Customer Reviews for

Atlantis

Average Rating 3
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good Read

This book is a good escape, on a dreary day. There were parts that were a little "hokey". Overall, I like the book. The ending did take me by surprise. I expected them to find one thing and they find the complete opposite, but implications, are huge. Even though t...
This book is a good escape, on a dreary day. There were parts that were a little "hokey". Overall, I like the book. The ending did take me by surprise. I expected them to find one thing and they find the complete opposite, but implications, are huge. Even though this book is fiction, I love the books that make wonder...What if? This did exactly that.

posted by Rena89 on May 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not bad for a first novel although techonologically overwhelming

This is the author's first novel revolving around the search for Atlantis. There is no doubting Dr. Gibbin's educational qualifications and expertise as a diver, but he lets the technological aspects of diving overshadow the literary aspects of his work. However, it's ...
This is the author's first novel revolving around the search for Atlantis. There is no doubting Dr. Gibbin's educational qualifications and expertise as a diver, but he lets the technological aspects of diving overshadow the literary aspects of his work. However, it's still not a bad story and I found it to be both informative and entertaining. He also enlightens us about the disgraceful practices and detrimental effect of the black market on archeological artifacts as well as highlighting the brilliance of the ancients, something we do not fully appreicate. I would recommend you give it a try but be patient.

posted by historyloverAG on January 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    Pretty Good Read

    This book is a good escape, on a dreary day. There were parts that were a little "hokey". Overall, I like the book. The ending did take me by surprise. I expected them to find one thing and they find the complete opposite, but implications, are huge. Even though this book is fiction, I love the books that make wonder...What if? This did exactly that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    almost, but not quite there...

    When I read the synopsis, I was expecting something along the lines of DaVinci Code. This did not happen. I did not even finish this book, and usually as long as I have started one leaving it half way is not something I do. The characters could have been good. The plot was interesting but didn't quite make it...that's what I felt this whole book was, just not quite there. I kept reading on to see if it would pick up but it just didn't happen for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not bad for a first novel although techonologically overwhelming

    This is the author's first novel revolving around the search for Atlantis. There is no doubting Dr. Gibbin's educational qualifications and expertise as a diver, but he lets the technological aspects of diving overshadow the literary aspects of his work. However, it's still not a bad story and I found it to be both informative and entertaining. He also enlightens us about the disgraceful practices and detrimental effect of the black market on archeological artifacts as well as highlighting the brilliance of the ancients, something we do not fully appreicate. I would recommend you give it a try but be patient.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2007

    Great history, lackluster fiction

    I bought this book because every time I walked into a bookstore or an airport, I saw someone reading it. So I was a little surprised to see that more people had not written reviews. Anyway, I have mixed feelings about this book. The book can be dissected into two subparts interesting theories about the existence and origins of Atlantis, and the contrived plot of the art thief/terrorist attempting to seize the protagonist¿s discoveries. This is not a seamless mixing of history and fiction. The theories of the origins of Atlantis that lead to the development of western civilization as we know it are very interesting, and I enjoyed reading Gibbins¿ theories. The fictional chase, however, was lackluster and overdrawn. Gibbins¿ character development is also lacking, but if I had to read another hundred pages developing the characters, I may have not been able to finish the book. This is a perfect example of a book trying fit the mold of the slew of historical fiction that has recently become overwhelmingly popular but lacking the interest and excitement that makes these books popular. I recommend reading this book if you are interested in learning more about the development of the Mediterranean cultures, but be prepared for the long, stretched-out chase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Just plain bad

    Good story. Way to much explanation. Not enough character depth. Read every 3-5 paragraphs, the test is unnecessary. I read a lot of books but don't review many. I highly recommend passing this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    Action packed history lesson

    Gibbins packs a lot of action and historical info into his pages. I learned a lot and found I wanted to know more about this part of the world. You do have to keep your attention on the book though, since he does pack so much in. I am looking forward to reading Crusader Gold next.I do hope he draws his characters in more depth. This is one thing I like about James Rollins. You feel you really know the people of SIGMA force.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Anonymous

    Is this book about atlantis the underwater city

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    it's a miracle!!

    I finished reading this book in a little under 10 hours, and yes, I read it nearly straight through.

    A few observations:

    This book has very interesting theories that make you think about the origins of humanity and if the fabled Atlantis really does exist.

    There were, I felt, a few issues with the book though. One, it spends too much time on analysis and weaponry and not enough time on Atlantis itself. Two, the characters, while I found nothing at fault with them, didn't really seem deep enough for me to feel a connection with them. It was more like they served as vessels to move the plot foward, instead of elements in the plot themselves. Three, I often had trouble with the explanantions. Either there was too much detail, or not enough. The verbiage isn't really important since most of it isn't real anyway, but I usually felt like I just had to let it go and get on with the story. My fourth, and biggest problem was this: every dead-end and - lo and behold! - there's a miraculous piece of equipment or technology to save them in the nick of time! like, 20 times! The plot did start to feel tired after so many life-threatening episodes that were all alleviated in the last split second. A little plot differentiation would have been good!
    On a personal note, I didn't like the ending.

    Overall, enjoyable enough, and can stimulate great conversation if given the chance!

    If you're looking for another thriller, try the Rule of Four or the Historian. If you want to explore another version of the Atlantis tale (completely UN-scientific), try Perlman's Ordeal, or, if battles and treasure hunts are your deal, I highly recommend Cryptonomicon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Escapism

    I bought the first three books because I like series. This creates a better place to escape because you get to know and like the characters. In the case of Atlantis, I enjoyed the teamwork between Jack and Costas. I could almost picture the details of Atlantis through their eyes. This was a great adventure and would make a good "on the edge of your seat" movie. Sometimes the fine details about the guns or a piece of equipment were a bit tedious but I guess it added to the realism the author was trying to create. My mother had open heart surgery and I have spent many hours in waiting rooms and treatment centers. This was a great way to escape the hospital and alot of stress by exploring ATLANTIS with Jack Howard and the team from IMU.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    Dont waste your time

    I don't usually write reviews but I am on chapter 11 of this book and I feel the need to voice my opinion. I was fooled by the cover and description on the back of this book. I read the first few pages and felt like this story was going to be good. Now I am stuck in a world of scientific verbage I don't understand. If you don't have a degree in archeology the book reads like greek. I hate to start a book and not finish it but I am very close to throwing this one in my fire place. The nerve of the cover to compare this work to dan brown. You can't even get into the story. There is no story. Just science and geography. Egh.<BR/>Don't buy it<BR/>Don't bother<BR/>I did not intend to give this book any stars the computer won't let me take the 1 I have away.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    Not Surprising

    Some people said they enjoyed this book but I would not recommend it to anyone with a short attention span. Most people like to pick up a good read and have the character¿s personalities set up and have the plot jump right into motion. Unfortunately this book did not do that. I tried getting in to it for a while but despite myself I could not. I think that if the author had added more descriptive and interesting details or even more action in the beginning then it would have grabbed my attention a little bit more. In the middle of the book just when it started to peak my interest the plot became too predictable. I like to be in suspense and not have it too easy to foreshadow what is going to happen. I do not know how the book ended because I never finished it but in some ways this book was disappointing because after I read the back cover I got excited and intrigued by the plot line, but during the time I was reading the book, nothing new happened and the same problems the characters faced appeared to frequent and too similar to the last issue. I would have liked it if the author was able to keep me on my toes and intrigued by what was happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    dragging

    It started out promising 'as in the first 3 pages' then it evolves into a science and history lecture. Although I love the history part, the science lecture was just too much. I didn't even finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    MY ATTENTION IS NOT EASILY HELD

    I have a very short attention span and so does my son i love the way david tied so many hystorical times and communities to atlantisand also the presorvation of artifacts from the black market this held our attention and it took us each a week to read it it was very hard to put down which made others in my life not to happy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    dont waste your time

    if you are thinking of buying this book dont,besides the fact that it has an attracting cover and name'atlantis'it has nothing to do with what you expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    A decent read

    I found this book to be a decent read. I typically enjoy these types of novels but found this one to contain less action/adventure than I had envisioned. From a historical, theoretical standpoint, the novel was fairly interesting but a little too drawn out. In addition, it was quite predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    A Classic Myth Taken to a New Level

    David Gibbins did a wonderful job with this book. Fantastic research, solid science, and believable, pensive theories lend to this fast paced, Dan Brown-esque historical thriller. Parts of this book will get you thinking about the truth of some well-known facets of history. From the discovery of an ancient scroll, to battles on the high seas, to underwater discoveries of the long lost, this book kept me going from page to page, craving more. I can't wait to pick up his next book, Crusader Gold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3