Customer Reviews for

Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    A Solid Hit

    Your typical rock song is a fast paced, loud, youth-in-rebellion anthem about freedom. In that sense, Au Revoir Crazy European Chick is a chart topping rock'n'roll hit that you'll want to listen to over and over while cranking your speakers to the max. Like a good rock song, it's fast paced. It's also jammed with action. The story follows a teenager who has a life changing experience that inspires that need to rebel against the day-to-day acceptance of a dull reality. Schreiber weaves together a tale of violence, mystery, and excitement that sparks a sense of freedom. And in case you're wondering about all the rock'n'roll allusions, the main character has a band which plays a rather memorable scene in the book and underlines the theme of the story: unpredictable, anything goes, fun.

    Where Joe Schreiber's Eat the Dark nailed an inventive horror story, and No Windows, No Doors knocked character development out of the park, Au Revoir does the best of both. It takes a imaginative, fast-paced action story with well developed characters and smashes out a solid hit from start to finish.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    WOW. What a crazy whirlwind!  I loved the format! It starts as a

    WOW. What a crazy whirlwind!
     I loved the format! It starts as a college application style question/answer form. But you can tell, Perry just get’s too caught up in this chain of events to answer the questions seriously.
    He just rolls with it! There was some explicit sexual implications, but overall it could have been 'worse' (by worse, I mean it could have been way too descriptive...)
     I absolutely adored the style, the way you discover Gobi, and the way Perry discovers himself. You want to grit your teeth, cheer, and scream…sometimes all at once.  I read this on the staircase at my place, and finished it within an hour. I thought I knew what was going to happen…then I didn’t….then I did.
    But at the end, it didn’t matter if I saw it coming. It has a Mary Poppins ending (that is,  it was practically perfect in every way!)
    This book could be read as a standalone or, like me, you’ll look forward to Perry’s next adventure. I was wholly satisfied with this read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Good book

    Crazy, but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    For a small book, this story packs one helluva punch! The pl

    For a small book, this story packs one helluva punch!




    The plot of the book totally took me away! Seriously. The reader steps in Perry's shoes who is a nice guy. His family decides to do a foreign exchange program bringing a girl name Gobi to their home. Gobi is quiet and keeps to herself. She doesn't talk, were's crappy clothes and well is just...weird. Or so Perry thought. On the night of prom, Gobi takes Perry for an adventure of a life time. Dude, seriously Gobi is my kind of gal. Just when you think you know her...BAM! She's crazy. The plot is never boring and always kept my eyes on the paper. The more that Gobi told more of herself the more interested I became.




    Gobi herself is one crazy gal. Hellbent on getting revenge, Gobi has a mission. She is fierce and strong in everything that she does. There are moments where she spoke words that left me speechless. There is this one part in particular where she spoke with Perry's dad and HOT DAMN! I could not stop giggling and giving this girl props. She knows everyone and everything SPOT ON! She doesn't play games and get down to business.




    I'm may be a sadist when I say this but, despite what Gobi did to Perry, you can tell that there is an attraction. Gobi came to divide and conquer yet she didn't expect to see Perry bloom in one night. He went from a timid boy doing everything he is told to do, to someone who speaks his mind. Perry puts his foot down growing into a man right in front of your eyes. Perry, I'm proud of you dude!




    Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick is an engrossing tell that you can not put down. Enthralling from the very first line, this is story will rocks your socks off. An unquestionably creative story, Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick is freaking SWEET!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    AU REVOIR, CRAZY EUROPEAN CHICK displays a pretty crazy night in

    AU REVOIR, CRAZY EUROPEAN CHICK displays a pretty crazy night in the life of Perry who just wanted to spend prom night on his own terms. But that's not the night Gobi, the exchange student who is living with his family, has planned. Soon Perry finds out that Gobi isn't who she pretented to be and things get out of control. This night is packed with explosions, wild chasings and personal damage. So much action!
    New York is the setting for the killing mission Gobi is on. Bright, colourful and busy New York. It’s the most hectic - and also very fitting - city Joe Schreiber could have chosen for all the shootings and complots.
    But it's not only about the action. Each chapter starts with a sentence like this:

    What invention would the world be better off without, and why? (Kalamazoo College) ~ p. 95

    Perry is in the process of deciding which college he wants to go to. The struggles to find the right college are a major issue in AU REVOIR, CRAZY EUROPEAN CHICK, so it makes pretty much sense to include this college essay reference.The college questions are answered by a snippet out of Perry and Gobi’s night together. I was always curious what the next chapter would bring. And it could only get more lunatic each time, I had no doubt about that.
    It was a fun part to imagine a modest exchange student from Lithuania transforming into that super sexy and lethal femme fatal. Her sly and very skilled undercover agent persona impressed me. But I found her a bit too maniacal and aggressive in following her goals to develop a stable connection to her character.
    Perry is the unfortunate victim of Gobi's hatred. He has to accompany her on her killing frenzy and be witness to every surreal moment of that night. It's probably the shock of his life, but also a chance for him to stand up for his wishes and become a more confident person.
    There was a kind of sexual tension between Perry and Gobi throughout the entire night spent together, in which they get to know the other person’s true self. I would have liked a romance between these two, but there isn’t exactly that much room with all the other things going on.
    Events and characters don’t always appear very realistic, but if you are looking for some crazy action, this is your read!

    THE VERDICT

    AU REVOIR, CRAZY EUROPEAN CHICK- Insane crashes, terrific shootings and oddities of characters are the specialty of Joe Schreiber.

    Joe Schreiber’s writing is easy to consume and entertaining as well. AU REVOIR, CRAZY EUROPEAN CHICK is a story of exceptional events. It misses the desired depth and European romance chic though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Au Revoir Crazy European Chick

    If there is one thing that I have been absolutely dying to read it is Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick. Seriously with a title like that, my curiosity has been piqued and once I read the description I was ready to kill somebody so I could read the book. So, when I finally began reading, I found myself hooked on the prologue where the main character, Perry, has been shot and a mysterious somebody comes up to him and says that she had a great time that night.

    By the time I began Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick I didn’t want to stop and that’s a great thing because it’s so rare in YA that I find a novel that manages to fully grasp my attention and has me excited for what must come next in a chapter.

    Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick takes place in New York City on Prom Night where Perry (like Perry the Platypus for those of you who get the reference) has been forced by his father to take their foreign exchange student Gobija (or Gobi for short) to Prom. Once arriving at the Prom and things go sour, Perry finds himself an accomplice and hostage for Gobi as she reveals herself to be a Lithuanian assassin of sorts. From that point on the story was thrilling!

    Not only does Gobi pose a massive threat to Perry and his family, but she transforms from this nerdy geek and into the gorgeous exchange student that Perry fantasized about before her arrival to New York. I loved Gobi as a character just because she was obviously such a badass. She has an arsenal of weapons, the ability to fight and is a femme fatale who wants revenge. All the while Perry is stuck following her with the threat of her killing him and blowing up his house with his family inside on his shoulders.

    The dialogue between the two characters, and the people they came across, was all pretty laugh out loud hilarious. Author Joe Schreiber has an excellent taste of humor and an even better writing style. In most YA, action scenes are overthought and become unrealistic—that isn’t the case in Au Revoir because every high paced street chase and confrontations met with gunfire nothing was overthought. You’re caught up in the moment with Perry and Gobi and you will love every minute of it.

    And, just in case all the action above hasn’t gotten you just yet, there’s still a bit of romance that is thrown into the mixture. Perry finds himself falling for Gobi’s tricks and charms and that just makes the situations placed in front of us all the more entertaining and dangerous.

    I would recommend Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick to fans of Nikita, readers who like non-stop action and badass characters. This is one novel that I definitely want to see on the big screen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    This is stupid

    Paid but it wont donload! Ten dollars of nothing. Wasre

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fun blend of unlikely adventure and the more usual coming-of-age story

    Perry Stormaire had no intention whatsoever of attending his senior prom. Not when his band had their first ever actual gig in an actual club in New York City.

    Unfortunately his parents have other ideas when the foreign exchange student staying with Perry's family expresses her wish to attend prom before going home to Lithuania.

    Why Gobija Zaksauskas wants to attend prom is anyone's guess. Frumpy, quiet, not to mention epileptic it seems like Gobi's entire mission as a foreign exchange student was to blend into the background.

    All of that changes on prom night.

    As Gobi embarks on a night-long mission of vengeance, Perry is dragged along--sometimes literally--for the ride. A week ago Perry's biggest problems were choosing a college and working up the nerve to defy his father. Now, Perry isn't even sure if he'll make it through his prom night in one piece in Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick (2011) by Joe Schreiber.

    Though completely improbable and often needing a lot of suspension of disbelief, Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick remains a fast exciting read of pure escapism with refreshing humor and oddly authentic characters for such an outlandish story.

    Schreiber has created a fun blend of unlikely adventure and the more usual coming-of-age story. Structured with college essay question at the start of each chapter, Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick perfectly captures the panic and scrambling so often associated with the college search and application process.

    Possible Pairings: Raised by Wolves by Jennifer Lynne Barnes, White Cat by Holly Black, Heist Society by Ally Carter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lives up to the buzz!

    This was one of the "hot" titles in 2011. The narrator is Perry, a high school senior whose family is hosting a foreign exchange student named Gobi. Unfortunately for Perry and his friends, Gobi is not a hot Swedish model wannabe, but a plain Lithuanian wall flower. Gobi doesn't seem interested in making friends or fitting in, but content to remaining invisible at school. Until she gets it in her head that she wants to attend senior prom. And Perry is nominated as her escort. Poor Perry.

    Unable to worm his way out of the date, Perry is resigned to escorting Gobi to the prom and does his best to see that she has a nice time. Perry is a genuinely nice guy, and couldn't be more surprised when Gobi turns out to be much more than the shy wall flower she pretended to be!

    Taken along on a wild ride through Manhattan, Perry acts as Gobi's chauffeur while she crosses names off of her hit list. Literally. It's a crazy adventure, yet the author keeps things fun and almost believable. A much more enjoyable ride than Collateral (or any of the hit man/innocent bystander movies out there)!

    Gave this one a 4/5 as it's a fast, fun read. Really got a kick out of the college application questions at the start of each chapter, as they tied things together nicely. Liked Perry and even grew to like Gobi, once we got to know her and her motivations. Looking forward to reading more from the author, as he's an original talent with a good sense of humor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Amazing!

    This Is an amazing action packed book with feeling and suspence! This is nothing less than a five star book! There was not a moment when I could put this book down! Take it from me, READ THIS BOOK! YOU WILL FALL IN LOVE! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Best book ever

    For the good of literature it is your debt to all mankind to write a sequel i beg u please. Your work here should be recognized by everyone and also praised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2