Customer Reviews for

The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream

Average Rating 4
( 333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

This is why I'm voting for Barack Obama

The Audacity of Hope completely reaffirmed to me why I am voting for Barack Obama for President. Brilliantly written, this book is intelligent, thought-provoking and even-keel. Barack did a fantastic job. This book is clearly written and explains what he believes and wh...
The Audacity of Hope completely reaffirmed to me why I am voting for Barack Obama for President. Brilliantly written, this book is intelligent, thought-provoking and even-keel. Barack did a fantastic job. This book is clearly written and explains what he believes and why. It completely proved to me that he has the intelligence, experience and good judgement to make the best possible 44th President of the United States.

posted by 125427 on October 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed in Mississippi

I read this book because I wanted to know more about the man who wants the job as the next President of the United States of America. The book left me feeling that Barack has good intentions and truley cares about our country, but somehow his intentions become distorted...
I read this book because I wanted to know more about the man who wants the job as the next President of the United States of America. The book left me feeling that Barack has good intentions and truley cares about our country, but somehow his intentions become distorted, and not realistic . All Americans wish for the same things Barack does. We all want for all Americans to have health care, for our children to have the best education, to be safe from terrorist.... But we realized that all of these things cost money. Goverment spending is out of control, we are in serious debt. Everyone is talking about the debt we will leave our children. I believe that not only our children but that we will all suffer the consequences within the very near future. I wish that he would elaborate more on how he will fund all of these wonderful programs.

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 333 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    Disappointed in Mississippi

    I read this book because I wanted to know more about the man who wants the job as the next President of the United States of America. The book left me feeling that Barack has good intentions and truley cares about our country, but somehow his intentions become distorted, and not realistic . All Americans wish for the same things Barack does. We all want for all Americans to have health care, for our children to have the best education, to be safe from terrorist.... But we realized that all of these things cost money. Goverment spending is out of control, we are in serious debt. Everyone is talking about the debt we will leave our children. I believe that not only our children but that we will all suffer the consequences within the very near future. I wish that he would elaborate more on how he will fund all of these wonderful programs.

    28 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    This is why I'm voting for Barack Obama

    The Audacity of Hope completely reaffirmed to me why I am voting for Barack Obama for President. Brilliantly written, this book is intelligent, thought-provoking and even-keel. Barack did a fantastic job. This book is clearly written and explains what he believes and why. It completely proved to me that he has the intelligence, experience and good judgement to make the best possible 44th President of the United States.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    Just Read It!

    Absolutely amazing. Although I disagree with some of Obama's views, he presents them in a way that requires one to reexamine their ideas and beliefs. For every argument he makes, he shows a real-world example and provides a practically flawless arguement. I am a high school senior and he writes in such a way that I understand the issues he's discussing, even if I hadn't previously deeply thought about them. This should be required reading for AP Government classes.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    What Are We Really Saying

    I have to wonder when it became unpalatable to dream big in this nation. When did we stop believing in the power of our dreams? Yes, Obama wants what we all want for our country. But why is that a bad thing? I don't know if I believe he can fully achieve all that he talks about doing in this book, but he can definitely lay the groundwork for change. To me, that is what he is saying more so than 'I am the one who will come in and change this country.' He may not be able to change this country but I think the point is that he inspires us to want to change our country. We shouldn't let our fears and insecurities about something new stop us from wanting change as well. I found this book uplifting and it made me smile. Sorry if some think that those who support Obama aren't living in the 'real world'. But it's our very existence in this 'real world' that makes us WANT to support him.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2008

    an inspiration

    I'm still in high school, and this is the last election that I won't be able to vote in. As a result of Barack Obama's amazing and inspirational speeches, I've become more involved in the events of this election than ever before. I picked up this book not sure what to expect, another political nonsense book or something pure art like his first book. To my great surprise I found an outstanding, beautifully written meeting of the two. It is a book filled with the problems of our time as well as the solutions, put into the beautiful writing styles of Senator Obama. I'd recommend this book for anyone waiting for inspiration in a time when all hell seems to have broken loose.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    Great read

    This is a great read and a wonderful insight into SEN. Obama's thinking. This man has the ability, like that of JFK, to see all sides of an issue. While the more conservative reader may not agree with many of the changes he seeks in this book, it should please moderates and liberals. It is extremely well written and enjoyable.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    One of The Most Important Books of our Day

    This is not a book guided at one party and does not harp on any one belief to simply justify it. What it is, is an inside look at what makes this country tick. The laws, the people in charge, how it all came together and how it works. You WILL want to know more about your government after ready AUDACITY. It is the most patriotic voice today without preaching. And, I feel, that somewhere, somehow in a special place in my personage, I'm better for it.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Left Wing Manifesto

    Barack Obama's Change is far from new. Its origins began with FDR's New Deal and continued thirty years late with LBJ's Great Society. It failed then and it will fail again.

    8 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    New York Times

    Not worth the money or time. I highly recomend Glenn Beck's new book about George Washington. Save your money and vote for the REPUBLICANS! Obama hasn't helped us any.

    7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Between the Covers

    Being President is the same as making money - you can make any amount you want to on paper but actually doing it is another story - You can say you will do this or you will do that in a speech but actually doing it is another story. He has failed to mention where the money/support is coming from to fund all these programs he proposes. No doubt it will come from all of the hard working people. Any one with common sense knows the programs cost 'money'. I truly believe that he might be the forerunner of the 'AntiChrist'.

    7 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    Wordy

    Very, very wordy book. The author's writing style seems to this reader to be quite superfluous, almost as if you were listening to a campaign speech. Much of what is said in the book seems to contradict his current day actions. There are however, fragments of the book that are very personal and interesting. These scraps may give the reader some insight on who the author really is, I.e. his 'real' theology as well as ideology. Very difficult to read but a MUST read no matter what your politics.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    He's all talk

    he's good at saying what people want to hear, but what does he have to back it up... books just a lot of talk

    6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    The worst piece of garbage ever written

    Barack Obama has plenty of ideas on how he would like to change America, but the devil is in the details. Mr. Obama in this book offers page after page of 'compassionate' social change he will offer America if he is elected President of the United States, but there is little or no information given on how his social programs will be paid for. Long experience in American history dictates that Mr. Obama will pay for his social programs 'like 'free' health care' by slapping hard working and productive Americans with an astronomical tax increase. America needs less goverment intervention, and Obama's plans for so-called change will just accelerate this country into bankruptcy.

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    Propoganda

    Most of this book is idealism- that is fine, except when it is being used to get elected candidate for presidency. If, in fact, Mr. Obama were elected president, I doubt he would hold true to his promises, or actually work to fix our social problems. Another thing I disagree on with Mr. Obama is abortion. Abortion is murder. Even if you do not view it as murder, think of who you could be eliminating. The next great peacemaker? A future leader, perhaps? A scientist, philosopher, physician, or maybe someone who will actually strive to correct social issues locally, not just preach about it. That truly is 'the audacity of hope'.

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you don't have time to read purchase the audio version

    I drive 75 miles round trip per day, I originally purchased this book in paperback but didn't have the time to read it. I purchased the audio version and found myself listening to it over and over. This book is enlightening and provocative. The author has a geniune sense of self and the ability to make the reader believe that he too can accomplish any goal as long as he maintains focus and works hard to achieve. The reader compells you to get involved and actually be a part of the solution instead of complaining about the problems. I have his other book "Dreams of my Father" in paperback, but will pick up the audio version of it as well.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    Knowledge is power.

    It's good to know the enemy.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Leave it to the politicians!

    About what I expected for another crooked politician. I should have known by the people he associates with. If yu take favors from crooks and hang out with crooks, well what can you expect.

    5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Lame

    Screw OBAMA, he's scerwing america!!!!!

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Obama - the Failure

    The mpost corrupt administration in history

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    The Audacity of Hope makes the reader have hope

    Reading this book was enlightening, touching, absorbing and down right enjoyable. When I decided to support Barack Obama for President of the United States, many people asked me why I was so certain about his ability. My response was a simple one: "I can see that he has a good heart and his intelligence is unquestionable. He is what we need." After reading this book, I can feel the goodness in his heart, and I am convinced of his ability to lead the United States back to our greatness. Audacity of Hope is one of the best non-fiction books I have ever read and certainly the best in several years.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 333 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17