Customer Reviews for

Athletic Shorts: Six Short Stories

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    I recently finished Athletic Shorts by Chris Crutcher. This was

    I recently finished Athletic Shorts by Chris Crutcher. This was a very cool and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys short stories. Although this seems like its all about sports, it is not. There is a good story behind each short story! Although each story is different I found them all to be very good. The best part of the book is the fact that although this is fiction, Crutcher does a very good job making it seem like this is happening right before your eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    Athletic Shorts

    I am reviewing the book Athletic Shorts¿ ¿A Brief Moment in the Life of Angus Bethune¿, by Chris Crutcher; I think Crutcher¿s purpose in writing this book was to have a few short stories that are like his other books. He also states, that in his other books he lets the reader choose how the story ends. The short stories in this book are about people and what happened to them before or after the book was written. I think the Crutcher¿s intended audience is teenagers and the feelings of kids who don¿t fit in and might be overweight or different in some little way. I think the reason he choose this group is to show kid¿s/ teens how the other kids live their lives who might not be as pretty or as skinny as the other teen¿s or as we call them the popular group. The narrator¿s point of view is first person. The person telling the story is Angus. The reason why I feel it¿s important that Angus tells the story is so we can see and feel with great detail what happened;(spoiler alert) like when Angus takes Rick¿s feet out from underneath him and he lands hard on the ground and when he gets on the stage and dances with Melissa. I think Crutcher wanted Angus to be from this time period and his situation is like how teens get treated in school now, unlike how they use to. The whole thing is accurate to real life except one part when the fat kid wins by taking Rick¿s feet out from underneath him and the really hot girl chooses him over her boyfriend and gets chose to be winter ball king the reason why is because most kids would be afraid to try to take on one of the most popular kids in the school and think they would get in trouble or hurt, also they wouldn¿t try to take out the popular kid right in front of their crush or even the pretties girl in the school. The rest of it is accurate to how fat kids or unpopular/ different kids get treated in school and how some people may be different, but know how to stick up for themselves.<BR/>I think I connect most with Angus because I would stick up for my parents if they were that way, but if I had a problem with the most popular kid in school I probably wouldn¿t do the same thing though I would just ignore it and finish enjoying the night like he did. I think that Crutcher was very successful in writing this book; I learned that its not what¿s on the outside that counts it¿s what¿s on the inside. The message he was portraying which was even though some teens may act different don¿t treat them different, because you don¿t know what their home situation is like and they could have a low self esteem and it could potentially backfire on you like it did for Rick and you could loose everything you worked so hard for. Like when Melissa says ¿would you leave with me?¿ to Angus and Rick, Melissa¿s boyfriend gets really mad.<BR/> I would recommend this book to teens so they can know how it feels to be left out or be the one who doesn¿t fit in or gets laughed at all the time. I do agree with Crutcher¿s messages to teens on how discrimination and teasing can harm some teens but other teens it doesn¿t really affect them. This book was very engaging and interesting to me. I think the way Crutcher ends his books is very interesting on how he lets you pick what happens at the end and if it turns out good or bad. I would rate this book a 4 because it was very interesting and made me want to read it more, but I don¿t really like picking my own ending to books and would of liked to know more about what happened to Angus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Mechele R. Dillard for TeensReadToo.com

    In ATHLETIC SHORTS, Chris Crutcher presents original short stories involving characters from his previous novels. In the book's forward, Crutcher explains, "In my travels around the country and in letters from readers, I am constantly asked what happens to certain characters in my books. So once in a while I check in" (pp. ix-x). <BR/><BR/>Each of these short stories involves a central character from a previous novel, but, while Crutcher may have intended a particular story to be a prequel or an afterward, the stories remain independent. So a person who has not read RUNNING LOOSE will still be able to understand the storyline behind IN THE TIME I GET, in which Louie Banks looks into the eyes of a friend dying of AIDS and realizes the value of time. Additionally, after getting a taste of Crutcher's novels through his short stories, readers may well be inspired to go out and acquire the novels themselves. <BR/><BR/>Athletics are the uniting theme throughout these stories, but they also give Crutcher a medium to introduce physical, mental, and emotional challenges for his characters. Sports allow a safe setting for conflict and failure, while also providing a site for characters to achieve and excel. <BR/><BR/>Thumbs Up! Award Winner, 1992

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    From Me

    This was a pretty good book. I could relate to a lot of the stories because of all the sports and all kypes of emotions in it. I recommended it, I liked it and I usually don't read books like this one but it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    a reviewer

    In ATHLETIC SHORTS, Chris Crutcher presents original short stories involving characters from his previous novels. In the book's forward, Crutcher explains, 'In my travels around the country and in letters from readers, I am constantly asked what happens to certain characters in my books. So once in a while I check in' (pp. ix-x). Each of these short stories involves a central character from a previous novel, but, while Crutcher may have intended a particular story to be a prequel or an afterward, the stories remain independent. So a person who has not read RUNNING LOOSE will still be able to understand the storyline behind IN THE TIME I GET, in which Louie Banks looks into the eyes of a friend dying of AIDS and realizes the value of time. Additionally, after getting a taste of Crutcher's novels through his short stories, readers may well be inspired to go out and acquire the novels themselves. Athletics are the uniting theme throughout these stories, but they also give Crutcher a medium to introduce physical, mental, and emotional challenges for his characters. Sports allow a safe setting for conflict and failure, while also providing a site for characters to achieve and excel. Thumbs Up! Award Winner, 1992 **Reviewed by: Mechele R. Dillard

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    a sophomore at Clinton-Massie Highschool

    I enjoyed the book Athletic Shorts by Chris Crutcher. In this book there are six short stories Angus bathon, The Pin, The Other Pin, Telephone Man, and In The Time I Get. Angus was my favorite out of all six of these shories. This story was about a kid named Angus, he was about my age. Angus wasn't very popular and he tries really hard to fit in. He wins winter ball king. Towards the end of the story Angus gets into a fight with Rick. If you were competive in sports, you would be interested in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    I think it was a good book. It had good stories and characters.It had plenty of discription and emotion. It had strong plots and great settings. My favorite character is Pete Shopshire.He is a wrestler that wrestles a girl that he ends up falling in love with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    Athletic Shorts: Six Short Stories

    This was very a good book. I could relate to a lot of these people because they are athletes and so am I. They all have a lot more serious problems than me though. This book shows a lot of the problems with todays youth though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    Athletic shorts Review

    I thought this was a very good book! it did a good job discribing the authors thought beifs and life moments. this book is also a good book if you like themes suck as racism,love freindship,death,and father son relashonships. but my over all opion of this book was pretty good for a short stoy book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    My Thoughts

    This is truly an astounding book. Whether your a jock or the school nerd any one can enjoy this book. It is centered around athletics but it's themes are relevent to everyday life. This book will grip you from the first page. The stories are exciting, funny and very meaningful. The Characters come from all walks of life and are met by very rough circumstances. I would recommend this to High Schoolers, College Students, or any one looking for a good laugh with or a touching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    Athletic Shorts: Six Short Stories

    I thought that this book was pretty good. I really liked 'Goin' Fishin' but i really didn't like 'In the time I get.' I iked how he lived in 'Goin' Fishin' but still thought of his family but eventually forgave the boy that killed his parents. I also really liked 'The Pin' because my parents are very hard on me when it comes to sports and occasionaly i would lke to say this to them. 'Telephone Man' seemed out of place in this book because he had no athletic ability and although he realized being racist may be wrong it was still not a very good story. Angis Bethune was good and i liked how the fat kid got the 'hot' girl of his dreams although his family life was a little to far fetched. 'The Other Pin' was okay but not as good as the other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    this book is great

    This book was really written about todays youth. It relates so much to the things that really go on thorugh out high schools today. It is a great book for the youth of today to read.I even liked it enough to do my senior project on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2000

    Devin-Review

    The first story is called ¿A Brief Moment in the Life of Angus Bethune.¿ I thought this story had a good plot and characters. The author¿s description is easy to visualize. The characters are easy to visualize because the author is good at describing them and focusing on their characteristics. Also I think this book¿s plot is a good one and is very descriptive. The authors writing style is that the main character talks about what happens in his life. I recommend this book so far, considering how much I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1