Customer Reviews for

Atheism: The Case Against God

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Reassuring!

I have always felt strange about theism. Something has not been right about it. With this fascinating book, I´m finally coming to my senses. I work in health-care and I have always asked myself how does god allow so much suffering and pain?. The answer is quite simple: ...
I have always felt strange about theism. Something has not been right about it. With this fascinating book, I´m finally coming to my senses. I work in health-care and I have always asked myself how does god allow so much suffering and pain?. The answer is quite simple: suffering exists and if god doesn´t know about it, he cannot be omniscient. If god knows about suffering but is not able to make changes, he cannot be omnipotent. And if god is well aware of the suffering and choses not to intervene, than he cannot be omnibenevolent. If the above characteristics of god are true, he cannot be a god (nor a superhuman being), and therefore it is logical to infere that such a being cannot exist! In any case, I don´t want to beleive in a supreme being that allows so much suffering and evil in the world. Until proven otherwise, I´ll remain being a non believer!

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

completely unconvincing

If one is to search for truth in hopes of even finding it, one must put claims to the test of opposing arguments and evidence. Smith presents arguments against theism, but does not argue against hardly any of the objections and then claims 'truth'. Take his first argum...
If one is to search for truth in hopes of even finding it, one must put claims to the test of opposing arguments and evidence. Smith presents arguments against theism, but does not argue against hardly any of the objections and then claims 'truth'. Take his first argument against God. Smith claims that for anything to have meaning it must have a limitation. The only way a thing can have being is if it is limited. Note what the implications are of this. It means that words such as infinity, limitless and so on are either self contradictions or meaningless on further analysis. Smith argues the latter because the former is false on its face. Philosphers have known that something cannot come from nothing, because it is an evident contradiction. If no God created the universe, then it must be eternal. But eternal implies infinity. What Smith is implying then is that the eternal must be limited to fit his arguments for meaning. Its either this or the universe came from nothing. His argument is full of absurdities and is nothing more than verbal juggling. He then analyzes the negative traits of God such as immutable, ineffable, and others and and writes that since they describe what God is not, God therefore doesnt exist. This is the same as saying that if a horse is not a man, a lion or a mouse therefore the horse doesnt exist! It seems there is no such thing as deductive logic either. Since deductive logic tries to find what a thing is by eliminating what it is not. These are only a few of the numerous fallacies in this book. It is unconvincing at the very least. Although it is unrelated to the arguments about Gods existance, I suggest the interested reader go through the book Economics in one lesson by Hazlitt. He shows how to reason well and especially shows how logic is also the science of tracing the implications of arguments. Smiths book could use a lesson in that.

posted by Anonymous on September 18, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    terrible

    god is real and he loves you

    2 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    The Atheists Need Sartre Back

    Wow, i couldent beleive the praise givin to this book by so many people who seemed so reassured in their own intelegiance. Smith attacks evil, and why suffering disproves God, but he dosen't go back far enough, ok suffering seems wrong, is that objectively wrong? if so then there is a God, because if there are absolute morals then there must be an eternal mind to think them(sort of a play on a fameous line by Sartre), if suffering is not objectivily wrong, then Smiths' feelings are totally subjective, how can you argue aghinst an objective being with subjective feelings, these feelings are not meaningfull in the least to an argument. You can not objectively demonstrate chocolate ice cream is better than Vanilla(at least not sereously), because that is subjective feelings, and thus has no standing in the objective(which God is presupposing he exists). If these are some of the greatest arguments aghinst theism, then i'm feeling very comftoriable in my faith. I don't want to ramble, but looking back it seems like atheists give excuses for not beleiving in God, rather than disproving Him. If you realy want to read profound thought read anything by Joseph Ratzinger(the current Pope), or Fyodor Dostoevsky

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    Atheism: The Case against God

    So, how does believing in nothing make one happy? It would make me feel rather alone. Also, how did the 'big bang' happen when nothing was there to explode? (That is generally what atheists believe, correct?) No amount of logic and science can answer that.

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    Atheism: The Case against God

    God created free will. That's the reason for evil. Why did God create free will? So that it would not be forced love, but willing love. Love is not love if it is not a choise. Christianity is a relationship, not a religion.

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    completely unconvincing

    If one is to search for truth in hopes of even finding it, one must put claims to the test of opposing arguments and evidence. Smith presents arguments against theism, but does not argue against hardly any of the objections and then claims 'truth'. Take his first argument against God. Smith claims that for anything to have meaning it must have a limitation. The only way a thing can have being is if it is limited. Note what the implications are of this. It means that words such as infinity, limitless and so on are either self contradictions or meaningless on further analysis. Smith argues the latter because the former is false on its face. Philosphers have known that something cannot come from nothing, because it is an evident contradiction. If no God created the universe, then it must be eternal. But eternal implies infinity. What Smith is implying then is that the eternal must be limited to fit his arguments for meaning. Its either this or the universe came from nothing. His argument is full of absurdities and is nothing more than verbal juggling. He then analyzes the negative traits of God such as immutable, ineffable, and others and and writes that since they describe what God is not, God therefore doesnt exist. This is the same as saying that if a horse is not a man, a lion or a mouse therefore the horse doesnt exist! It seems there is no such thing as deductive logic either. Since deductive logic tries to find what a thing is by eliminating what it is not. These are only a few of the numerous fallacies in this book. It is unconvincing at the very least. Although it is unrelated to the arguments about Gods existance, I suggest the interested reader go through the book Economics in one lesson by Hazlitt. He shows how to reason well and especially shows how logic is also the science of tracing the implications of arguments. Smiths book could use a lesson in that.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No proof book

    There is a god and he is omnipresent and omnipitent all the proof is there

    1 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2006

    You people are like sheep

    God is a parent, and we are his children. Do you indulge your child, let him have his way, shelter him from any harm, so that his knees will not callous from falls, or learn the virtue of patience? This place we live in is called earth, not heaven. That is why there is pain and suffering. But there is also joy. You people are selfish though. You only see what is wrong, and will never look at the bright side.

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2005

    Amazing.

    The conclusion of the book is that theism generally makes people unhappy? Wow. So the basic arguement of this book would be 'Atheism is better because it makes you happier,' right? Since when did it become a good idea to just do something because it makes you feel good? If I run into the middle of the road and a truck is coming toward me, it would make me feel better if I stopped believing in the truck. But should I? Of course not!

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2004

    very poor arguments for atheism

    I read this book a while back,because I wanted to read the arguments against the theistic position. The arguments seem to be put together well, but as every philospher knows they should stand up to criticism. These arguments dont pass any tests. Since the previous reviewer criticizes the excellent points made by another reviewer, lets begin with that. Smith claims that the definition of God is undefined. If this is so then how can it be self contradictory according to the previous reviewer? A contradiction suggests something is defined. It looks like the poor reviewer below is the one who is really confused. This book contains so many logical fallacies and howlers that I dont know where to start. What the reviewer below is referring to by implications is really inferences used in inductive logic. If one uses inductive and deductive logic the book can be torn apart argument by argument rendering it incoherent. Lets look at a few examples. Later in the book Smith argues that God cannot exist, because there is a contradiction between God being all good and the existance of evil. Nowhere is it said that if God is all good, he must also be all just. Doesnt justice mean the reward of good and the punishment of evil? To Smith evil cant exist at all, even as a lesser good as Thomas Aquanis so brilliantly showed. Take another logical mistake. Smith argues that Gods existance is even unnecessary. He writes that existance is eternal. God doesnt create anything. What is this eternal existance then? What is an eternal and thus infinite reality if not God? Here Smith commits the fallacy of distinction without a difference. The book is littered with fallacies and contradictions. I almost gave the book away, but kept it to look at the skeptical side of the God debate. I could not find better arguments against Gods existance other than this book, and I have looked through many atheist books. The previous reviewer is right- the book is unconvincing to say the least.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1