Customer Reviews for

Attachments

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I loved, loved, loved this book! One of my all-time favorites. I

I loved, loved, loved this book! One of my all-time favorites. It is a feel-good, love every minute of it type of book. It's about an IT guy that monitors email at a newspaper. There are two women that don't seem to care if their emails are flagged and in fact, push the...
I loved, loved, loved this book! One of my all-time favorites. It is a feel-good, love every minute of it type of book. It's about an IT guy that monitors email at a newspaper. There are two women that don't seem to care if their emails are flagged and in fact, push the boundaries to get their emails flagged. The book is funny, cute, sweet, and fun! I'm looking forward to more from this author, this was her first book. I'll be suggesting it to my book club this month.

posted by aimlyss on May 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Penguin G

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Penguin Group and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

3 Stars

I was so excited to see Attachments available on Net Galley. I have wanted to read something by Rainbow Rowell for quite some ti...
I received an advance reader edition of this book from Penguin Group and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

3 Stars

I was so excited to see Attachments available on Net Galley. I have wanted to read something by Rainbow Rowell for quite some time so I snatched this book up right away. I liked this book but I was not blown away by it. I admit that I am a bit let down because I was really hoping to be blown away.

Lincoln takes a job at a newspaper and his job is to monitor employee emails. Beth and Jennifer are friends who also work at the same newspaper and like to email each other during the day. Their emails are constantly getting flagged so Lincoln ends up reading what they write to each other. Lincoln does not send them any kind of warning but continues to read what they write to each other. Lincoln starts falling for one of the women through the emails she writes to her friend.

In this book we get to see Lincoln's life but we only see Beth and Jennifer through the emails. I wish that Beth and Lincoln would have met in person before they did in the book. They don't meet each other until the very end of the book and I guess I am just not patient enough to wait that long. Of course, to be fair the story would be pretty much over once they meet and fall in love. I just got tired of waiting for Lincoln to do something. Every time I have started a new job, I have taken the time to introduce myself to my co-workers. Couldn't he have done that at least so he would at least know what she looked like?

Despite my impatience, I did like the writing. I believe that this is Rainbow Rowell's debut novel. I have definite plans to read other works by this author.

posted by Caroles_Random_Life on May 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved, loved, loved this book! One of my all-time favorites. I

    I loved, loved, loved this book! One of my all-time favorites. It is a feel-good, love every minute of it type of book. It's about an IT guy that monitors email at a newspaper. There are two women that don't seem to care if their emails are flagged and in fact, push the boundaries to get their emails flagged. The book is funny, cute, sweet, and fun! I'm looking forward to more from this author, this was her first book. I'll be suggesting it to my book club this month.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Love this writer

    I just loved this writers sense of humor! The best line i ever read, "it was like working inside a headache" what an incredible gift for understanding what is truly funny to read great, great read!!! Cannot wait for her next bool

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Fantastic Read

    I don't think it is possible to describe the humor and absolute charm of this book. It is absolutely fab-tastic. At first Lincoln seems like an average guy who lives with his mom and isn't really motivated to do anything. Doesn't really sound like a character you could love but as the story continues we find that Lincoln is in a funk. He has multiple degrees and just doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He also seems to suffer from low self-esteem. He is really really sweet. Jennifer and Beth are best friends and co-workers who get through their days by sending emails and chatting about their lives. They both have grand sense-of-humors and the exchanges are both meaningful and funny. Surprisingly Lincoln, Jennifer, and Beth's lives touch and it makes for a truly awesome and endearing story. Oh and did I mention funny? Very cute and funny.

    I loved loved this book! It felt so real and I was so invested in each of the characters. I don't typically prefer contemporary fiction because if you don't read it at the right time, the references seem to become dated. This one is set in 1999 during the Y2K business. I don't think it can ever become dated. I loved how Lincoln grew from the beginning to the end. There were many great side characters as well. Doris, the co-worker with whom he shares his lunch, is the sweetest thing ever. Lincoln's mom and sister were interesting and so realistic. What can I say, I really loved everything about this book. All the personalities were fantastic and the humor was amazing throughout. Oh and there are many references to old movies which I love.

    I recommend this to people who love good books :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Very entertaining - loved every page!!

    I picked this book up thinking I would just read the first few pages and move on to something else. After the first five minutes I couldn't put the book down! I ended up reading this entire novel on a Saturday afternoon. Several laugh-out-loud and heartfelt moments kept me reading on. I really related to the characters - they felt like real friend by the end of the story. GREAT read - I'm trying to get all my co-workers to read it, too.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Laugh Out Loud Funny

    I absolutely loved this book. So sharp, so sweet, so funny. -------I don't count sheep, I self-loathe The pop culture references were just perfectly toned, slipped in with such talent that they completely worked to make me know these characters. I am so in love with Lincoln. The perfect sweet shy guy that we all know is out there but can never find. And Beth and Jennifer felt like friends, their email exchanged, though wittier that real live humans, is still the intimate chatting of great friends through little things and huge things. Rainbow Rowell kept me entertained and a little worried for poor sweet Lincoln, right up to the end. But it ended beautifully, perfectly. Attachments is wonderful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    Lincoln has moved back home after being away at school for years

    Lincoln has moved back home after being away at school for years. He is happy to be back in his home town, but doesn't know what to do with himself. He gets a job at a local newspaper and is in charge of night IT calls, manning the help desk, and reading company emails as the "internet security officer". He knows his job is a joke, but he doesn't know what to do since his horrible break-up with his girlfriend, like 10 years ago.




    Beth and Jennifer are friends that work at the newspaper and often send each other emails back and forth throughout the work day, which is a no-no at work, but they never seem to get caught so they go about their business talking as girlfriends do about their love lives, families, work and anything else that comes to mind. So why are they never caught? Well Lincoln has grown fond of their conversations and looks forward to reading their conversations each day at work. He begins to fall for Beth, the hopeless romantic in a hopelessly not romantic relationship that is going nowhere. Can Lincoln be that man for her? But how does he go about introducing himself without sounding like a creeper of their emails?




    A sweet story about finding love in all the wrong places and never knowing that the object of your affection is in love with you as well. Funny and so true to life and love. Well written

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Loved it!

    I loved this book! I got it for the Daily Find and was not disappointed. Reminiscent of Bridget Jones' Diary, it has that same "when will these two get it right" vibe. The characters are charming and funny, just the sort you want in your circle of friends. Even the late 1990's setting added a whimsical flair to this story by avoiding today's IPhone/Facebook/Twitter-centric society and returning to the dawn of social media when it seemed like a wondrous new age. Lately I can't seem to get into a book, but this one had me hooked from the beginning. I will be looking forward to reading more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Awesome doesnt do this book justice!

    This book is absolutely fantastic....perfect, perfect romance! Wish I had a live like Lincoln and Beth! Great, great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    I loved this book!!! It's cute and sweet, and funny!! I want t

    I loved this book!!! It's cute and sweet, and funny!! I want to find a Lincoln of my own. This is one of my favorite books by Rainbow Rowell!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    A MUST Read!

    If you like romantic comedies this is definitely the book for you. Witty, yet heart-warming at times, this book had me longing for my very own Lincoln. A modern love story that you do not want to miss!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2015

    love it!!!!!!!

    love it!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2015

    I loved it!

    I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    This.

    There were moments in this book when I felt like Rainbow Rowell had read MY email.There were so many gem like moments in this book. This book was a gift. Fun and funny, warm-hearted and a little bit messy. I loved it. As in I read it cover to cover while I was meant to be sleeping because I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2014

    Highly Entertaining

    In true Rainbow Rowell fashion, this book is a highly entertaining ride. Simple and fast to read with witty, well drawn characters. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    To Daphney

    Omg i &hearts it! Gemma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Somewhere Over the Rainbow: Unicorn Version by Daphny

    Some-where over the rainbow, Way up high, Un-icorns and rainbows, So-ar through the sky. | Some-where over the rainbow, Skys are blue. And that's where you'll find uni-corns And some rain-bows too. | Someday I'll find some Way up high and That is where you'll find me! | Up high in the sky Flying so high Above the clouds Yes that is where you'll find me! | (Louder) Oh, some-where over the rainbow, Way up high, Uni-corns ride rain-bows All over the sky. | (Quietly) Someday I'll find some Way up high and That is where you'll fi-nd me. | Hope you like it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Ravenfeather to Cindertail

    Luv it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    I'm Attached

    Eleanor & Park being my first Rowell book, I was half expecting Lincoln and Beth not to make it in the end. Each page left me laughing or sad, my empathy for Jennifer, Beth and Lincoln as real as if my best friend told me these stories. Rowell has a certain way of writing that takes your breath away, that really makes you feel as if the characters are all real and will truly make a difference in your life. As I read Attachments I felt myself understanding for Lincoln's unfortunate situation with Beth and Jennifer, and kept wondering how the book would end. The way Rowell ended it wasn't at all how I expected it to be, but I'm glad that's the way the book went, proving that mistakes don't make you, and that there is such a thing as love at first sight. 5 Stars to this amazing novel, great job, Rowell :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2014

    I loved this book. It was exciting to read a book that is so wel

    I loved this book. It was exciting to read a book that is so well written. Beth and Jennifer's emails were hilarious
    and Lincoln was a person you'd like to be friends with. He's funny, a truly nice guy, cares about his family and just
    makes you want to hug him when he's troubled. The characters were so real that you felt you could relate to them.
    I really wanted Lincoln to have his HEA. I can't wait to read another one of Rainbow's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    I wasn't sure about this book when I started reading it, but it

    I wasn't sure about this book when I started reading it, but it sucked me in and I couldn't put it down.  I was expecting the end, but didn't think it would happen.  Just a great book.  I highly recommend it!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4