Customer Reviews for

Atonement

Average Rating 4
( 457 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Haunting

At first I didn't know what to think because the first part of the book is very detailed and not fast paced. I almost gave up, but I wanted to read the book before seeing the movie. I'm glad I stayed with it, because as I read further I couldn't put the book down. As...
At first I didn't know what to think because the first part of the book is very detailed and not fast paced. I almost gave up, but I wanted to read the book before seeing the movie. I'm glad I stayed with it, because as I read further I couldn't put the book down. As you read, you will think you understand why the author titled the book 'Atonement,' but not until the final chapter will you comprehend its true significance. The story haunted me for days afterward. One of the best books I've ever read.

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Beginning of book was too boring

I tried and tried to get interested in this book but just couldn't force myself to read the boring beginning. In my opinion, an excellant book grabs your attention from the very beginning not the opposite.

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Painful

    This book was so bad I could not finish it. By chapter 8, I was so angry for wasting my time & money that if it weren't because I borrowed the book, I would request a refund. There was seldom a dialogue. The book was basically describing indept someone or something. Endless paragraphs of useless information. Briony was an unlikeable character. I felt like 'SHOOT ME' so I can be put out of my misery with this garbage. Skip the book - see the movie - it cheaper...

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Disappointed

    I was extremely disappointed while reading this novel. I can't even count the number of pages I skipped because they were filled with useless details. There was too much fluff and not enough actual story. After I was finished with the book, I couldn't believe the story had ended. There was really NO ending to this story. Briony was an unlikable character and it was almost painful reading all of her ignorant thoughts. The story read as though McEwan was desperately trying to reach a deadline. All in all, this book was terrible. Stick with Nicholas Sparks if you absolutely must have a love story.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    an oppressive book

    After perusing glowing reviews of this novel and hearing a respected colleague recommend it, I, alas, began reading. Not only is McEwan's style overwrought and too, too literary, the central incident--a spoiled brat ruining people's lives--made my skin crawl. I hate abandoning books, but finishing this one was akin to tightening straps around my chest. The entire atmosphere is oppressive; I frankly had difficulty breathing in spots. Do not waste your time with this novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    I would of rated this book no stars but the system doesnt' go that low.

    I keep seeing this book being recommended in book stores and I must put a stop to it because this is one of the worst books I have ever read. The author spends pages and pages and pages describing the most boring details, how the sister arranges floweres in a vase. Why does the reader need 83 lines (pages 21-23) describing how Cecilia is going to arrange the flowers in some stupid vase? I hated this book and I still don't understand why the back cover acclaims that it is the reciever of all these prestigious awards. Did I read the same book? I think so.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    it sounded more like he's TRYING too hard to write literature

    Good literature is something worth reading. However, Atonement is not. I expected a great book, but from the beginning, it sounded as if Ian McEwan was trying to write some kind of elegant classical style of writing that didn't come out right. In fact, the writing sucked, the PLOT skipped about 15 years and explained nothing. If you like developed stories and characters, don't read this- if you like books that SOUND haunting or whatnot, go ahead, but you'll be disappointed. The plot leaves you to GUESS what had happened during the many years after the main character goes to jail. And does Briony feel sorry? Who knows, it did not seem so to me. I think those who like this book THINK that this kind of writing is beauty in itself. Uh... not for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    Disappointing

    The write up on this novel made it seem like a better novel than it is.....There was really no plot and not connection from beginning to end....I was no impressed by the novel at all....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    Not impressed in Seattle

    My bookclub had it's first meeting two weeks ago and we chose Atonement. I had to stop at page 80 because it was still going nowhere and it was actual work to get through a page. I can appreciate a well-written literary novel....but I felt as though the author was filling up pages with sentences that had too many words. It was very wordy with no real point....I had to stop! I have to say that it was quite frustrating, as this novel has received very high reviews by numerous publications....I was looking forward to a rich and creative read but was disapointed

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    SO BORING!!!

    I TOOK ME FOREVER TO READ THIS BOOK. IT'S FILLED WITH USELESS DETAIL. I FEEL LIKE I WASTED MY TIME. SORRY IAN MCEWAN, YOUR STYLE OF WRITING IS NOT FOR ME. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    Totally boring and wordy.

    After fifty pages, I could not longer go on. So slow moving. Seemed as though a short idea was being made longer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    doltish

    Watery, English writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    Angry Author - writing using a formula to meet a book deadline - angry about early publisher rejections.

    Very bad writing - cannot tell a story - overly elaborate descriptions to fill space. What a waste of good trees and time!!! Since when do we need same event or scene from 5 peoples perspectives? Dreadful fits. Sad state of writing today when this is in the 'Best Sellers' list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2007

    Aweful

    This book was terrible. Nothing happens until you are near the end of the book. It was simply one of the worst books I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2005

    Waste of time.

    This is an overwritten Soap opera not a Novel. First book to read from Mr. McEwan and never to attempt to read another book of his.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    Avid Reader Mom

    I did not enjoy this book at all!! I read all the rave reviews and kept waiting for the story to get better- but it did not!! Very over-rated!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    A Travesty

    Ageing starry-eyed yuppies will eat this solipsistic-self infatuated sugar tart of a book right up as it's passed from sweaty palm to palm through all the precious literary boutiques frequented by urban liberal elites. The snob appeal is impressive; every faddish academic/critic will want one to maintain good social odor with their colleagues, dour men of letters who missed out on the Nobel Prize who specialize in the sexual anxieties of financial planners (zzzzz), and trendy California newspapers soliciting manuscripts for 30 something movie studio executives who crave 'serious' recognition and full page advertising for Oscar nominations. Those who believe the life-style choices of arrogant prep school frat boys is anything but the posturing of conceited social climbers will enjoy this trashy melodrama. A contrived, pretentious bore of a novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2