Customer Reviews for

Atlantis Rising (Warriors of Poseidon Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A fascinating romantic fantasy

Virginia Beach human empathic Riley Dawson tries to use her gift to help improve the lives of people her need to help is why she became a social worker. However, even Riley is unprepared when she meets the High Prince of Atlantis Conlan. The Warrior of Poseidon is on...
Virginia Beach human empathic Riley Dawson tries to use her gift to help improve the lives of people her need to help is why she became a social worker. However, even Riley is unprepared when she meets the High Prince of Atlantis Conlan. The Warrior of Poseidon is on a mission to recover the missing trident before a war ignites.--------------- He has no time or inclination for the female human though he admits to himself she is attractive. Instead he believes his destiny starts with recovering the trident to save his people from the vampire horde already overwhelming them when they took control of the city. However getting rid of Riley proves more difficult than his quest as she knows he is her soulmate and that she is destined to help him and the Warriors of Poseidon fight the powerful bloodsuckers.------------------ The first Warriors of Poseidon book is a fascinating romantic fantasy that uses vampires and shapeshifters to create a unique vision of Atlantis in which sub-genre fans will want to follow their exploits way down beneath the ocean. The story line is action-packed starting with Conlon¿s return to the capital after a seven plus year exile and never slows down until the final confrontation. The attraction between the lead couple is magnetic, but the hero must choose between forbidden love and duty. Readers will welcome Alyssa Day¿s delightful ATLANTIS RISING.----------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This is a tale of Atlantis and the chosen warriors who protect humankind. Conlan, the High Prince of Atlantis has been held captive and tortured for seven years by Anubisa, a powerful vampire. He has been released from her torture and now he has come home to find the st...
This is a tale of Atlantis and the chosen warriors who protect humankind. Conlan, the High Prince of Atlantis has been held captive and tortured for seven years by Anubisa, a powerful vampire. He has been released from her torture and now he has come home to find the stolen sacred object, Trident. In his quest, he meets Riley Dawson, a social worker and empath, who has just survived a harrowing ordeal with one of her clients and goes to the ocean seeking solace. There she encounters Conlan, who protects her from degenerates on the beach who are about to attack her. The overall story was fairly interesting and I enjoyed the different characters. However, I found some of the dialog to be somewhat sophomoric and it made me cringe more than once. Overall, I am not certain that I would buy the next in the series. This was an Okay book, but it just wasn't great.

posted by Anonymous on May 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    Tantalizing page turner!!

    I know it's untraditional to start a review this way, but I wanted to say that I fully support every fan who wants to support their favorite author. With that being said, I want to add that with all the people in the world, it will always be possible, in fact plausible that more than one person will get the same idea or even set of ideas. It's what you do with those concepts amidst your story that makes it unique! 'After all look at Holy Blood, Holy Grail versus the Da Vinci Code - 2 sets of authors with the same research, yet producing different books'. Atlantis Rising is a fascinating romantic fantasy that tells a great tale of Atlantis with its own twists involving shapeshifters and vampires! Allysa Day does a fabulous ob of crossing genres again! While on a quest to recover the powerful missing Trident, the High Prince of Atlantis comes across the attractive Riley who is a social worker, but more importantly an empath. It is forbidden for a Sentinel of Atlantis to fall in love with a human and he denies the sensations that begin to manifest when he is around Riley. Riley, being an empath, knows he is her soul mate and won¿t let him go without a fight. Crossed between love and duty is their romance doomed for failure or will love conquer all! I was completely drawn into the story. You won¿t want to miss out on this tantalizing fantasy!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fascinating romantic fantasy

    Virginia Beach human empathic Riley Dawson tries to use her gift to help improve the lives of people her need to help is why she became a social worker. However, even Riley is unprepared when she meets the High Prince of Atlantis Conlan. The Warrior of Poseidon is on a mission to recover the missing trident before a war ignites.--------------- He has no time or inclination for the female human though he admits to himself she is attractive. Instead he believes his destiny starts with recovering the trident to save his people from the vampire horde already overwhelming them when they took control of the city. However getting rid of Riley proves more difficult than his quest as she knows he is her soulmate and that she is destined to help him and the Warriors of Poseidon fight the powerful bloodsuckers.------------------ The first Warriors of Poseidon book is a fascinating romantic fantasy that uses vampires and shapeshifters to create a unique vision of Atlantis in which sub-genre fans will want to follow their exploits way down beneath the ocean. The story line is action-packed starting with Conlon¿s return to the capital after a seven plus year exile and never slows down until the final confrontation. The attraction between the lead couple is magnetic, but the hero must choose between forbidden love and duty. Readers will welcome Alyssa Day¿s delightful ATLANTIS RISING.----------- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2007

    What a great book!

    I loved the idea for the back drop of this book Atlantis! The Warriors of Poseidon are so delicious, please tell me where I can get one! Fast paced, great characters, and the women are strong and beautiful.You also get the chance to see and feel what Atlantis might have been like. I loved every minute of it. I am so excited for more from this series. Pick up the book, you won't be sad that you did!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME Romance!

    I have read a lot of fantasy and paranormal romance in my day, and Alyssa is one of the authors that is a must-buy for me every time. Combining humor, love, pain, and really REALLY hot men, Alyssa Day creates a world of magic and heart-stopping romance. A true fan of the genre would not want to miss this series!! :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    Great New author

    Alantis comes alive through it's warriors, they are fierce, brave , and can make any woman's heart race. A read that is hard to put down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    Not so great

    Atlantis is a great plot, and I was hoping for something like Nymph King, but this book doesn't deliver. Instead of actually trying to fight off the Atlantean Prince, our main girl jumps right into his arms willingly two seconds after meeting him. I thought I could get over that, but the book forgot to describe how humans know of the existance of certain creatures, and it failed to show plot in other areas that were huge in the story.

    Two many holes in the plot, and some of the stuff was just odd and disbelievable. The fact that she makes such quick friends with certain people, then others let her in so easily just because she had done something odd before,charactors who had absolutley no reason for their actions. The main man is weird and reacts angrily just because someone had a strange tone with the girl, one of his best friends, really goes too far and lost me completely. I just couldn't stand them after that point.

    What lost me was SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS, when she accidently climbed into his mind and saw his parents murdered, and then told him she would trust him forever because of the pain he felt, SPOILERS OVER SPOILERS OVER. That lost me. The later on when one of the charactors is injured she jumps to way too much..

    I will not be returning to this series. I'd rather spend my money elsewhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Unique and Interesting

    I loved this book I couldn't put it down it was interesting, and there was never a dull moment. Every vampire enthusiast will love this book. I know I did!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a tale of Atlantis and the chosen warriors who protect humankind. Conlan, the High Prince of Atlantis has been held captive and tortured for seven years by Anubisa, a powerful vampire. He has been released from her torture and now he has come home to find the stolen sacred object, Trident. In his quest, he meets Riley Dawson, a social worker and empath, who has just survived a harrowing ordeal with one of her clients and goes to the ocean seeking solace. There she encounters Conlan, who protects her from degenerates on the beach who are about to attack her. The overall story was fairly interesting and I enjoyed the different characters. However, I found some of the dialog to be somewhat sophomoric and it made me cringe more than once. Overall, I am not certain that I would buy the next in the series. This was an Okay book, but it just wasn't great.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    Loved it. Didn't put it down.

    I couldn't put this book down (which is why I was up until 1 am....) The book was fantastic! I'd recommend it to anyone who likes paranormal romances. I can't wait for Atlantis Awakening...but I can't wait for Alaric's story either- or rather he better get a story!!@##!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    Great read!

    I absolutely loved it! It's been awhile since I get to read a good paranormal romance like this. I can't wait for Atlantis Awakening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Love at first sight, Vamps, Shifters, and Atlantians... Oh My!

    I enjoyed this book a great deal. If you believe in Soul-Mates and love at first sight you won't have a problem with how fast Riley and Conlan get together.

    Riley is an empath and doesn't see herself as someone who fights on the front line. She fights by helping those who have too many things working against them as a social worker. And she's had a really bad night.

    Conlan is the Prince of Atlantis and has gone through a very tragic experience for the last seven years. Although the High Priest of Atlantis says he's not compromised, Conlan isn't so sure.

    When Riley and Conlan's paths cross they will have to find the Trident, battle vampires, especially the goddess (Anubisa), save lives, and find out if being together will end or save everything they hold dear.

    Although this plot doesn't coincide what's been said about Atlantis, it is an enjoyable read. I hope that there are more details explained as the series moves forward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Slow

    Well i read the reviews and hoped it was a good book, but i gotta tell you it took me forever to read. It was one of the most drawn out long winded book i've read in a long time. I think if it was 100 pages instead of 273 it might have worked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    More supernatural romance!

    This was actually a lot of fun.

    The vampires and werewolves are pretty standard fortunately.

    Adding people from Atlantis was a nice twist.

    The characters were all pretty likable.

    I would recommend the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Great!

    Atlantis...warriors...romance! Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Fantastic book series

    What more could you want? Smokin hot warriors, a sea God, and amazing sex. I loved every book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Awesome! Hot! It has everything

    I have read many series but this series has it all. If you enjoyed Sherrilyn Kenyon`s dark hunters series or the Lords of the unnderworld series you will LOVE this series. I was so captavated by the second book that I had the entire series read in a week. I can not wait for the next release! Thx CB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Atlantis riding Atlantis rising

    Such a great book love it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Warriors!

    I loved this series! a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    All the components for a rainy day, a glass of wine, and a fire.

    This is was an excellent read. There is a little suspence, a lot of romance and a little mystery. I enjoyed this book so much I have read others in the series and am looking forward to additional books in this saga. This is an excellent book for those who like a little fantasy but in a little realistic setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    great read

    keeps you interested and wanting to read more even when the book is finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6