Customer Reviews for

Atheist Universe: The Thinking Person's Answer to Christian Fundamentalism

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Best Atheist Book in 50 Years!

Not since Bertrand Russell's historic volume half a century ago have I read such an on-target, direct bull's-eye piercing Christian mythology. Atheist Universe says what every freethinker knows but lacks the eloquence and technical knowledge to successfully articulate. ...
Not since Bertrand Russell's historic volume half a century ago have I read such an on-target, direct bull's-eye piercing Christian mythology. Atheist Universe says what every freethinker knows but lacks the eloquence and technical knowledge to successfully articulate. The book is supremely well-written and pristine in logic -- contrary to the misquotes and distortions of Christian and 'professional' reviewers who are themselves enslaved by religion. There are eleven independent chapters, each of which would make a devastating attack on mysticism by itself. Taken together, however, the book provides evidence lambasting the God myth unlike any other atheist book in my memory. No wonder Dawkins quotes from it extensively in The God Delusion. In ways, it is superior even to Russell's work because this book contains up-to-date science rebutting the newest nonsense of the Intelligent Design and Creationist movements. By the author's own account, he required over three years to write this volume. His focus on meticulous detail truly shows throughout the book. Chapter 1, 'Interview with an Atheist,' is, in my opinion, the single best defense of the atheist philosophy available in print today. This book is scholarly yet friendly and popular in tone. It is easy to read but leaves the reader satisfied intellectually. I learned a great deal from this book, even though I previously considered myself quite knowledgeable on the subject of science-versus-religion. This book is a fascinating and enjoyable course in rationalism, science, logic, good humor, and clear thinking. Lucas Johnston

posted by Anonymous on January 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

A challenge to all freethinking individuals

I am not writing this review to start an argument¿I¿m not looking for a fight. I have better things to do in life than to look for disagreements. I would like to help people recognize that this is one of the greatest issues of our time¿God is or He is not. This book ...
I am not writing this review to start an argument¿I¿m not looking for a fight. I have better things to do in life than to look for disagreements. I would like to help people recognize that this is one of the greatest issues of our time¿God is or He is not. This book makes a case that He is not and from what I have seen so far all of the reviewers of this book agree with Mills. What can happen with books like this is that you end up getting the opinion of one persons philosophical bent which can end up making absolutely no difference in your life at all. As open minded and freethinking people we must be honest with ourselves and understand that there is intellectual material available for both sides on the issue. Anyone who thinks that he has either accepted it or rejected it purely for intellectual reasons betrays a prejudice and a lack of understand of the subject. There have been giants (people much smarter than David Mils) in their thinking capacities who have been skeptics and there have been giants (much smarter than myself) who have been believers committed to the Christian perspective. This book needs to have the subtitle renamed from ¿The Thinking Person¿s Answer to Christian Fundamentalism¿ to ¿Telling Atheist¿s What They Want to Hear¿. There is not as much thinking and open mindedness here as the David Mills and the other reviewers would like you to believe. This text here is just faith placed in science instead of Christianity. Using Mills¿ propagandistic techniques we should call his religion ¿The Science Cult¿. He throws around the words ¿fact¿, ¿proof¿ and ¿evidence¿ in places where he knows truthfully that the issues are not that black and white. Mills does a good job of pointing out the blunders of man acting in the name of Christianity and there are many because we humans to such a great job of messing thing up. A warning to the wise, be careful when slinging mud, you end up getting your hands dirty while loosing a lot of ground. Atheism has its blunders in human history too! As stated above there are intellectual giants on both sides of the issue. There are intellectual atheists and there are intellectual theists. There are closed minded (believe-everything-they-hear) Atheist as well as Christians. There are scientists as well as Christians that will invent facts and contradict themselves to arrive at their preconceived conclusions (ref: Dorian Sagan quote in the preface where he points his finger at fundamentalists forgetting the three fingers that are pointing back at the Atheist(s)) I give this book four stars for an attempt at giving thinking people answers but then take away all four stars for unfulfilling this promise. There is so much conjecture here that it would take me pages and pages to point out the mess that has been made. Here is one true statement that Mills has made ¿¿most Christians know next to nothing about the Bible which they carry¿¿ David, David, David, this is true but it is also very true for Atheists as most know little to nothing about science or the Bible and will believe everything they hear or read. Here¿s a challenge to all freethinking individuals (Atheists and Christians): Don¿t believe everything you read¿Test all things¿your life depends on it.

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    Best Atheist Book in 50 Years!

    Not since Bertrand Russell's historic volume half a century ago have I read such an on-target, direct bull's-eye piercing Christian mythology. Atheist Universe says what every freethinker knows but lacks the eloquence and technical knowledge to successfully articulate. The book is supremely well-written and pristine in logic -- contrary to the misquotes and distortions of Christian and 'professional' reviewers who are themselves enslaved by religion. There are eleven independent chapters, each of which would make a devastating attack on mysticism by itself. Taken together, however, the book provides evidence lambasting the God myth unlike any other atheist book in my memory. No wonder Dawkins quotes from it extensively in The God Delusion. In ways, it is superior even to Russell's work because this book contains up-to-date science rebutting the newest nonsense of the Intelligent Design and Creationist movements. By the author's own account, he required over three years to write this volume. His focus on meticulous detail truly shows throughout the book. Chapter 1, 'Interview with an Atheist,' is, in my opinion, the single best defense of the atheist philosophy available in print today. This book is scholarly yet friendly and popular in tone. It is easy to read but leaves the reader satisfied intellectually. I learned a great deal from this book, even though I previously considered myself quite knowledgeable on the subject of science-versus-religion. This book is a fascinating and enjoyable course in rationalism, science, logic, good humor, and clear thinking. Lucas Johnston

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    An Exemplary Piece of Work

    With Atheist Universe, David Mills does a masterful job of debunking the God myth, particularly with respect to Christianity. I was circling and highlighting passages throughout, knowing that I could use the information in future debates and discussions. The first hundred or so pages, largely comprised of 'Interview with an Atheist,' feature some of the most convincing arguments yet put forth for atheism. I truly learned new things, and looked at things I already knew in a fundamentally different way. The following chapters explored the same ideas, but in much more depth. Again, the book consistently was a valuable educational resource, teaching me new things with every turn of the page. Mills makes several points abundantly clear: * Genesis and science are wholly incompatible. * Citing the intervention of God, in order to explain that which we don't yet understand, has reliably delayed our discovery of true explanations. * The supernatural need not be invoked to explain anything about the world in which we live. * Evolution is essentially a fact, while creationism and all its mutations are unscientific and fundamentally misinformed. * Jesus' historical existence is doubtful, at best! Rarely do I rave about a book. This one deserves its praise. Bravo, Mr. Mills! I'm a better atheist for having read Atheist Universe

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    Interesting Book

    David Mills's book was excellent. He covered a number of different topics with clarity and wit. His arguments were sound and well founded. I particularly enjoyed the chapter on the intelligent design cult whose adherents try to pass their doctrines off as Science. I recommend this book all free thinkers whether theistic or not. Good job Mr. Mills!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2007

    A challenge to all freethinking individuals

    I am not writing this review to start an argument¿I¿m not looking for a fight. I have better things to do in life than to look for disagreements. I would like to help people recognize that this is one of the greatest issues of our time¿God is or He is not. This book makes a case that He is not and from what I have seen so far all of the reviewers of this book agree with Mills. What can happen with books like this is that you end up getting the opinion of one persons philosophical bent which can end up making absolutely no difference in your life at all. As open minded and freethinking people we must be honest with ourselves and understand that there is intellectual material available for both sides on the issue. Anyone who thinks that he has either accepted it or rejected it purely for intellectual reasons betrays a prejudice and a lack of understand of the subject. There have been giants (people much smarter than David Mils) in their thinking capacities who have been skeptics and there have been giants (much smarter than myself) who have been believers committed to the Christian perspective. This book needs to have the subtitle renamed from ¿The Thinking Person¿s Answer to Christian Fundamentalism¿ to ¿Telling Atheist¿s What They Want to Hear¿. There is not as much thinking and open mindedness here as the David Mills and the other reviewers would like you to believe. This text here is just faith placed in science instead of Christianity. Using Mills¿ propagandistic techniques we should call his religion ¿The Science Cult¿. He throws around the words ¿fact¿, ¿proof¿ and ¿evidence¿ in places where he knows truthfully that the issues are not that black and white. Mills does a good job of pointing out the blunders of man acting in the name of Christianity and there are many because we humans to such a great job of messing thing up. A warning to the wise, be careful when slinging mud, you end up getting your hands dirty while loosing a lot of ground. Atheism has its blunders in human history too! As stated above there are intellectual giants on both sides of the issue. There are intellectual atheists and there are intellectual theists. There are closed minded (believe-everything-they-hear) Atheist as well as Christians. There are scientists as well as Christians that will invent facts and contradict themselves to arrive at their preconceived conclusions (ref: Dorian Sagan quote in the preface where he points his finger at fundamentalists forgetting the three fingers that are pointing back at the Atheist(s)) I give this book four stars for an attempt at giving thinking people answers but then take away all four stars for unfulfilling this promise. There is so much conjecture here that it would take me pages and pages to point out the mess that has been made. Here is one true statement that Mills has made ¿¿most Christians know next to nothing about the Bible which they carry¿¿ David, David, David, this is true but it is also very true for Atheists as most know little to nothing about science or the Bible and will believe everything they hear or read. Here¿s a challenge to all freethinking individuals (Atheists and Christians): Don¿t believe everything you read¿Test all things¿your life depends on it.

    5 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    An Excellent Book.

    The impression this book left me with, is one of satisfaction. Finally, I have been able to read a book that will help me use some of the key points from this book in order to distinguish between atheism that bashes religion for no good reason and atheism that strives to make people think and look at things from a more scientific point of view without ridiculing and harming anyone or anything in the process. I feel like this book has made me smarter, wiser, and actually more respectful to religion as well as to atheism. I would recommend this book to anyone that wants to gain knowledge about religion, the problems it has, and the way we can illustrate the answers to those problems by using intellectual thinking and critical knowledge.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    'God' IS a Delusion!

    David Mills is right on the mark and never misses a single beat. Those who dismiss this book and our arguments against religion by saying that the facts are on their side are sorely mistaken. These people just don't get it. I hope that the world will be free of religion in my lifetime. Bravo, Mr. Mills!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    Finally a book for free thinkers in Lay-mans terms!

    I've read a few books dealing with atheism and other religious and non religious books and this is easily the best one for several reasons. In other books when the author quotes someone else from history they leave it at that leaving you to wonder who is that guy? David Mills in this book very briefly tells you why this person is being quoted. Mr. Mills has a way of coming off smart and authoritative with out using big fancy words. As you read it you can tell the Mr. Mills as a sense of humor, not that im saying the book is funny, but when making an important point or arguing against stupidity you can just pick it up. He argues alot of the big questions like the age of earth, the existence of hell, not just the existence of god its self and like I said before he uses words and dialouge that anyone can understand. Another thing about this book as well as others dealing with this subject matter, is that you don't have to be an atheist to get through it. He tries to point out both sides af arguments but obviously science ends up on top (as it should) most times!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Great Book, Easy to follow arguments

    This book is a great primer for anyone interested in understanding atheism and it's problems with Fundamentalists, Creationists, ID proponents, science-deniers and other literalists.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2007

    Mass/energy never needed a 'Creator' E=mc2

    To have 'faith' in the ability of determining truth from intelligent examination easily duplicated, is not the same as having 'faith' in exorbitant, or preposterous assertions that cannot be supported by any 'proven' physical, or historical phenomena!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    wonderful book

    I would highly recommend this book to both the religious and non religious.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Great book

    This book was a good reed. it's very straight forward with out being rude about it. I recommend reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    God should teach you

    How to spell. Your comment was atrocious.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Tsk tsk

    Im currently in a self battle between what i believe and was hoping this book could help. But im looking for FACTS, not theories and conjectures. I want a book that doesnt bash or try to "disprove" someone elses ideas, a book that will show me the truth. This was not that book. I give the author two stars for trying, and a great lead in, but the content difnt cut it for me.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    Faith has no use for facts

    I read once in the science fiction series the horus heresy that faith in any thing has its power in the premise that it needs no facts to substantiate or verify it funny thing this is not a new idea it comes both from early religious doctrine and early philosphers of logic just rrad this with an open mind and respect diversity in all forms in the final analysis who is right or wrong doesnt really matter the truth will always prevail

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2