Customer Reviews for

Attack at the Arena

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 12, 2014

    Another good installment of the newest Imagination Station serie

    Another good installment of the newest Imagination Station series

    Good book for young elementary school children. The book teaches good lessons, is fast paced, and uses simple language. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    This is a wonderful story about Beth and Patrick who enter the I

    This is a wonderful story about Beth and Patrick who enter the Imagination Station dressed for their Roman adventure. Beth is dressed like a slave and Patrick wears a Roman robe with a rope belt and a hood that monks wore. They are asked to find a Roman monk’s silver cup or chalice. Mr. Whittaker closes the imagination station door and soon they find themselves in an arena with a tiger chasing them. After they escape from the tiger with the help of a slave, they head for a church until Beth is grabbed by a soldier since she looks like a slave girl. What do they do with her? How does a monk help Patrick? How will they get back to the Imagination Station and what will they learn?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    Meet cousins Patrick and Beth, the Christian equivalent to Jack

    Meet cousins Patrick and Beth, the Christian equivalent to Jack and Annie from the <i>Magic Tree House</i>
    series. Their friend, Mr. Whittaker, has created the Imagination Station, that works similar to a time machine. As Whittaker is writing a family history, he discovers one of his ancestors, Albert, is in trouble. Patrick and Beth's mission? To go back in time and find a certain object to save Albert from a mysterious Lord Darkthorn. Their journeys take them from ancient Rome to China to Corrie ten Boom's house in wartime Holland.




    In this book, the second in this series, Patrick, dressed as a monk and Beth, dressed as a slave, are transported to ancient Rome. Their mission is to find a silver monk's cup. Soon after they arrive in Rome, Beth is mistaken for a runaway slave of the Emperor and taken back to the palace. Patrick is unable to save her, and runs into a kind and wise monk, Telemachus. Patrick and Beth learn the infamous games will be starting - where the Romans evilly lock hungry animals and prisoners in arenas and watch them fight to the death.




    I remember enjoying Jack and Annie's adventures as a kid, and I know I would have loved this series. I just bought the WWII one (Escape to the Hiding Place) and can't wait to read that!
    In each book, Patrick and Beth meet key historical figures, bringing history to life more and provide a way to do additional research.




    Overall, highly recommend this great series for anyone who wants quality books for their 1-3 graders with a positive message and a twist of history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    Good Introduction to History for Kids! Attack at the Arena is t

    Good Introduction to History for Kids!

    Attack at the Arena is the second book in The Imagination Station series where cousins Patrick and Beth travel through time. The children are sent to ancient Rome to find a silver chalice in order to save Albert but they are separated when they arrive in Rome. Beth is a slave caring for the Emperor's birds and Patrick is rescued by a monk. Everyone heads to the arena for the games and things begin to look grim when Patrick is thrown into a cart and sent below the arena as a future competitor in the games. Beth and the Monk work together to convince the Emperor that the games are wrong and they need to stop. Will they stop before Patrick is in danger?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    Lions and tigers and boars, oh my! Cousins Patrick and Beth tak

    Lions and tigers and boars, oh my! Cousins Patrick and Beth take a trip in the Imagination Station to get a special monk’s chalice. During their adventure they learn more about the Roman games, meet a Roman emperor and get to know an early influential Christian, Telemachus. Great way to teach elementary aged children about early Christian history in an easy, palatable way. This book follows the first book but also stands alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    I have read many of the Odyssey adventure series, but I didn┬┐t l

    I have read many of the Odyssey adventure series, but I didn’t like this one as much. I missed the Q/A at the back where you learn some real life facts about the people in the story. And I felt like this story ended too quickly. You don’t find out what happens to all of the characters. It was still a great, action packed story, but just not one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    Attack at the Arena is the second installment of the Imagination

    Attack at the Arena is the second installment of the Imagination Station series. This time Patrick and Beth find themselves in a Roman arena. Patrick is a monk and Beth is a slave for the emperor. What a great adventure! Another a good book for kids.
    5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    I can not say enough about how much I love this series of books!

    I can not say enough about how much I love this series of books! McCusker and Hering bring history to life in a way children can enjoy and parents can feel good about the lessons they are learning.

    As readers follow Patrick and Beth on their adventures, they get a glimpse into history, but also learn about faith. In this one, readers learn about gladiator events and how prisoners were forced to fight in the arena. I like the way young readers can learn a little bit about life in Ancient Rome at an age appropriate level.

    This series continues to provide parents with an alternative to Magic Tree House books with books that hold younger readers interest, but hold true to Christian ideals. The books do not have to be read in order, which is always a plus with book series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    Adventures in Odyssey continues their series with The Imaginatio

    Adventures in Odyssey continues their series with The Imagination Station series. Attack in the Arena is the second book chronicling the adventures of the fantastic time-traveling duo Beth and Patrick, cousins who are recruited by Mr. Whittaker to travel through time on various quests so that he can save his ancestor, Albert. Aided occasionally by a mysterious knight from England who travels through the Imagination Station, the cousins find themselves on all kinds of adventures.

    And this time they are in ancient Rome at the very last gladitorial game seeking a silver cup that will somehow help Albert (we are not told how). Beth is hauled off by a soldier, believed to be a bird slave to the young Emperor Honorius.

    Patrick is taken in by a kind monk, Telemachus. They help a &quot;barbarian&quot; to run away although he is recaptured. They end up in Rome and Patrick is taken away to the arena. Beth is trying to find the Emperor's humanity while learning she really hates birds now.

    And meanwhile they seek the silver cup...

    Easy to read, very simply sentences, just right for that age range. I really liked it (I like anything about ancient Rome). I definitely want to read the rest of the series.

    Definitely an 8 on a 10 point scale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    Attack at the Arena, the second book in the Imagination Station

    Attack at the Arena, the second book in the Imagination Station Series, was an interesting, historical book for kids. It’s the story of two cousins who go back in time in the Imagination Station to Ancient Rome. They have a mission to accomplish—getting the monk’s chalice—and they learn valuable lessons along the way—to lay down your life for your friend is the greatest love and to stand up for what you believe in no matter the cost.

    It showed a little of what life is like in Ancient Rome, even in the arenas without going into gory detail. The language was easy to understand and the pictures were adorable. The prologue summed up the first book nicely, giving the important details and showing the importance of the kids’ quest. The end leaves off with a mystery and a new quest, ushering in book three. Also, the last few pages contain a couple simple word games.

    The Imagination Station in this book is an actual time machine, unlike the one in the audio dramas of Adventures in Odyssey, in that the users can bring items back to the present with them and travel back in time to see their ancestors. Otherwise, the machine and Whit’s End is the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2014

    Attack at the Arena is the second in the Imagination Station Ser

    Attack at the Arena is the second in the Imagination Station Series. This is a great series for kids ages 7 and up. They are a great alternative to the Magic Tree House books. I love that we can do a whole study off of them in school. My son recently read this book and here is his synopsis.




    First Beth and Patrick went to Whit’s End to see Mr. Whitaker.  Then Mr. Whitaker tells them they have another adventure to do.  They go on the adventure in the Imagination Station.  They push the red button which starts up the Imagination Station.  After they push the button and get out they find themselves in the sand.  They turn around and see a tiger.  They see a man by a door.  The tiger gets in the running position but doesn’t run.  Patrick and Beth run to the man by the door.  Then the tiger starts to run after them.  Patrick and Beth reach the door.  They go inside.  They find themselves in the arena.  The soldiers catch them cause they think they are slaves.  One soldier picked up Beth on his shoulder.  Four other soldiers get Patrick.  The soldiers and Patrick start going out of the arena.  A Monk says, “I’ve been looking for you.”  The soldiers let Patrick go with the Monk.  then Patrick and the monk go on a walk.  Patrick sees a cave.  Patrick says, “Is that your house?”  The monk says, “Yes, that is where I stay.”  They went into the cave.  They sat down and cooked a chicken.  They ate the chicken.  Patrick went to sleep after that.  Beth finds herself in a room.  A man walks in and says, “Do you like birds?”  Beth says “Kind of.”  Good.  I have some birds you can feed.  What’s your name?” said the man.  “My name is Beth,” said Beth.  He was some kind of man that sat on the throne.  He was a young man.  The young man leads Beth to a room full of birds.  She feeds them.  They young man leads Beth to a cage and puts some of the birds in it.  Patrick and the monk go to the arena.  They go into the arena to find Beth.  They get thrown into a place where the people are forced to play the games.  The games are people trying to stay alive fighting the lions, tigers, and bears.  The monk tries to find a seat when Patrick goes tot he place where the men get ready to fight.  Patrick sees Beth in a cage of birds.  They send the lions, tigers, and bears into the middle of the arena.  The soldiers send out the men to fight the animals.  Patrick escapes out of the arena.  The soldiers send out the men to fight the animals.  Patrick escapes out of the arena.  Patrick goes to the cage of birds.  He gets Beth out.  The games are done.  Beth and Patrick leave the arena.  They find the imagination stations when they get out of the arena and go back to Whit’s End.




    This is a great book to help introduce yoru children to persecution.  I can’t recommend these books highly enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Great Series, Very Creative. There truly is a lot of imagination

    Great Series, Very Creative. There truly is a lot of imagination in these Imagination Station stories. The historical figures are presented creatively and in a very entertaining way. I did not know Telemachus was a real person. See? Even adults learn something from these books. They are fun to read, and would be great to read aloud to the younger children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    This book is about Patrick and Beth's second mission to save Alb

    This book is about Patrick and Beth's second mission to save Albert. In this story Patrick and Beth go to Ancient Rome. I like this book because it has Roman History and facts. My favorite part is where Aldric throws Patrick to the beam holding the nets to protect the emperor. I think it's a good book for kids between ages 8-11. Joshua, age 10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    My 5 year old loves these books

    I just started reading chapter books to my 5 year old before bed instead of always picture books. I had heard of the Magic Treehouse and was going to read those, but wanted something with a Christian theme. These teach us about history and faith but they are so action packed and fun!!!! He can't wait for me to get the next one once we finish Giada's Recipe for Adventure - Paris!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    Attack at the Arena

    In their second adventure, cousins Beth & Patrick must travel to ancient Rome to find a silver cup (chalice). Upon their arrival, they are almost eaten by a tiger in the arena! They are startled by the disregard for life in Rome. Beth is essentially captured by an overzealous guard who thinks she is a runaway Roman slave for Emperor Honorius, who she finds to be very young and a little crazy. Patrick meets monk Telemachus, and through a wild series of events, both Beth & Patrick end up at the arena again, where Beth is assisting the emperor with his birds and Patrick is being escorted into the arena to fight to the death! The entire adventure allows them to assist Telemachus in helping to end the Roman games once and for all.

    There were many such dramatic moments in this book, and again history and fantasy are combined to entertain as well as teach a lesson.

    I think these are great books for an earlier reader. I recommend this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Adventures in Odyssey Imagination Station book 2, Attack at the

    Adventures in Odyssey Imagination Station book 2, Attack at the Arena by by Paul McCusker and Marianne Hering is a great book for kids. Parents will like the good message the book has.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    "Attack at the Arena" is the second book in "The

    &quot;Attack at the Arena&quot; is the second book in &quot;The Imagination Station&quot; series. We continue the story by following cousins Beth and Patrick to ancient Rome to find a monk's chalice. This is an entertaining installment to this series. My 4.5 year old has been enjoying the books and we are looking forward to more stories from this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Second Book Better Than First

    The second book in this series picks up immediately where the last one left off. Beth and Patrick go on another adventure, this time to Rome where they meet Telemachus, encounter games at the colosseum, and help share the message of Christ.

    This read was more engaging than the first book, mostly because the plot was better developed. I'd recommend it for struggling to average readers, probably under the age of 10 or so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Awesome Christian Historical Fiction for Kids from 5+!

    My children and I love this series! The Imagination Station books are above my daughters' reading level (all 3 are in 1st grade & this book is a late 2nd grade reading level) but I often read books like this to them during our home school history class.

    We had just been reading "Voyage With the Vikings" so "Attack at the Arena" came just in time. I love History as much as I love books, and my kids love History, too. I've been reading them great historical non-fiction (try David Adler's picture book series) since they were tiny. No dry Ferris Bueller-style History lessons for us!

    "Attack at the Arena" is about the Roman coliseum (a.k.a. the arena), an emperor, gladiators, and more. It's a bit watered down for kids (it had to be; I mean at the arena, they fed people to lions and burned humans for torches). In the book no one was actually fed to any animals but they did come close! This book is full of suspense, history, and even faith. The cover itself gives a great description of the book: 2 kids, Beth and Patrick, end up going back to 5th century Rome and getting mixed up in an arena adventure with Emperor Honorius and a Christian named Telemachus (both real people who I previously knew nothing about). For a detailed, adult version of the same theme (not to mention some of the best books you'll ever read) try Francine Rivers' Mark of the Lion series.

    The Imagination Station is great, exciting fiction that's sure to peak your kids' interest in History. It's very similar to the popular Magic Treehouse Series but better because it's got great spiritual values, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2