BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Atomic Lobster (Serge Storms Series #10)

Average Rating 3.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dorsey does it again!

    I look forward to each new Serge Storm book by Tim Dorsey. This time, he's right in tune with all of his previous wacko, off-the wall books in Atomic Lobster. When the myriad plot twists all come together on a cruise liner, you wonder if Captain Stubing and Gopher will make an appearance. Characters come back from Triggerfish Lane skillfully woven into fabric of the plot yielding a surprise ending. Plus, this book had the added advantage of several "scenes" set in the Tampa neighborhood where I grew up. There's only one thing wrong with Tim Dorsey's books and that is that they only come out once a year--there's not enough of them! But, they leave the reader eagerly anticipating what Serge and Coleman will come up with next. It's just too bad that no one has made a series of movies!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I dare you not to laugh out loud

    Warning: do not attempt to read this book in public while consuming food or beverage. You will either choke yourself or spray innocent bystanders.

    How can you combine sex, drugs, rock and roll, apparently untreated psychosis, "justifiable" yet creative homicide, an aging football star, group therapy for the excessively timid - that is overtaken by the poster boy for in-your-face confrontation, and an assortment of nefarious characters into something that you just can't put down? Read this book. I haven't laughed out loud as much since the last Dorsey offering.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    BIOS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    RULES

    1. If there is swearing or anything of that type please say it has mature content. 2. Only write good reveiws please. As in, dont say the story sucks. Say they should work on it a little more. Constructive critisizem. 3. Fanfics and ero<_>tica are allowed along with original stories. 4. Follow the rules. 5. Have fun! Write in next result!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    To trey

    "Whoa hold up there buddy. I aint the hugging type"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Trey

    Finally someone! :D *he hugs the person.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    Quite funny read.

    I wasn't sure I would like this but it got me hooked after the first few pages. A little mystery involved and the answer is not revealed till the end(of course). I really enjoyed it and hope you do too. I would definitely like to read more from Mr. Dorsey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Summer

    Sighed to herself. At least i got it out. Turns into Lockedheart and pads away. Forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Crazy, funny, wild ride

    This book is mostly based in Tampa, FL. This was my first Dorsey book and I enjoyed it thoroughly. Some of the characters are apparently in most of his other titles but I was still able to pick this up and enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    OMG - What a mess!

    I'm so tired every time I put the book down from back and forth, forth and back between these odd and extremely annoying characters

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    Poser

    If you want to read Elmore Leonard, you should read Elmore Leonard. Dorsey is a second best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Not as good as previous, but highly enjoyable nonetheless

    Not as many laugh out loud moments as his previous novels. Still, you just have to enjoy a "lovable" homicidal maniac as a lead character. Florida remains a main character as well as many other characters from past books.

    The madness continues and Florida residents just seem not to notice or to accept it as "normal." Not as many novel ways to get revenge as previous, but then the bar was set very high in those previous books.

    I look forward to some sort of movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Dorsey strikes again

    I have been an avid fan of Tim Dorsey for years. After waiting for his latest book, I was not disappointed. He is one of my favorite writers and never fails to please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    Serge Does it Again...Through Tim Dorsey, of Course

    After having read so many books recently, and having been so lax about publishing my reviews on the B&N site, I thought it was high time that I did something about it. If you are down in the dumps, depressed, or generally have a feeling of malaise, this is the book for you. Serge A. Storms, the 'evil genius,' if you will, never ceases to delight readers with his antics, and this time takes his escapades to a cruise ship from the Tampa area, where most of Dorsey's books take place. I don't want to give away the ending, but one who reads this novel will wonder at completion 'Who is this guy?' Maybe he's a psychotic/schizophrenic/ADD-ADHD version of James Bond after all with his own special charm for the ladies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    So much fun.

    This book had me in stitches! It was so funny and was an easy read. I devoured the book within 2 days of plane flights and I annoyed the passengers on both sides of me because I laughed out loud many times!! Not light and fluffy stuff in here, want to say it's along the line of 'Fight Club' in the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is the usual over the top satire

    The man slapped six foot stripper Rachel so Serge A. Storms decides to give him a first hand lesson at the Serge charm school. He and Coleman hold the guy by his ankles off an overpass just to scare him. However, an angry Rachel arrives, elbows Serge in the chest and bites Coleman. They drop the man who vanishes. Serge and Coleman agree it is time to hit the road especially since the latter hopes to create the biggest bong ever.----------- Others also are touring Florida. The quickest to the draw of the mean McGraws, killer Tex is out of prison with plans to murder those who sent him up river. The G-Unit (dubbed the E-Team by the media) nonagenarian investors seek sex on a cruise Serge learns not to be in there way when they drive as they purposely pretend confusion while playing pinball with pedestrians. Finally the government seems to be hiding some mysterious murders. The convergence of all these divergent people turns out to be Jim and Martha Davenport, who just wants some excitement in their lives.------------------ This is the usual over the top satire that atomizes just about everyone even a lobster. Serge is at his best starting with his woops while Coleman meeting up with pal Lenny plan on a Guinness Book size bong. However, between Amazonian Rachel, the government, bad Tim McGraw and the ¿Granny¿ brigade, Serge and Coleman understand the biggest threat to their Florida road show is these dangerous ninety years olds. Tim Dorsey provides his typical insane zaniness that leaves no one standing except ninety-one years old Edith Grabowski who had sex twice without oxygen and is ready to take on Tim, Rachel, Serge and Coleman in a no holds barred Florida death match.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    Wow

    I haven't finished yet, but am so far impressed. I laughed at every sentence, and ended up reading the book out loud so other people could laugh too. It is exciting, funny, and very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    The 21st Century Don Quixote

    Tim Dorsey: A master of all things satiric once again takes us on a love/hate adventure of all things Florida. The good, the bad and the hillariously ugly. The noble, lovable and psychotic hero: Serge A. Storms is none the less passionate of his beloved Florida and righting it's wrongs in his quest to formulate his legacy. Like the 16th Century knight. Serge sees Florida with his heart and society considers him a prime candidate for heavy sedation, medication, or incarceration. Fortunately, our hero is too sane to let that happen and is truly a role model that reminds us that we should all be passionate. The cause or inspiration is irrelavant, just be happy and enjoy as one man's giant is another man's windmills. The dialog is laugh out loud fun and a good test for the reader's sensibilities. If you don't laugh--there is something wrong with you, but I can't imagine a better self-help book exists than this zany piece of fiction or is it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5