Customer Reviews for

Attracted to Fire

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Good

    This is a good read hope to read more from this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Great

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were really well developed and i had no issue connecting with the main ones. The plot really drew me in and kept me guessing...even though there were little hints throughout and i had my suspicions, the endimg was great. I like the romantic and faith sides to the story. Both were well done and not too in your face. I highly reccommend this book and i really wish there was a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    Good Book! Special Agent Meghan Connors was chosen to be on the

    Good Book! Special Agent Meghan Connors was chosen to be on the protective detail for the Vice President's rebellious daughter. The detail is led by Ash Zinders who dislikes female agents on his team. The team is met by trials at every turn and they don't know who to trust. Is there hidden cameras, a double agent? Who is trying to hurt the agents and who will be next? The reader is left guessing until the end who is responsible for all the trouble on the West Texas ranch. I really enjoyed all the suspense in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Loved it!

    Love DiAnn Mills and this one was wonderful! Love the suspense and interesting characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    Attracted to Fire by DiAnn Mills was a great read. I could barle

    Attracted to Fire by DiAnn Mills was a great read. I could barley put it
    down it was so good. The book kept me on the edge of my seat the whole
    time. I would recommend it to my friends in a heart beat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Attracted to Fire I just finished this fast paced action filled

    Attracted to Fire

    I just finished this fast paced action filled drama about the work of the secret Service Special Agents. This is one suspenseful novel that I had a hard time putting down, even though I knew I desperately needed to sleep. There were numerous conflicts to keep the adrenaline flowing – between the two Secret Agents (Secret Agent Meghan Conner and Secret Agent in Charge Ash Zinders, nicnamed A2Z) who were competing for the same office, the men and women thrown together on a working ranch, the vice president’s daughter and those trying to keep her safe, and even after the reader was told who the villains were, this continued.
    I enjoyed learning how the characters learnt to trust each other and God in spite of the evidence they had, which is perhaps the main core of the novel. Trust between child and parent, learning to differentiate between what emotions tell you and what reality tells you. Mix in the angst of an angry daughter using drugs and alcohol to deaden perceived hurts and you have the making of a hair raising ride. Hang on tight, or get off. This book is not for the faint hearted who are looking for a rocking chair read.
    I was so involve with all the action happening, I am not sure that I noticed much about the area in Texas where the Dancin' Dust Ranch is located. The novel was well written and it took a while after I was done for my heart beat to slow down to normal. Good thing, because I want to sleep tonight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    What a Great Book! I really enjoyed this book. The characters w

    What a Great Book!
    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were well developed, especially Ash and Meghan. These characters remind me that past events shape who we are and how we deal with life. I also gained insight into what the Secret Service experience on a daily basis. This is generally not a book I would choose, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Action packed political/crime thriller!

    I don't read a lot of contemporary fiction, but I'm really glad I picked up this book! DiAnn Mills delivers quite an action packed tale in "Attracted to Fire," and I literally could not put it down! (I had to stay up til 1:30 just to finish it last night!)
    I won't bother with a plot summary, as that's already available on this site, but I'll just let you know that if you want a real page-turner, this book is for you! Granted, a few of the plot twists are predictable, but since there are so many twists and turns, it kinda makes you feel involved in the story when you're able to solve some of the mysteries alongside the main characters. :)
    I also enjoyed the author's ability to weave the message of God's love, forgiveness and true salvation into the plot. One of my favorite lines from the book was "God can only use failures," which of course is true, as we "all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God." However, I really liked how the author revealed the weaknesses and failures of the main characters, but showed how in allowing God to use their "broken vessels" they could accomplish more than they thought possible.
    I will definitely be looking for more books from DiAnn Mills in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Met DiAnn Mills at church when I lived in Houston and was introd

    Met DiAnn Mills at church when I lived in Houston and was introduced to her books at that time. It's been awhile since I've read anything by her but so glad I came across this book. It was very entertaining and grabbed my attention. I didn't want to put it down because I needed to know what happened. It was very well written and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    When the vice president's daughter receives death threats, Megha

    When the vice president's daughter receives death threats, Meghan is given the assignment of protecting the young woman as she goes through therapy for drug addiction on a secluded Texas ranch. When the vice president is sworn in as president, the threats against Lindsay increase and the ranch is attacked. Will Meghan be able to save the president's daughter even if it means losing her heart to the Special Agent in Charge?

    I enjoyed this book. I loved the characters, especially Meghan, from the first chapter. She's a great heroine: strong and independent. Even the supporting characters were well-developed and added to the overall theme of the novel. The mystery of who was threatening Lindsay was fast-paced and even though the reader finds out who it is by the middle of the book, the adventure was in finding out how the person would be caught.

    Overall, fans of Christian suspense will be delighted with another great book by DiAnn Mills.

    I received this book in exchange for my review. My thoughts and opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intricate Puzzle

    Great read! This intricate puzzle kept the attention of this reader. I was tempted last night to turn the bedside lamp on and read the remaining pages. However, I'm glad that I waited until morning; the novel demands sharp attention, and I didn't want to miss a clue.

    Suspense and romance intertwine as tragedies occur. People die. Some are murdered. Who is the cause? Who can be trusted? This is a must-read!

    Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Tyndale House Publishers for my copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Like a moth to a flame, this one is a must read!

    When Lindsey Hall's outrageous behavior causes more than a few political feathers to get ruffled, her father, the Vice President of the United States, seeks to have her committed to rehab once and for all. Sensing something more than a drug or alcohol addiction is the trouble with Lindsey he has her sent into seclusion under the watchful eyes of six Secret Service agents on a 100-acre ranch in the middle of Texas.

    Now all the agents need to do is make sure that while Lindsey is under going treatment for her addictions that they keep her safe as well. Seems since Lindsey's behavior has made the news channel there have been death threats issued against Lindsey. It seems they will stop at nothing to make sure that she is silenced one way or another, even if innocent people and agents die in the process.

    Special Agent Meghan Connors has a personal interest in wanting to see Lindsey make it through her rehab successfully. Her adopted sister also had substance abuse issues and between her and her mother, were always unable to get her to stay clean. Meghan believes that she can reach Lindsey where others have failed if only she can get her to open up and trust her. But it seems no matter how hard Meghan tries, Lindsey is keeping something hidden that she believes no one can stop.

    In charge of the operations at the Texas Ranch is Ash Zinders, whose abrasive personality doesn't seem to win him much favor from those that work with him. He is working on keeping Lindsey safe while on his watch and will stop at nothing to ensure that happens. Waiting for him if he succeeds in this endeavor is the promotion to protecting the president, and he won't let anything come between him and success, not even Meghan Connors, whom he feels is a wasted agent on this case. Ash feels that a women should never be allowed to work for the Secret Service since they are simply too big of a distraction to completing any mission.

    I received Attracted to Fire by DiAnn Mills compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and must say I really enjoyed it. The entire time was spent trying to figure out, "who did it" and kept coming up short. Glad I don't work for the secret service! My favorite character is Meghan Connor and not just for the strong women character that comes across in the book. She does have a soft side but feels the need to keep that hidden especially when Ash makes his displeasure for her being on the case known. I think that would be difficult to keep up especially when on duty full time, secluded away at the ranch.

    For those of you that love criminal suspense mystery's, then this one is a must read for you. I rate this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars and look forward to more books from DiAnn in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!!

    I LOVED this book! For those that know me, just about any Christian Romance storyline added with a Government Agency (CIA, FBI, etc), is bound to be a hit with me! Special Agent Meghan Connors seems to have it all on the outside...a great career in the Secret Service, respect from her colleagues, a loving mother who wants the best for her, and her relationship with God. Little do they know, appearances can be deceiving. What if they learned of her sister and her issues? Is that why she got this special assignment? Ash Zinders, aka A to Z, just might be the one person who can get close enough to break her steel exterior. That is, if A to Z can get past his personal feelings about female agents! Special Agent Ash Zinders hasn't gotten to where he is on accident...hard work, steel nerves, and an excellent sense of knowing when to listen to his gut has helped him climb to the top, even if it meant earning the nickname of A to Z along the way. The promotion he wants is within his sights as long as he stays focused and keeps Meghan at arms length. Nothing can get in his way, especially a female agent! With all the young celebrities in the news today, and not for being positive role models, I was not anticipating the storyline of Lindsey, the President's daughter. While she did have a drug and alcohol problem, her issues went much deeper than just acting out as a rebellious teen. Being secluded on the ranch, with Meghan and Ash protecting her, may be just what the doctor ordered! My Star Rating... 5 Stars!!! **I received this book for free from Tyndale House Publishers and was not required to post a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Slow Start but Well Worth the Read

    I have to say that when I began this book, I was pretty sure I wasn't going to like it. I like mysteries and spy novels to a degree, but this just didn't seem like my kind of book. I was not taken with the main agent--Ash. I guess Meghan was okay, but the story did not interest me.

    After about page 75, something changed for me. I'm not sure why, but I suddenly cared about the characters. The relationship between Ash and Meghan was very well done. And I actually cared about what happened to Lindsay and the president. And although I figured out some parts of the story, I didn't know everything that would happen. I hated to put the story down!

    I appreciated the way that the gospel message was so expertly woven into this story. I get tired of Christian books that force the gospel message. I generally mark those books down. The gospel message was presented in such a real way. And although the ending may not have been realistic, I was glad it ended as it did!

    If you like spy novels with a plot that has lots of twists and turns, this book is for you. Even for those who do not appreciate the gospel message, this is a book for you. The gospel message is not presented in an offensive way at all. The characterization and action are well-developed and enjoyable to say the least. I also appreciate the short chapters. Books with short chapters keep the action flowing so well. I look forward to reading more books by this author!

    Per FTC guidelines, Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. All opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Fantastic Fiction!

    I enjoy reading books written by DiAnn Mills simply because I know the read will be filled with action, love and faith.
    I also love reading about Texas. As a Texan I could "feel" all that Ms. Mills was writing about. I just love the name of the ranch, Dancin' Dust, where the agents are securing Lindsey and where a doctor and his nurse are trying to detox Lindsey with no medicines. I thought this was an interesting part of the story. I didn't realize there was so much involved in detoxing a person...not just their physical body but also their spiritual man.
    This isn't just a romance between Meghan and Ash it's about trust and faith. As the story continues Ash, Meghan and the other agents are watching and guarding the vice president's daughter, Lindsey. Lindsey is a non.stop party girl, as well as, a drug/alcohol addict/abuser (brings to mind another Lindsey--Lindsey Lohan,maybe?). Someone wants Lindsey dead! But why?
    When an agent is killed, a scorpion is found in Meghan's bed and two other people on the ranch are killed. . . Meghan knows she needs to trust Ash but everyone beings to distrust the other. Who is the murderer? Who wants to hurt people? And why? Does Lindsey hold the key?
    This is a great suspense novel! Just when I was sure that I had it figured out <poof!> another twist in the story!
    *This book was provided for review by Tyndale House Publishers*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    How close can you get before you get burned?

    ATTRACTED TO FIRE By DiAnn Mills Special Agents Meghan Connors and Bob Lawson have just received their new assignment. They are part of a 6 person security detail for Lindsay Hall under Ash Zinder. Lindsay Hall is the daughter of Presidential hopeful - Vice President Hall and she is the media's newest shock sensation with her out of control behavior. Lindsey was being sent to a working ranch in Texas for therapy and to hide her away from whoever was threatening her life. But somehow, someway the stalker was following her - sending her emails and text messages from an unknown sender who could not be answered or traced. When Lindsey's car is blown up outside her apartment the Columbian cartel is suspected. But when people start dying on the ranch the threat becomes personal. Can the agents save Lindsey or will they all be struck down by the unknown stalker. As the case becomes more personal Meghan Connors and Ash Zinder are drawn closer as they focus on those on the ranch as the source of the betrayal that took one of their own. Meghan is convinced Lindsey holds the key to the threats and that she knows her stalker. Little does anyone realize just how far Lindsey's enemy will go and just how close he is to her and those she loves. Attracted to Fire is an exciting book and fans of DiAnn Mills other works will not be disappointed. Publisher provided digital advanced reader copy for review purposes only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a tense romantic suspense thriller

    Like all the dedicated agents who work for the Secret Service, Meghan Connors hopes to protect POTUS. Her current assignment is one Megan would prefer to not have, but she knows this is the last step before POTUS as the dedicated agent diligently tries to keep the Vice President's daughter Lindsay Hall safe as her father makes a bid for the Oval office. This is not an easy task as Lindsey is a rebel without a cause whose addictive behavior places her in awkward often dangerous situations while also causing harm to her dad's campaign.

    To keep Lindsey safe from a viable threat, she is exiled to the remote Dancin' Dust Ranch in Texas. Vice President Hall demands Lindsey accompany his daughter while Agent Ash Zinders is also assigned to the team. However though the ranch is in the middle of nowhere, the attempted assaults on Lindsay escalate with bombings and homicides. Although they are rivals for the opening slot on the POTUS protection unit, Agents Connors and Hall rely on one another as they keep their charge safe while investigating why Lindsey remains a target with her so removed from DC.

    This is a tense romantic suspense thriller in which readers learn quickly how dedicated and diligent the Secret service Agents are as they risk their lives to protect their charges. The romance is typical of the sub-genre as a critical grump falls in love with a peer who understands addiction from her sister's issues. Although readers will ironically identify the villain long before anyone else does, the key to this strong taut tale is the whodunit while keeping Lindsay is the prime focus of the story line and the two agents.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A definite must read!

    Attracted to Fire
    By DiAnn Mills

    I received this e-book free from NetGalley in exchange for a book review. Attracted to Fire is a great book! Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. If you are looking for a very suspenseful page-turner, this is it! Somebody is responsible for all the trouble and nobody can trust anybody.

    Bob Lawson and Meghan Connors are assigned to protect Vice-President Hall's daughter, Lindsay. VP Hall becomes President when the President's cancer spreads. Lindsay is a drug addict and alcoholic. Ash Zinders is the agent in charge and he doesn't like female agents. Sparks fly when Meghan and Ash get together at the Dancin' Dust Ranch where Lindsay is taken for rehab and to be watched. While they are there, an agent is killed, a scorpion ends up in Meghan's bed, a ranch hand and the cook are killed. Does Lindsay hold the key to what is happening? Lindsay doesn't know who to trust or who to tell her secrets to. When she starts talking, you won't believe what happens. You will not be able to put this book down.

    David Sanchez is the psychologist the Vice-President calls in to help Lindsay. He uses supplements, vitamins and diet to combat her addictions. Does it work or is she living a nightmare? Does she really know what is going on or just imagining things? Suspense starts from page one and does not stop until you read the last page. Lindsay realizes her choices had destroyed any dreams of having the life she longed to live. She learns she has to face her demon and find out what he wants so she can stop him. She can't trust anybody and feels she has to do it on her own. This book is about trust and forgiveness. You can't do things on your own. You need God on your side and you need your friends so you don't feel alone. Read Attracted to Fire by DiAnn Mills. You will be glad you did. Even after reading the book, you will be thinking about the characters and what you learned about God and trust and forgiveness. This is a definite must read! I look forward to reading other books by DiAnn Mills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended!

    I enjoy reading DiAnn Mills books. They have a romance story but the occupations of her characters stand out more than anything. Attracted to Fire gives you an inside to the life of a Secret Agent but also how much happens with those in power in DC. Agent Meghan Connors is assigned to Lindsey Hall. Lindsey has been causing grief for her father, the Vice President. Now that her life has been threatened they have removed her to the Dancin' Dust Ranch in Texas. Agent Ash Zinders does all he can to discourage a woman agent on his team. But the order for her to be there was from the VP and Lindsey had saved his life last year. Lindsey is only twenty but has a drug and alcohol addiction. Jackson Hall knew Meghan's sister struggled with addiction as well and thought having her on the team could help her. As the story moves on Meghan and Ash learn they can only trust each other. Lindsey finally sees that she can trust Meghan. Ash has to forgive himself and others for past situations. Between bombings, scorpions, murders, suspicion, a cook who likes to use alot of jalapeno's and many other events we see the two agents become more like their nemesis the FBI as they search for the truth and how to prove it. Excellent book and you will come away with more then a love story. It amazes me to think that a Secret Service Agent will lay his life on the line for his protectee. Not the same by far but it reminds me how Jesus stood in the line of fire for us, even as undeserving as we are. This book will be released 10/1/2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2