Customer Reviews for

The Attenbury Emeralds (Lord Peter Wimsey/Harriet Vane Series)

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Five stars for characters and atmosphere, but there are flaws

    I love these characters and Ms. Walsh does a credible job of expanding the Wimsey universe. The story is absorbing and she hints at the atmosphere of an England after the war. But...she is not quite Dorothy Sayers. The depth of character that Sayers brings to both Harriet and Peter isn't quite there. Ms. Walsh prefers her characters vocalize all of their feelings where Ms. Sayers would expound on them. Yes, it would slow the books down (Has any one ready Gaudy Night lately) but it gave you a true understanding of how the character thought and felt. There were a few passages [describing how Bunter and Peter went to a dinner party as equals, the description of Gerald and his wife at the Attenbury party, the Dowager Dutchess), where I think Ms. Sayers would have written more. Plus the use of a large font is a bit of cheat because it makes the book much longer than it needs to me. But for pure entertainment that is fun to read, I'd rate it five stars.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Essential reading for LPW fans

    The Attenbury Emeralds offers both backstory and benediction to the Lord Peter corpus. If also interested in the audio version, Edward Petherbridge does a magnificent job bringing the characters to life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fast-paced, readers will enjoy the doting father of teens on an investigation accompanied by his wife and his manservant.

    In 1951, Harriet Vane and her husband Lord Peter Wimsey leisurely eat breakfast while reading the newspaper. Harriet peruses Lord Attenbury Arthur Abcock's obituary, which mentions the Attenbury emeralds.

    Peter knows first-hand about the infamous emeralds that was the motive of his first detective investigation. He and his manservant Mervyn Bunter tell Harriet what happened in 1921 when the Attenbury emeralds vanished and Lord Peter solving the case. As they complete their tale of exotic thievery, Lord Attenbury's grandson Edward arrives. He asks Lord Peter to help solve a new problem involving the family emeralds. Peter accompanied by Harriet and of course Bunter, investigates as thefts and murder abound.

    Jill Paton Walsh's latest Wimsey-Vane (see A Presumption of Death) captures the essences of Dorothy L. Sayer's great detective while bringing her own spin to the story line; in other words this is not Sayer's light, but instead a homage to the great writer in Ms. Walsh's style. The story line captures two historical post world war eras in Great Britain that enables the audience to compare how society adjusted to peace in their times. Fast-paced, readers will enjoy the doting father of teens on an investigation accompanied by his wife and his manservant.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Run for Your Dictionary

    Not since the death of William Buckley have I had to utilize a dictionary with the frequency of this very well written book.

    Aside from the vocabulary the writing style brings to life post-WWII England still hanging on to its recent Victorian heritage. A marvelous time piece and an excellent mystery rides along in the historical setting.

    The read is a bit slower because of the particulars of language usage. But it is an enjoyable ride you really do not wish to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    Having now read all of the Lord Peter Wimsey titles, I feel that

    Having now read all of the Lord Peter Wimsey titles, I feel that J.P. Walsh has not failed the late Dorothy L. Sayers in writing a novel *based upon* Sayers' characters. It takes from Peter's past and brings them (the Wimsey Cohort) to post war (WWII) England in a most unusual way. It was a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Good sequel by another author

    This is about first case with a touch of todds series up to when he becomes Lord whimsey. Wolfe made a rerun and hope spenser does as well as this one now she can do more retro Peter had a niece mentioned once in gaudy night as being away to school and never again! Have every sawyer and welsh too you can reread these and still enjoy a few kess quotes and play on words mom

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly recommend this for Lord Peter Fans

    I found this to be a good contribution to the series. I enjoyed the explanation that gave insight into Lord Peter's early times following the Great War. And the continuation into the post WWII times. The continued development of Lord Peter and Lady Peter Wimsey, Bunter and the rest of the those who make up the people we all know I am pleased to read. I hope that Jill Paton Walsh will be able to continue to allow us to visit with them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Keep them coming!

    It's been far too long since Ms Walsh wrote a Peter Wimsey & Harriet Vane book. I'm glad she's back & hope she writes many more. She's picked up Dorothy Sayers' ball extremely well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Recommend

    Great read!! I recommend. Jill P. Walsh has done a terrific job following up with the Wimsey series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    ?

    Would love to review this book but haven't received it yet. Still waiting. Love Peter Wimsey and Harriet Vane.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Recommended from a DLS fam

    I am now around the same age as Peter is the the Attenbury Emeralds, I've been reading Sayers since my teens and Walsh her first Wimsey. (And I have cats named Lord Peter, Harriet and Mr. Bunter!) I give this one five stars for what it is: A updated, faster paced Wimsey. If I were comparing it to Sayers herself, I would probably give it one less star. The reason was expressed by an earlier reviewer, that it lacks some of the detail and meanderings of Sayers. And yes, I have just re-read Busman's Honeymoon. One of the interesting and, I think, difficult things about writing this sequal which is set in 1950 or 1951, is the need to incorporate the societal changes into a pre-war framework we Wimsey/Sayers fans love. I spent my teen years wishing I had a Bunter. The Second World War is still fresh in everyone's mind and it has changed the world much more than WWI which Wimsey and Bunter also experineced. It is hard to change the framework in which one has lived life for so many years. Walsh tries to do this by having the story of the 1921 adventure begin the book. I do wish that Walsh had written more about the Bunters and how they felt about what was happending as I think that would add to our understanding of the changes taking place. Finally, I would like to see one more book about Peter and Harriet as their Graces. I know that Peter will recover financially - maybe with the assistance of Peter Bunter?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2