Customer Reviews for

The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream

Average Rating 4
( 335 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

This is why I'm voting for Barack Obama

The Audacity of Hope completely reaffirmed to me why I am voting for Barack Obama for President. Brilliantly written, this book is intelligent, thought-provoking and even-keel. Barack did a fantastic job. This book is clearly written and explains what he believes and wh...
The Audacity of Hope completely reaffirmed to me why I am voting for Barack Obama for President. Brilliantly written, this book is intelligent, thought-provoking and even-keel. Barack did a fantastic job. This book is clearly written and explains what he believes and why. It completely proved to me that he has the intelligence, experience and good judgement to make the best possible 44th President of the United States.

posted by 125427 on October 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed in Mississippi

I read this book because I wanted to know more about the man who wants the job as the next President of the United States of America. The book left me feeling that Barack has good intentions and truley cares about our country, but somehow his intentions become distorted...
I read this book because I wanted to know more about the man who wants the job as the next President of the United States of America. The book left me feeling that Barack has good intentions and truley cares about our country, but somehow his intentions become distorted, and not realistic . All Americans wish for the same things Barack does. We all want for all Americans to have health care, for our children to have the best education, to be safe from terrorist.... But we realized that all of these things cost money. Goverment spending is out of control, we are in serious debt. Everyone is talking about the debt we will leave our children. I believe that not only our children but that we will all suffer the consequences within the very near future. I wish that he would elaborate more on how he will fund all of these wonderful programs.

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 335 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    All about the money

    Ever since he was elected as president everywhere you look Obama is selling something. Its all about profit for useless things.

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    Responsible Voters Are Informed

    Barack Obama, the now Democratic nominee for President of the United States, opens up & shares with readers valuable information about himself. As responsible voters in what has become one of the most important elections in history, Americans owe it to themselves to learn as much about the candidates as possible. Obama¿s book empowers the reader to shape an informed opinion of him & hear his beliefs on the issues that Americans face today. If the reader is still undecided as to whom they should vote for in the election, The Audacity of Hope would be time & money well invested. <BR/> Obama did not grow up privileged. Born in Hawaii the product of an interracial marriage between a black African father & a white American mother during the civil rights movement, he writes about his sister and other family members, ¿¿that family get-togethers over Christmas take on the appearance of a UN General Assembly meeting.¿(231) Although Obama was too young to fully understand the changes taking place in the country during the 1960¿s, he wrote of his mother, ¿whenever the opportunity presented itself, she would drill into me the values that she saw there: tolerance, equality, standing up for the disadvantaged.¿(29) These values undoubtedly influenced the Columbia University & Harvard Law School graduate work as a community organizer in his home state of IL & to practice as a civil rights attorney before his election to the senate in 2004. <BR/> Being a devoted family man is one of Obama¿s main priorities and he devotes an entire chapter to the subject. His parents divorced when he was a boy and he was raised by a single mother and later, his grandmother. Now as the father of two children, he feels a great sense of responsibility to be a participating parent in their lives. While he credits his wife Michelle for making the family work, he also points out how important it is that fathers take an active role in the lives of their children. Obama writes of the many sacrifices made on his behalf by his mother & grandmother & identifies with parents who cannot spend as much time with their children as they would like. It is the memory of those sacrifices that keep him humble and drive his passion to repair what he sees as broken government.<BR/> According to Obama, government has failed the people it should represent. He recalls his early meetings with President George W. Bush and writes, ¿I had found the president to be a likeable man¿¿(45), however he goes on to say, ¿I¿ve been a steady & occasionally fierce critic of the Bush Administration policies. I consider the Bush tax cuts for the wealthy to be both fiscally irresponsible and morally troubling.¿(47) Obama has taken the position in his campaign that the middle class deserves a tax cut. <BR/> Obama¿s book offers the reader an overview of his core beliefs. He writes, ¿I believe in evolution, scientific inquiry, and global warming; I believe in free speech, whether politically correct or politically incorrect, & I am suspicious of using government to impose anybody¿s religious beliefs-including my own- on nonbelievers.¿(10) A reviewer from the Chicago Tribune called The Audacity of Hope ¿An upbeat view of the country¿s potential & a political biography that concentrates on the senator¿s core values.¿<BR/> In the Philadelphia Daily News a review of Obama¿s book read, ¿The Audacity of Hope¿is fascinating in its revelation of Obama as someone who consider

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    HOPE AT LAST!

    Congratulations Mr. President Elect Barack Obama! You are the light at the end of the tunnel. May the Lord Protect you and your family. I loved all of your books and Highly recommend them.

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Great read for high school students as well !

    My teenager, who barely has time to read anything outside of school and, as a result, shows little interest in additional outside reading, picked up this book when I had it on the table and couldn't put it down. He expressed what a shame it is his life is filled with so many 'classics' that he isn't given time to read books he finds personally interesting. After he stated this to his English teacher, she gave him extra credit to submit an essay on this book. Even my Republican spouse read this book after hearing all the fuss about it in the family. Audacity of Hope is an easy-to-read and well-written book with many insightful perspectives on life as a U.S. Senator and our nation's political process, together with Senator Obama's reflections on many topics he's passionate about that affect us all. It's a page turner whether you are Republican, Democrat, or Independent, so keep an open mind and please don't let your party affilitation stop you from reading this great book. Audacity of Hope should be on every high school's political science and government reading list and on every household bookshelf.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    The same old same old

    Lets face it, this is the same idealistic publicity stunt that we have seen for decades wrapped in a new media friendly package. I can honestly say I was not impressed.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    Wished all the Chapters were entitled Accountability

    Why should we be suprised-- not a single mention of personal accountability...I wish every chapter had been entitled "Accountabilty" and he was still writing.....
    The most important change needed in Washington- with no hope of realization
    I don't think he and his wonderful political colleagues will ever change for the better... they don't see what really matters of elected officials..
    We need them to serve their country-- the country should not serve them - in any possible way-- if you are comfortable in political office - you need to resign .. and go away...

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    Change We Need!

    Congratulations on the winning the presidency Barak Obama!!!<BR/>O say does that star-spangled banner yet wave o'er the land of the free and the home of the brave? Yes, Yes it does!!

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Really???

    Wow, so... having a socialistic dream of demolishing the American way of life and masking it with unjustified entitlements that no one can afford and people still think he is the right president for this country. He would be the ideal president of a country that is an enemy of the USA. Currently holds the record for the lowest public approval rating but wait, what he writes about is really what he wants for us? Actions speak louder than words and despite whatever he writes about in a book, the history will show what his intentions really were and are. All you two-star rating and above, how does that Cool Aid taste?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No

    Obama= 100% talk, 0% do it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Anna yarbrough

    He just wants to ruin America because he is a MUSLUM!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    TERRIBLE! the only thing this man hopes for is to get more MONE

    TERRIBLE! the only thing this man hopes for is to get more MONEY in his wallet! dont buy this you will be wasting your money and putting more money in this mans wallet!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    Propaganda. Nothing more

    Don't waste your money.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    To Know our president more

    This book helped me to understand the way our president thinks. I had some doubts about rather or not he could do a good job in office because I knew nothing about him. After reading this book I feel more confident in his ability to lead us. Please read this book. It is well written and an inspirationally peice of work.

    Sincerely,
    Kerri

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Inspiring Book!

    It is a book on where President Obama stands in his morale judgements on politics and the average American.<BR/>Republicans and Democrats that are clear and open minded should read this book. It is truly inspiring.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The history behind bama our 44th President

    This book was given to me by my son for Christmas. I probably would have never read this book had Barack Obama not been elected President. As it all turns out I did and count it as one of the best books I've ever read. I found it to be informational about events and times in history I was too young to remember or to wrapped up in my own little life to. The book had very touching moments as well. I feel like I now know so much more about the man we elected to lead our country, besides the campaign speechs. I also got a very good lesson on our Constitution and how our political system really works.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Barack Obama's Book!

    I hope I get to get this book this is a book that I have been asking for for a month now. I think I am going to get it from my parents this weekened cause I got a good report card and so far my GPA is 3.5 right now from my first marking period and I hope I do well you for my other 4 marking periods get an even better GPA!!!!!! <BR/><BR/>THIS IS THE BOOK I WANT LOOK DOWN!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    World's Hope

    Congratulations President Barack Obama,<BR/>God bless you and spread your ideals throughout the mankind.<BR/>And don't forget that PEACE and PROSPERITY are indivisible, so everyone deserves it.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    YES WE CAN, YES WE DID, YES WE WILL!!

    From the first time that I saw Barack Obama, I felt a connection to his message, and believed that his ideals would resonate with everyday people, particularly the ones that are routinely ignored by this country and our government. <BR/><BR/>I was a child of the civil rights movement. As a young, outnumbered white child on the south side of Chicago, I remember Martin Luther King Jr. After the assassinations of King and the Kennedy¿s, I became disillusioned with politics.<BR/><BR/>It was not until Bill Clinton ran for office, that I became interested in supporting any political agenda again - and he was the first President that I ever voted for, twice. I have been to rallies for both Clintons.<BR/><BR/>Forty-five years after Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. made his I Have a Dream speech, it was only fitting that on that night, the very first multi-racial man accept the Democratic nomination for the Presidency of the United States of America. <BR/><BR/>This has been a long journey and is not just a political event. It is an exuberant spectacle of a celebration - the magnitude of which has never been seen before, and may never be seen again, in my life time. Thank you all, for your unwavering vision, and the courage to confront what lies ahead. <BR/><BR/>Thank you for inspiring the nation. The Gods are smiling upon us at this moment. There is the magic of hope in the air.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    EXCELLENT

    I found this book very interesting and full of amazing ideas on how to change a country that is in desperate need for change. I'm mexican so I can say that I wish someone in my country thought the same way. All the areas he covers in his book together, are I think the key places where change is most needed.<BR/>I especially enjoyed his analysis on the dipomatic aspect; on how he knows there have been mistakes but also what could be done to restore the United States's image around the world.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    GO Obama

    What a great read. Before you vote for Obama or before you count him out at election time, read this book and read his first book 'Dreams of my Father'. These books tell you who he is and shows his authenticity. When you see Borak Obama, you will not see an African American, but a true American, living the American dream. He is showing hope to the average American that we all can be all the we aspire, regardless of our backgrounds, regardless of our finances, regardless of the negetavity that society may put in our faces. WE can achieve what's perceived as the unachievable.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 335 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17