Customer Reviews for

The Atrocity Archives (Laundry Files Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic take on the Spy/Horror genre

    For those that enjoy dark fantasy but have gotten overwhelmed by all of recent entries to the field. This book provides for a fresh view story that draws upon such authors as Lovecraft, Butcher, and Green. The author faithfully represents "real" spy work as being full of government forms and office politics that make actual hazards seem like relief. Combining a story line part Bond and part Cthulhu the characters are as deep as Butcher's with the action and pace of Green's Drood and Nightside series. I would recommend this for anyone that is looking for something out of the norm but extremely entertaining.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    A great book

    While this book contains some over the top 'Dilbert-esque' office politics - a lot of the idiocy rings true to life. While this book *is* very funny, it also contains a lot of cool ideas, and is much more than just a spoof. The main character is smarter than he should be, and starts to realize that he is in a purposefully dead-end job. As the story progresses, you realize this is true. It is easier for the government to employ (and dead-end) smart people with 'dangerous' ideas than it is to control the spread of those ideas. This is an overlooked book and a great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wild and zany

    'The Atrocity Archive'. .The mission of the ultra top secret British espionage agency the Laundry is to defend the crown against occult attacks. The agency employs a variety of employees, but perhaps at the lowest rung is Bob, a computer repairman. However, Bob stops what could have been a nasty incident occurring during a demonstration. His reward is a leap into the cold to save the world from devastation from beyond that plans to snack on the universe once this essence pierces the once thought of impregnable barrier.----- 'The Concrete Jungle'. The country starting with the Laundry is in trouble as some big shot plans to change agents into zombies so that he can take over the country and ultimately the world. Only Agent Bob and local police officer Josephine stand in the way of stopping the zombie attack, but first he must explain why he failed to follow standard operating procedures when he called for backup during a deadly confrontation in which he failed to fill out the proper form and going through the chain of command. Saving the world does not stop a written reprimand and counseling as follow the rules not logic prevails.-------- Taking Get Smart into a technological paranormal world is what the novel (The Atrocity Archives) and the novella (The Concrete Jungle) is all about as Bob battles supernatural combatants and the bureaucracy with differing but always humorous results. Both tales are satirical fun as the espionage thriller goes through the rinse cycle as only officious government regulations would expect. Charles Stross writes a wild zany pair of occult spy escapades.------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    First in the series

    Fascinating concept for a series. Not usually what I like, but this was excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Cthulhu meets Spy vs Spy

    I have been a fan of Charles Stross for a while but when I first tried this book I made it through The Atrocity Archives story and never read the rest, and put my hardcover away. Wow was that a mistake, when I started reading and loving The Rook and kept seeing in the reviews Stross's books keep coming up I thought I would retry them and was delighted that I did. Some of the most fun reading I have done this year. Based on different spy writers and adding Cthulhu is one of the best things that could have been done. If you are fans of either of these genres you need to give these books a try. With the added comedy of did the paper pushers constantly coming after you not for any killing or country saving you might have done but about not filling out the proper paper work. You just know that is where all the problems would come from. Great book, and the start of a great series, I have the Fuller Memorandum left to read before the new book comes out this summer and can not wait. From reading Charles's Blog I know this is his favorite series of books and can not wait for more. If you like spies Cthulhu and some comedy in a wacky mix this will be a god read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2