Customer Reviews for

Atlantis Found (Dirk Pitt Series #15)

Average Rating 4.5
( 237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wild story, great read!

It may not be classical literature, but it sure is a great adventure! I so appreciate having a creative story like this told in a way that is fun, with characters that have been developed and matured over the years. The book is devoid of unnecessary garbage language, wh...
It may not be classical literature, but it sure is a great adventure! I so appreciate having a creative story like this told in a way that is fun, with characters that have been developed and matured over the years. The book is devoid of unnecessary garbage language, which is refreshing. I highly recommend this book or any of the later works by Cussler.

posted by senior_crown on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

James Bond meets Indiana Jones

Well I must say that the beginning of this book is intriguing. Cussler sets up the scenes very well and throws Archaeology a curve ball. But that's where the fun ended for me. After the third chapter it developed into a roll play between characters who resembled a cr...
Well I must say that the beginning of this book is intriguing. Cussler sets up the scenes very well and throws Archaeology a curve ball. But that's where the fun ended for me. After the third chapter it developed into a roll play between characters who resembled a cross between Indiana Jones and James Bond. A light novel with a historical twist....that's about all.

posted by Anonymous on December 23, 1999

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Book

    I love this book but i never finished it. It was a great story from what i had read though. Clive had a great story line, so i recomend this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    Gripping action-adventure at its very best.

    What do you expect when you see the title of this book? Nothing more than a cheesy, simple-minded sci-fi adventure that has been written for the fiftieth time? Nothing could be farther from the truth for this book, one of Cussler's greatest masterpieces. Admittedly, it's farfetched; but then again, a novel was never praised for being feeble. Cussler's beloved knack for superb, nail-biting action is ever present, diluted briefly by scenes stuffed with scientific fact and fiction which is seamlessly intertwined. The plot is endlessly twisting and turning, but ultimately satisfying. Upon discovering various bizarre artifacts of ancient historical mystery, the 'perfect protagonist' Pitt ventures off around the world with his good friend (and fantastic foil) Al Giordino, to unravel a plot which only Cussler's ingenuity could produce. Featuring several exotic locations from the mountains of the Rockies to desolate islands and the ends of the earth.well, that's all I will say about that. Perhaps the best aspect for me as a reader was Pitt's character. Sure, following highly trained MI5 agents would be fun, but travelling with Pitt and Giordino in their 'ordinary' jobs at NUMA (National Underwater and Marine Agency) makes it all the more exciting when you see them discover a bomb set as a booby trap or shoot down a helicopter. Suffice it to say, you will almost get a feeling of pride for these characters when they accomplish such tasks. In my reading experience, such literary ecstasy is unmatched. Lastly, Cussler has yet again forged an array of diverse and enjoyable characters, all of whom have realistic descriptions and influence the story from their own, unique niches. Cussler can introduce new characters in the blink of an eye, which the reader will instantly become accustomed to. Overall, the plot is enjoyable to follow and is of traditional (a.k.a. incredible) Clive Cussler caliber. Cussler enhances the experience by moving outside the box; my favourite example being how he implants himself as a character in every novel-these things are what make his books truly unique. The only negative aspect of this book apparent to me was the sheer level of fiction incorporated into the plot. Most of Cussler's other books push the limits of historical/scientific reality (Trojan Odyssey, for example), but Atlantis Found blows them out of the water. Whilst this is usually an upside for me, the rational implications of what Cussler portrayed were simply too great for me to be as engrossed in this book as I have in his other works. Despite this, the simplistic pleasure obtained from unraveling this crazy yet epic plot is reason enough for anyone who can read to pick up this book. Another work I would recommend.well, probably all of them. If you see a book with this god of historical fiction thriller's name on it, pick it up and give it a read. Overall, this book easily receives a 10/10, as the very few shortcomings are easily overcome by the multitude of characters, enjoyable plot, and superb writing which are characteristic of any Clive Cussler book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    Wild story, great read!

    It may not be classical literature, but it sure is a great adventure! I so appreciate having a creative story like this told in a way that is fun, with characters that have been developed and matured over the years. The book is devoid of unnecessary garbage language, which is refreshing. I highly recommend this book or any of the later works by Cussler.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    AWESOME!!

    WOW!! SO AWESOME! YOU CAN'T BEAT CLIVE CUSSLER AND DIRK PITT!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    This was non stop action I had a hard tme putting my nook down a must read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 1999

    James Bond meets Indiana Jones

    Well I must say that the beginning of this book is intriguing. Cussler sets up the scenes very well and throws Archaeology a curve ball. But that's where the fun ended for me. After the third chapter it developed into a roll play between characters who resembled a cross between Indiana Jones and James Bond. A light novel with a historical twist....that's about all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a waste of time

    WOW this book was horrible the characters were as basic as they come fight scens wernt written with any emotion and when did dirk pitt become chuck norris he is a diver not a supersoldier and the story isnt even about atlantis and the plot was sooooooooooo far fetched don waste your time stay away from this book

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    In just the first 100 pages I was breathless from the never ending excitement and thrilling joy ride. Loved the plot, the characters, the premise of the story- the whole thing. Don't be daunted by the length of the book it's great fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Loved it!

    Great book! I love the mix of action, adventure & history. A page turner, it kept me interested from start to finish. I reaally love this series. Again B&N, please publish all the books for Nook...why only a select few???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Good read

    I usually love Dirk Pitt novels, but this was over the top in terms of the number of times Dirk and friends escaped from the bad guys with just a few bumps and bruises. I know it is fiction, but really? Vehicles that miraculously show-up when they need them on ice and in the water, the rescue (twice) on the high seas...this was way over the top in terms of survival rates - even for Dirk Pitt!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Great Story--Action

    I read the hardcover a long time ago; since I knew it was a great book, I just had to buy the book so that I could always have it--when I first read it, it was through a library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Atlantus found

    Another in the line of excellent Cussler reads. Go for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Amazing book

    One if the best booksni ever read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Awesome

    Could not stop reading

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Glad I hung on and read this one I read Crescent Dawn recently

    Glad I hung on and read this one

    I read Crescent Dawn recently and was rather disappointed in what I believe may have been the sections written by Mr. Cussler’s son, Dirk. Nevertheless that is another thought process . . .

    Atlantis Found however, I finished last night with a smile. This book stayed true to the writing style that I had grown accustomed to when reading Mr. Cussler’s works; a great adventure that hooks you in within the first few pages and keeps a good mix of fact and fiction throughout; making you want to check your history occasionally. Or in my case get out of bed and go look up the Snow Cruiser on the internet . . .

    I’ve noted some reviews mentioning the lack of character development in Mr. Cussler’s books. Having read the majority of the Dirk Pitt series over the last few years I can see where someone who picks up one book in the series would think that. However, take it from those of us who have read the series from start to finish-you’ll find that the characters grow throughout the telling of their life journey through the series. That doesn’t necessarily come out in a one book read.

    In closing; not necessarily a work of art but a great read with lots of excitement along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Cussler has done it again

    I like when Clussler builds the adventure into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    It's a page turner

    Only 1/3 way through - this guy knows how to pull the reader in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Incredible

    If you call yourself a Clive Cussler fan, you have to read this. Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    really enjoyed reading

    Cussler keeps the action going!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Something horrible is planned from antarctica!

    Somebody tries to bring down the world from a hidden operation in antarctica. Very fascinating to read, can only recommend this novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12