Customer Reviews for

Attachments

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I loved, loved, loved this book! One of my all-time favorites. I

I loved, loved, loved this book! One of my all-time favorites. It is a feel-good, love every minute of it type of book. It's about an IT guy that monitors email at a newspaper. There are two women that don't seem to care if their emails are flagged and in fact, push the...
I loved, loved, loved this book! One of my all-time favorites. It is a feel-good, love every minute of it type of book. It's about an IT guy that monitors email at a newspaper. There are two women that don't seem to care if their emails are flagged and in fact, push the boundaries to get their emails flagged. The book is funny, cute, sweet, and fun! I'm looking forward to more from this author, this was her first book. I'll be suggesting it to my book club this month.

posted by aimlyss on May 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Penguin G

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Penguin Group and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

3 Stars

I was so excited to see Attachments available on Net Galley. I have wanted to read something by Rainbow Rowell for quite some ti...
I received an advance reader edition of this book from Penguin Group and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

3 Stars

I was so excited to see Attachments available on Net Galley. I have wanted to read something by Rainbow Rowell for quite some time so I snatched this book up right away. I liked this book but I was not blown away by it. I admit that I am a bit let down because I was really hoping to be blown away.

Lincoln takes a job at a newspaper and his job is to monitor employee emails. Beth and Jennifer are friends who also work at the same newspaper and like to email each other during the day. Their emails are constantly getting flagged so Lincoln ends up reading what they write to each other. Lincoln does not send them any kind of warning but continues to read what they write to each other. Lincoln starts falling for one of the women through the emails she writes to her friend.

In this book we get to see Lincoln's life but we only see Beth and Jennifer through the emails. I wish that Beth and Lincoln would have met in person before they did in the book. They don't meet each other until the very end of the book and I guess I am just not patient enough to wait that long. Of course, to be fair the story would be pretty much over once they meet and fall in love. I just got tired of waiting for Lincoln to do something. Every time I have started a new job, I have taken the time to introduce myself to my co-workers. Couldn't he have done that at least so he would at least know what she looked like?

Despite my impatience, I did like the writing. I believe that this is Rainbow Rowell's debut novel. I have definite plans to read other works by this author.

posted by Caroles_Random_Life on May 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved, loved, loved this book! One of my all-time favorites. I

    I loved, loved, loved this book! One of my all-time favorites. It is a feel-good, love every minute of it type of book. It's about an IT guy that monitors email at a newspaper. There are two women that don't seem to care if their emails are flagged and in fact, push the boundaries to get their emails flagged. The book is funny, cute, sweet, and fun! I'm looking forward to more from this author, this was her first book. I'll be suggesting it to my book club this month.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    It starts off with Beth and Jennifer emailing each other. It sh

    It starts off with Beth and Jennifer emailing each other. It shows their emails, and then the next chapter, it's just Lincoln's story. What he's doing, how he's feeling, everything.
    I absolutely loved the story. It was so sweet and not at all like the really intense stories I've been reading. Lately all I've read are stories with huge conflicts and so many problems and murders and whatnot. It was so nice to read a good, old-fashioned love story. The book was so cute and I loved all of the characters. The characters, in a way, matured throughout the book. They learned and they got out of some situations where they weren't progressing. To not give out any spoilers (which is hard by the way!), I can't say much else, but I absolutely loved this book. It was like a breath of fresh air. Rowell is a great author—I can't wait to read more of her books!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Fantastic Read

    I don't think it is possible to describe the humor and absolute charm of this book. It is absolutely fab-tastic. At first Lincoln seems like an average guy who lives with his mom and isn't really motivated to do anything. Doesn't really sound like a character you could love but as the story continues we find that Lincoln is in a funk. He has multiple degrees and just doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He also seems to suffer from low self-esteem. He is really really sweet. Jennifer and Beth are best friends and co-workers who get through their days by sending emails and chatting about their lives. They both have grand sense-of-humors and the exchanges are both meaningful and funny. Surprisingly Lincoln, Jennifer, and Beth's lives touch and it makes for a truly awesome and endearing story. Oh and did I mention funny? Very cute and funny.

    I loved loved this book! It felt so real and I was so invested in each of the characters. I don't typically prefer contemporary fiction because if you don't read it at the right time, the references seem to become dated. This one is set in 1999 during the Y2K business. I don't think it can ever become dated. I loved how Lincoln grew from the beginning to the end. There were many great side characters as well. Doris, the co-worker with whom he shares his lunch, is the sweetest thing ever. Lincoln's mom and sister were interesting and so realistic. What can I say, I really loved everything about this book. All the personalities were fantastic and the humor was amazing throughout. Oh and there are many references to old movies which I love.

    I recommend this to people who love good books :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Love this writer

    I just loved this writers sense of humor! The best line i ever read, "it was like working inside a headache" what an incredible gift for understanding what is truly funny to read great, great read!!! Cannot wait for her next bool

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Very entertaining - loved every page!!

    I picked this book up thinking I would just read the first few pages and move on to something else. After the first five minutes I couldn't put the book down! I ended up reading this entire novel on a Saturday afternoon. Several laugh-out-loud and heartfelt moments kept me reading on. I really related to the characters - they felt like real friend by the end of the story. GREAT read - I'm trying to get all my co-workers to read it, too.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Laugh Out Loud Funny

    I absolutely loved this book. So sharp, so sweet, so funny. -------I don't count sheep, I self-loathe The pop culture references were just perfectly toned, slipped in with such talent that they completely worked to make me know these characters. I am so in love with Lincoln. The perfect sweet shy guy that we all know is out there but can never find. And Beth and Jennifer felt like friends, their email exchanged, though wittier that real live humans, is still the intimate chatting of great friends through little things and huge things. Rainbow Rowell kept me entertained and a little worried for poor sweet Lincoln, right up to the end. But it ended beautifully, perfectly. Attachments is wonderful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2014

    Hey, Barnes and Noble, did you hurt yourselves giving us this sa

    Hey, Barnes and Noble, did you hurt yourselves giving us this sample? I might have liked it, but the sample was only 12 pages. Can't tell a lot about the story from a few pages. I like to know if there's swearing and/or blantent sex scenes. Not interested in either.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    4 Stars This book took awhile to get going I first thought. Then

    4 Stars
    This book took awhile to get going I first thought. Then again, I had just received a pile of books from the library and my online ebooks were coming in from holds right and left. I think that was why I had trouble starting this book and getting into it. With that said, how freaking cute was this book?? It was adorable! I loved how two people can fall in love without even seeing what each other looked like or without saying a word. That definitely made the romantic in me swoon. I was a little worried "they" wouldn't get together but I knew Miss. Rowell wouldn't let me down. This is my first book from her and I will definitely be getting more books she's written. I loved how sweet Lincoln was with Doris and his mother. He actually cared about them and didn't just talk to them because he had to. Lincoln is a one of kind for sure, Sam doesn't know what she's missing! This book was very cute, I would've given 5 stars except for a little creepiness to their love story. Who would follow someone home after seeing them a couple of times? And who would be okay with dating someone who spied on you and your friends for what a year or so? So, a little creepiness but still very cute!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I received an advance reader edition of this book from Penguin G

    I received an advance reader edition of this book from Penguin Group and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

    3 Stars

    I was so excited to see Attachments available on Net Galley. I have wanted to read something by Rainbow Rowell for quite some time so I snatched this book up right away. I liked this book but I was not blown away by it. I admit that I am a bit let down because I was really hoping to be blown away.

    Lincoln takes a job at a newspaper and his job is to monitor employee emails. Beth and Jennifer are friends who also work at the same newspaper and like to email each other during the day. Their emails are constantly getting flagged so Lincoln ends up reading what they write to each other. Lincoln does not send them any kind of warning but continues to read what they write to each other. Lincoln starts falling for one of the women through the emails she writes to her friend.

    In this book we get to see Lincoln's life but we only see Beth and Jennifer through the emails. I wish that Beth and Lincoln would have met in person before they did in the book. They don't meet each other until the very end of the book and I guess I am just not patient enough to wait that long. Of course, to be fair the story would be pretty much over once they meet and fall in love. I just got tired of waiting for Lincoln to do something. Every time I have started a new job, I have taken the time to introduce myself to my co-workers. Couldn't he have done that at least so he would at least know what she looked like?

    Despite my impatience, I did like the writing. I believe that this is Rainbow Rowell's debut novel. I have definite plans to read other works by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    The time just before Y2K is the perfect setting for Attachments-

    The time just before Y2K is the perfect setting for Attachments--any further into the 21st century and Lincoln would be just another creepy guy! Lincoln is hired by the last paper in the country (their words) to get computerized to monitor computer usage and emails, while readying the system for the possible crash when the calendar rolls over to 2000, He quickly latches onto emails between friends Beth and Jennifer and can't wait to check his Web folder every night for new interactions between them. The women's emails can get a bit long, but Lincoln's life plays out in real time. His move back home with his mom, and his relationships with his sister and various friends are almost enough to carry the whole book. Cute ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    Lincoln has moved back home after being away at school for years

    Lincoln has moved back home after being away at school for years. He is happy to be back in his home town, but doesn't know what to do with himself. He gets a job at a local newspaper and is in charge of night IT calls, manning the help desk, and reading company emails as the "internet security officer". He knows his job is a joke, but he doesn't know what to do since his horrible break-up with his girlfriend, like 10 years ago.




    Beth and Jennifer are friends that work at the newspaper and often send each other emails back and forth throughout the work day, which is a no-no at work, but they never seem to get caught so they go about their business talking as girlfriends do about their love lives, families, work and anything else that comes to mind. So why are they never caught? Well Lincoln has grown fond of their conversations and looks forward to reading their conversations each day at work. He begins to fall for Beth, the hopeless romantic in a hopelessly not romantic relationship that is going nowhere. Can Lincoln be that man for her? But how does he go about introducing himself without sounding like a creeper of their emails?




    A sweet story about finding love in all the wrong places and never knowing that the object of your affection is in love with you as well. Funny and so true to life and love. Well written

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic debut

    Attachments is Rainbow Rowell's debut novel - and what a great debut it is! I adored it!

    When the girl of his dreams broke Lincoln O'Neill's heart he retreated...into academia, moving back home with his mother and giving up socializing. He's even taken a night job with no contact with co workers. He's working at a newspaper (The Courier) as the Internet Security Officer. It isn't until he starts the job that Lincoln realizes he will be monitoring internal emails for inappropriate content.

    Jennifer and Beth also both work at the Courier. They're best friends and their internal email is often (well, mostly) of a personal nature. Which, of course, flags it for Lincoln. He should send them a warning, but he doesn't....he shouldn't keep reading their communications...but he does....He is fascinated by their lives and he finds himself falling in love with Beth.

    Rowell has created such a warm, sweet, lovable character in Lincoln. His intrinsic goodness and caring (he's pretty cute too) make him a perfect catch, but he just can't see it himself.

    "Lincoln wasn't inherently un-dateable. He'd gone on a date three years ago. A friend's sister had needed a date to a wedding. She'd danced all night with one of the groomsmen, who turned out to be her second cousin, while Lincoln ate exactly thirteen cream cheese mints."
    "My get-a-life window. I think I was supposed to figure all this stuff out between twenty-two and twenty-six, and now it's too late."
    The novel unfolds in alternating chapters - first from Beth and Jennifer and then from Lincoln.We get to know Jennifer and Beth, but in more of an arm's length way, as we only know of their lives through the emails. It was very easy to get caught up in Lincoln's quest to reclaim his life. It was impossible not to root for him. The supporting cast of characters were just as engaging. Lincoln's mom and her reluctance to let go of her son, his sister Eve and her determination to drag Lincoln out into the world and his loyal circle of Dungeon and Dragon playing friends. But of all the supporting characters I think I enjoyed Lincoln's interactions with Doris the snack lady the most. His kindness towards her was touching.

    Rowell has written a delightfully heartwarming story. Attachments is a clever, witty, warm story that will capture you completely. A fantastic first novel - I'll be watching for Rowell's second!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

          Lincoln is good at school, but not much else. Depressed an

          Lincoln is good at school, but not much else. Depressed and living with his mom after attending college for almost a decade, he begins working a night time shift at a company where he does pretty much nothing. Taking place in 1999, his job is in computer security . He is to read employee emails  and make sure everyone is on task and not doing anything personal during work hours.
         During these random email checks, Lincoln virtually meets Beth. Through Beth’s messages to her friend Jennifer, Linc feels as if he knows this newspaper writer and begins to look forward to their daily correspondences. Never having actually met, Linc slowly falls in love with Beth’s words and actions, all through her electronic communication. Facing her personal bests and worsts, Lincoln begins to realize his own strengths as he rises out of his depression and into his life.
          Adorable, sweet, and heartbreaking are the top thoughts that kept running through my  head as I was reading Attachments. My first Rainbow Rowell book and I was astounded by how clever she dealt with the characters. You never actually meet two of the main characters until the last few pages yet you know them almost as well as you know Lincoln, whose head most of hte story is told. 
         Lincoln is a highly clever character. Telling his tale of his long lost love through his late night evenings at work, you can’t help but have your heart break as he talks of his first love. Told through anecdotes, Lincoln seems to be living on the fringes since his heart break. Pushed to be more adventurous by his mother and sister, he finds comfort in reading the emails between the two women.
         Beth, our love interest and mystery lady, we only meet through her correspondence. Living with an impossible man, but clinging to her love like an old sweatshirt, she finds herself in an almost impossible situation. Sweet and kindhearted, I loved Beth’s confidence and caring attitude. Lincoln falls in love with her  the only way he knows her...her words, which I may love most of all.
         A thoroughly enjoyable read, Rainbow Rowell shines in Attachments. Gorgeously written and entertaining, the characters shine through this simple tale told by emails. Lincoln and Beth’s story show just how much we reveal of ourselves through unintended avenues. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    "You've Got Mail" meets "When Harry Meets Sally"

    This novel reminded me of some of my favorite romantic comedies of the 90's. It was like a delicious serving of "You've Got Mail" meets "When Harry Meets Sally". As Lincoln falls in love with Beth and begind to care about her friend Jennifer...you too will fall in love with Lincoln and the story. You begin to get attached to "Attachments".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Sweet, romantic and laugh out loud funny!

    I was happy to see in an Alumni magazine that Rainbow had written a novel and figured I'd pick it up at some point (Rainbow and I were in many classes together in college). I finally did and really, the book was great. The e-chats between Jennifer and Beth are likely the wittier versions of of email conversations you have with your co-workers, and Lincoln sees himself the way we probably all see ourselves. There was a point where I wanted things to move along a bit, and a point where I simply couldn't put the book down. Speaking as a girl who grew up in Omaha and went to college at the University of Nebraska, the little references to landmarks, buildings and streets gave me a great feeling of nostalgia. I do, however, wish the events of the second month of October in the book could have lasted a bit longer. I wanted to peek into some of the relationships a bit more. I guess that's what good books/stories do though, right? The scene ends, but it leavess me wanting more of the story. Instead I get to decide for myself what happened to Jennifer, Beth and Lincoln. Great work Rainbow. I'm looking forward to the next novels you have in the works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Awesome doesnt do this book justice!

    This book is absolutely fantastic....perfect, perfect romance! Wish I had a live like Lincoln and Beth! Great, great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    As other writers have written this story is about a guy who is p

    As other writers have written this story is about a guy who is paid to read forbidden personal emails sent on company time. Those who have worked in an office will tell you almost everyone sends a personal email. The difference between this and an office these were ongoing conversations and once the guy started reading them he could not stop because they were either funny, sad, encouraging a friend and a host of other reasons. I could not give this a five-star rating because I do not and did not like was all the Fs and MFs in the story. The coarse profanity did not begin immediately but once it started it was very frequent throughout the remainder of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Great story!

    I loved each of the characters and could barely put the book down. Such a great, sweet story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    This book was amazing!  I recall hearing and reading so many rav

    This book was amazing!  I recall hearing and reading so many rave reviews when this book was first published in Europe in 2011.  I was slightly curious and bought a copy.  I didn't read the book until long after it'd become available here in the US and well after I'd read Eleanor & Park.  I saw it was up to read on Netgalley and decided a re-read was in order.




    I thought it was fantastic how much of the book was told through emails and messages.  I recall thinking at the time, it was a unique idea.  I hadn't seen any story told through media yet and was completely blown away by it.  By reading Beth and Jennifer's emails, I felt like I really got to know them without really meeting them, even if it felt more than a little creepy.  




    All of Rainbow's characters are likable and very personable.  I don't know about you, but I was rooting for Beth and Lincoln to somehow get together.  I felt so bad Lincoln was starting with a stacked deck against him.  Granted he knew lots about Beth before they ever met face to face, but he also knew if/when she found out how he knew so much about her, any intimacy or rapport they had would be shattered.




    I was unable to put down this book.  I waited so long to pick it up and then was kicking myself for doing just that.  I also discovered Rainbow Rowell consistently writes amazing books and in many different genres as well.  She shot her way onto my must read list with Eleanor & Park and onto my must buy list with Attachments.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Another great read by Rainbow Rowell!

    I loved this book. I am being generous with the five stars - I would say it is more like four and a half stars only because I felt the ending was rushed.

    It is the sweet story of an IT Guy falling in love with "Beth" by reading her emails to her friend. Loved it! No one writes quirky characters better than Rainbow Rowell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5