Customer Reviews for

Atheism: The Case Against God

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Reassuring!

I have always felt strange about theism. Something has not been right about it. With this fascinating book, I´m finally coming to my senses. I work in health-care and I have always asked myself how does god allow so much suffering and pain?. The answer is quite simple: ...
I have always felt strange about theism. Something has not been right about it. With this fascinating book, I´m finally coming to my senses. I work in health-care and I have always asked myself how does god allow so much suffering and pain?. The answer is quite simple: suffering exists and if god doesn´t know about it, he cannot be omniscient. If god knows about suffering but is not able to make changes, he cannot be omnipotent. And if god is well aware of the suffering and choses not to intervene, than he cannot be omnibenevolent. If the above characteristics of god are true, he cannot be a god (nor a superhuman being), and therefore it is logical to infere that such a being cannot exist! In any case, I don´t want to beleive in a supreme being that allows so much suffering and evil in the world. Until proven otherwise, I´ll remain being a non believer!

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

terrible

god is real and he loves you

posted by 7370149 on March 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Reassuring!

    I have always felt strange about theism. Something has not been right about it. With this fascinating book, I´m finally coming to my senses. I work in health-care and I have always asked myself how does god allow so much suffering and pain?. The answer is quite simple: suffering exists and if god doesn´t know about it, he cannot be omniscient. If god knows about suffering but is not able to make changes, he cannot be omnipotent. And if god is well aware of the suffering and choses not to intervene, than he cannot be omnibenevolent. If the above characteristics of god are true, he cannot be a god (nor a superhuman being), and therefore it is logical to infere that such a being cannot exist! In any case, I don´t want to beleive in a supreme being that allows so much suffering and evil in the world. Until proven otherwise, I´ll remain being a non believer!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Good intro

    This book is a decent introduction to atheistic arguments. Not too complex for the layperson and very concise. If you are considering atheism or just want to know more about it, this is a great place to start.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    While looking for a book to buy I ran across this one. At first

    While looking for a book to buy I ran across this one. At first I was reluctant to purchase it because of the 9 people that gave it a one star. After looking into the written reviews from the one star reviewers, I discovered that they rated it so poorly because of their own personal beliefs. Their opinion did not have anything to do with the author's writing style or quality. "God is real" is not what I would consider a reliable book review; therefore, I bought the book and rate it a 5. Pathetic!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Deconvert with smiths book

    In short, this is what made me into an atheist

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Cogent Defense of Atheism and Critique of Theism

    This book is one of the finest defenses of Atheism and crtiques of theism I have ever read. Mr. Smith covers territory ranging from the problems of defintions in relation to the concept of God to the realm of Meta Ethics. He truly demonstrates, with logic and evidence, the irrationality of believing in God and/or the supernatural. He examines many of the arguments Theists and Theologians make in defense of God and deconstructs them masterfully. He also makes the case for a happy and fulfilling life without recourse to the supernatural.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Very Important Book in it's Field.

    On a plane flight back from out west, the gentleman next to me revealed that he was a Professor at the Harvard School of Divinity, after having seen the above book on my lap. He remarked that he was well aware of the book and had reccomended it to many of his colleagues. He said, Smith offers one of the fairest analysis of the theist position that he has ever read. He noted that Smith points out current major problems with defining god as an issue of delimiting their god--boundaries theism is not willing to impose. If a professor of Theism has nothing but good things to say about the book--it is definitely a must read.
    I think Smith's Book is one of the best epistemological and logical dissections of theism that has ever been written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    Atheism: The Case against God

    What a liberating book! Tired of being shackled to your preconceptions? Do you wish to de-programme the 'knowledge' that was force-fed to you at a time when you could not rationally and logically cooperate? This book is a great start! This book shows how the crutch of religion is not only harmful, but the source of mental pain and misery. The crutch of religion cannot be kicked away from the theist. First what needs to be demonstrated is that humans do not need this hindering and illogical crutch. This book does that and then some. Read and re-read (then re-read) this book. It'll pay you back in dividends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2007

    Air-tight arguments against belief

    George Smith unceremoniously goes about dissembling religion in this lucid, excellent book. He provides the proper definition for one who describes him/herself as an atheist (it means one has rejected theism) and dismantles each argument for a supernatural power. Highly recommended reading for anyone open-mined enough to consider the follies of organized religion. Dry reading at times, but more than made up for by his debate skills. Personally, I'll take this title over any of the more recent publications on atheism (The God Delusion, God is Not Great, Letter to a Christian Nation, etc.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    excellent

    well written thought provoking full of reason all in all an outstading addition to the library of any free thinking individual.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Using religion as a crutch

    Big Bang: All mass that exists today has always existed. It was spread out in an incredibly vast space and eventually massed into a single point at the center of our universe and exploded. The mass spread out (and is still spreading) into what we know as the universe today. There is a ton of evidence that this theory is correct, so research it some before you refute this. Plus, Atheism is not a lonely belief (There are billions of people on this earth, why should you ever feel alone?). Atheists will tend to put a huge emphasis on life before death. Life is what you make it, purpose is what you make it. Do not isolate yourself from the beauty of this life by focusing on what comes after it (Which I believe to be nothing).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    Oh Please.....

    Did any of you who are writing about free will actually read the book? If god is omniscient (meaning he knows everything) than he sent us to the world with 'free will' knowing what we were going to do with it. In terms he knew that serial killers were going to kill innocent people in brutal ways, he knew innocent people would get raped, etc. In these terms he sent down people knowing what they were going to do to innocent people. So...how does that make him omnibenevolent?....It doesn't. Which strikes up a contradiction...which in terms proves non-existence. I have a whole page of contradictions of the description of god if you need any. -Shayler-

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    Atheism: The Case against God

    Tired of being shackled to your preconceptions? Have you yet to dismantle the abstractions that run your life? Abstractions that were formed when your brain could not rationally cooperate. This book could provide the foundation for achieving this. Mr. Smith starts with what atheism is and isn't, what theism is and isn't, and concludes with the concept that theism, often times, facilitates with overall unhappiness and low self-esteem. A wonderfully written book for anyone who is interested in learning about the myths of theism, the commonly used fallacious arguments used by theologians, and the desparate attempt to make sense of the Christian God by withdrawing into agnosticism. Reading this might (or might not) lead you into what I like to call 'true morality.' Morality based on what's condusive to human beings. Not morality based on the reward of heaven and the threat of hell (which is not morality at all). Recommended to all logic and reason wielding humans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    Oh My ???

    Originally born a Moslem, I always knew many aspects of my wonderful religion were illogical. I also despised those who ignorantly took its sound teachings to hidious extremes. Now, firmly an atheist, partly thanks to Mr. Smith, I still hope that people of all faiths embrace the good, abandon the bad and disregard the questionable in their religious doctrines, and forsake the political undertones of religion for a less selfish goal: world peace.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2014

    A very well argued book that gives precise and clear definitions

    A very well argued book that gives precise and clear definitions of the issues and positions in question. One issue in particular is the word atheism. Many theists 
    seem unable to accept that at a minimum atheism simply means the lack of belief in a god or gods. Although the author goes on to give 
    a more robust argument, stepping into the space of actually arguing against the existence of the Christian god, being an atheist does not mean 
    you are claiming there are no gods or god. It means you do not accept the god claims of theist. Despite this distinction between the different types 
    of atheism, many believers still cannot come to terms with these different positions.
    Whether one os a believer or non believer this book adds significantly
    to the discussion.  Theist should read this book to get a clear understanding of what atheism is. 

    Personally, I would like to see a book on atheist/ theist etiquette. For example, I would like to have a discussion on how to excuse
    myself from religious prayers and rituals at parties, dinners, and other events, without offending people. The few times I have attempted
     it, people assumed I wanted to start an argument. It is clear that the number of atheist is rising quickly and sharply, but we still all have to live together,
    share this planet, craft intelligent policy, and enjoy a sensible society. 
    Anyway, great book!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    To : No proof book

    And that proof is?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    One of the top 5

    This is in the top 5 of best books ever written on the subject

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    An outstanding work

    Proving conclusively that God does not exist may be impossible but Smith nearly accomplishes the feat. With this book George H. Smith has helped me complete my transformation from a fundamentalist Christian to a liberated atheist. <BR><BR> Atheism: The Case against God covers much of the same ground as I have in my 6 year journey but adds new insights and explores areas I had never considered. I wish I had found this book years ago. <BR><BR> Please ignore the review below entitled ¿completely unconvincing.¿ The reviewer clearly did not understand much of this book. His statement that ¿[Smith] then analyzes the negative traits of God such as immutable, ineffable, and others and writes that since they describe what God is not, God therefore doesn't exist¿ is all wrong. The reviewer is so confused about Smith¿s limitation arguments that I don't even know where to begin refuting him. <BR><BR> The point of that whole section of the book is that the standard definition of God is self-contradictory and doesn't actually define anything. The conclusion of that section is not ¿God does not exist¿ but that the definition of God is undefined. Although Smith then elaborates on the foolishness of believing in something you can't define, this in itself is not Smith¿s argument against God; it's just one piece of a much larger running argument. <BR><BR> If this poor reviewer was so terribly confused so early into the book, one wonders if he was even able to finish reading it; which is a pity because Smith¿s final words are perfection. <BR><BR> Buy this book. Read it. If you¿re an atheist it will affirm your disbelief. If you¿re a theist it will plant large seeds of doubt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    Profound...life changing book...a must read for all theists!

    Yes, this book has changed my life...in a very positive way. So, I would recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about the topic. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to: a. learn about what atheism is and b. begin the deprogramming/deconversion process from revealed religion. If you are a 'ignorance is bliss,' 'god fearing' person then you might not want to read this book because you will probably find yourself agreeing with the author and begin to question the logic of your revealed religion. I realize that it is a sin to even question the supreme being's existance; however, it is a necessary for your well being to see the other point of view. The only negative is that there are a few chapters that delve deeply into philosophy; however, I do understand how to two topics relate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2003

    Rational Thinking at its best

    Thoroughly brilliant in its rational arguments. A must for students of theology and/or Philosophy in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2001

    A book that will OPEN your MIND!

    A very critical look at the many forms of theism, as well as an excellent explanation of what an atheist is and why they're not just bitter theists who are angry at the gods, but instead explains the nature of belief and why the atheist rejects these reasons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2