true romance, humor, compassion, and life - real honest to goodness daily life.




    I’m awarding five stars to Mariah Stewart’s moving, beautiful romance At the River's Edge, that is a lesson in love, trust, true compassion, and faith.




    In addition, five stars are awarded to the entire Chesapeake Diaries series that should be added to your permanent must-read list. 




    Each book in this series is a gem! Make sure to mark your calendars (I’ve marked mine) for 1 July 2014, when book eight On Sunset Beach will be released. I’ve been waiting for Grace’s son Ford’s story for a while and am happy to know that art dealer Carly will be returning to St. Dennis too. (Now, to know more about them, please read the series!)







    I received an eARC from the publisher through NetGalley for use in this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1