Customer Reviews for

Attached: The New Science of Adult Attachment and How it Can Help You Find--and Keep--Love

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    Where Was This 20 Years Ago?

    Not enough stars in the sky to recommend this book. The chapters on attachment styles were like they were written with me in the room. Very approachable and understandable concepts that can be put to use virtually immediately. I am going on to learning more about this new science and how it can help me and others be happier and more successful in relationships.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Amazing book -- A must read for anyone who wants to be in a relationship

    An incredible book. I've learned so much! It reveals a lot not only about who you are and how you relate to people you get involved with, but also about your dates, partners and, in fact, everyone else around you. It helps you understand the dynamics in your relationships and why you make the choices you do. What's great about this book is that it's helpful no matter where you are in the relationship "cycle" --dating, married, newly-divorced, etc.

    I highly recommend it to anyone even remotely interested in love and relationships.

    My only question is why didn't this book come out sooner?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    A Must Read for Anyone Interested in Relationships

    ATTACHED is a groundbreaking treatise on human relationships. The writing style is provocative, consistent and designed perfectly for the intelligent consumer audience-an extremely important and growing market today. It will be fascinating to see what effect this important book has on therapeutic techniques. No man is an island, as the saying goes. All of us are attached to others. Each of us has an attachment style. These have evolutionary and biological origins. We learn here that terms like "co-dependence" and "abandonment issues" are actually misnomers-that we only have either effective or ineffective attachments. We don't have to change ourselves to find relationships with others. We can be ourselves and seek out and, more importantly, understand our needs and the needs of our partners in life by creating healthy relationships. Every relationship, be it romantic, familial, workplace or platonic can be viewed in this light and put in a sound perspective allowing for better acceptance and communication all around. We can admit our needs and offer the right kind of support with those we love. With this new perspective, we can all become champions of the human experience.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    If only I had read this book 7 years ago! If you are anxious att

    If only I had read this book 7 years ago! If you are anxious attached like me, this could possibly change your life! The absolute best book I have ever read by far!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    This book has helped me to understand a lot. I still go back to if for reference.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    This is my blueprint

    It was as if this book was written about me- for me. I identified so many of my patterns from this book and was able o take sense of all the emotions i have been feeling. It almost felt validating to know that there was some logic to the type of men and relationships i choose.

    The best part is that its all was you understand and lots of great ways to grow as a person and learn to grow beyond your patterns of attachment. I am looking forward to choosing and doing better

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I am in midterms with this class that i am taking based on this book and I am almost done with my presentation feedback on my findings . And I can say this " excellent " book and the audio along with the book enabled my ADHD learning stills excel 90% then 10% was the online additional aide information needed along with the online attachment style test ..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    Great information on relationships & how the individual looks at, behaves in, & treats a/any relationship!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely worth the read

    This is a great book. I have already put several of the methods into practice into my real life relationships and it has saved me much heartache. It almost seems like common sense but many people are still ignoring their habitual behavior patterns that cause their relationships to fall apart. Reading this will wake you up and help you to better understand yourself and the people around you. I am not a big reader of self help/love/relationship books but I think many can learn a lot from this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent.

    A must read for everyone and anyone, whether they are interested in relationships or are single until rapture. It's easy to understand and reveals quite the tricks your mind plays on you. Very enlightening and gives confidence with knowledge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended--you must check it out!

    This book teaches you a whole new way of viewing relationships.
    I love the Attention grabbing title--it's really what the book is about. This can easily be the next-wave, science-based relationship book of the decade because it provides readers with a Rosetta Stone to decipher their own individual language of love while doing away with a lot of myths and misconceptions.
    I especially appreciate the attachment style quiz for me and my partner's and the hands on workshops and relationship inventory. Some of their suggestions I wrote up in a piece of paper to carry with me and utilize the next time I get upset with my spouse.

    I wish I had this book when I was dating--it would have saved me so much time and heartache!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2