BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream

Average Rating 4
( 337 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

This is why I'm voting for Barack Obama

The Audacity of Hope completely reaffirmed to me why I am voting for Barack Obama for President. Brilliantly written, this book is intelligent, thought-provoking and even-keel. Barack did a fantastic job. This book is clearly written and explains what he believes and wh...
The Audacity of Hope completely reaffirmed to me why I am voting for Barack Obama for President. Brilliantly written, this book is intelligent, thought-provoking and even-keel. Barack did a fantastic job. This book is clearly written and explains what he believes and why. It completely proved to me that he has the intelligence, experience and good judgement to make the best possible 44th President of the United States.

posted by 125427 on October 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed in Mississippi

I read this book because I wanted to know more about the man who wants the job as the next President of the United States of America. The book left me feeling that Barack has good intentions and truley cares about our country, but somehow his intentions become distorted...
I read this book because I wanted to know more about the man who wants the job as the next President of the United States of America. The book left me feeling that Barack has good intentions and truley cares about our country, but somehow his intentions become distorted, and not realistic . All Americans wish for the same things Barack does. We all want for all Americans to have health care, for our children to have the best education, to be safe from terrorist.... But we realized that all of these things cost money. Goverment spending is out of control, we are in serious debt. Everyone is talking about the debt we will leave our children. I believe that not only our children but that we will all suffer the consequences within the very near future. I wish that he would elaborate more on how he will fund all of these wonderful programs.

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    This is why I'm voting for Barack Obama

    The Audacity of Hope completely reaffirmed to me why I am voting for Barack Obama for President. Brilliantly written, this book is intelligent, thought-provoking and even-keel. Barack did a fantastic job. This book is clearly written and explains what he believes and why. It completely proved to me that he has the intelligence, experience and good judgement to make the best possible 44th President of the United States.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    Just Read It!

    Absolutely amazing. Although I disagree with some of Obama's views, he presents them in a way that requires one to reexamine their ideas and beliefs. For every argument he makes, he shows a real-world example and provides a practically flawless arguement. I am a high school senior and he writes in such a way that I understand the issues he's discussing, even if I hadn't previously deeply thought about them. This should be required reading for AP Government classes.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    What Are We Really Saying

    I have to wonder when it became unpalatable to dream big in this nation. When did we stop believing in the power of our dreams? Yes, Obama wants what we all want for our country. But why is that a bad thing? I don't know if I believe he can fully achieve all that he talks about doing in this book, but he can definitely lay the groundwork for change. To me, that is what he is saying more so than 'I am the one who will come in and change this country.' He may not be able to change this country but I think the point is that he inspires us to want to change our country. We shouldn't let our fears and insecurities about something new stop us from wanting change as well. I found this book uplifting and it made me smile. Sorry if some think that those who support Obama aren't living in the 'real world'. But it's our very existence in this 'real world' that makes us WANT to support him.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2008

    an inspiration

    I'm still in high school, and this is the last election that I won't be able to vote in. As a result of Barack Obama's amazing and inspirational speeches, I've become more involved in the events of this election than ever before. I picked up this book not sure what to expect, another political nonsense book or something pure art like his first book. To my great surprise I found an outstanding, beautifully written meeting of the two. It is a book filled with the problems of our time as well as the solutions, put into the beautiful writing styles of Senator Obama. I'd recommend this book for anyone waiting for inspiration in a time when all hell seems to have broken loose.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    One of The Most Important Books of our Day

    This is not a book guided at one party and does not harp on any one belief to simply justify it. What it is, is an inside look at what makes this country tick. The laws, the people in charge, how it all came together and how it works. You WILL want to know more about your government after ready AUDACITY. It is the most patriotic voice today without preaching. And, I feel, that somewhere, somehow in a special place in my personage, I'm better for it.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you don't have time to read purchase the audio version

    I drive 75 miles round trip per day, I originally purchased this book in paperback but didn't have the time to read it. I purchased the audio version and found myself listening to it over and over. This book is enlightening and provocative. The author has a geniune sense of self and the ability to make the reader believe that he too can accomplish any goal as long as he maintains focus and works hard to achieve. The reader compells you to get involved and actually be a part of the solution instead of complaining about the problems. I have his other book "Dreams of my Father" in paperback, but will pick up the audio version of it as well.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    The Audacity of Hope makes the reader have hope

    Reading this book was enlightening, touching, absorbing and down right enjoyable. When I decided to support Barack Obama for President of the United States, many people asked me why I was so certain about his ability. My response was a simple one: "I can see that he has a good heart and his intelligence is unquestionable. He is what we need." After reading this book, I can feel the goodness in his heart, and I am convinced of his ability to lead the United States back to our greatness. Audacity of Hope is one of the best non-fiction books I have ever read and certainly the best in several years.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    HOPE AT LAST!

    Congratulations Mr. President Elect Barack Obama! You are the light at the end of the tunnel. May the Lord Protect you and your family. I loved all of your books and Highly recommend them.

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Great read for high school students as well !

    My teenager, who barely has time to read anything outside of school and, as a result, shows little interest in additional outside reading, picked up this book when I had it on the table and couldn't put it down. He expressed what a shame it is his life is filled with so many 'classics' that he isn't given time to read books he finds personally interesting. After he stated this to his English teacher, she gave him extra credit to submit an essay on this book. Even my Republican spouse read this book after hearing all the fuss about it in the family. Audacity of Hope is an easy-to-read and well-written book with many insightful perspectives on life as a U.S. Senator and our nation's political process, together with Senator Obama's reflections on many topics he's passionate about that affect us all. It's a page turner whether you are Republican, Democrat, or Independent, so keep an open mind and please don't let your party affilitation stop you from reading this great book. Audacity of Hope should be on every high school's political science and government reading list and on every household bookshelf.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    Change We Need!

    Congratulations on the winning the presidency Barak Obama!!!<BR/>O say does that star-spangled banner yet wave o'er the land of the free and the home of the brave? Yes, Yes it does!!

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    To Know our president more

    This book helped me to understand the way our president thinks. I had some doubts about rather or not he could do a good job in office because I knew nothing about him. After reading this book I feel more confident in his ability to lead us. Please read this book. It is well written and an inspirationally peice of work.

    Sincerely,
    Kerri

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Inspiring Book!

    It is a book on where President Obama stands in his morale judgements on politics and the average American.<BR/>Republicans and Democrats that are clear and open minded should read this book. It is truly inspiring.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The history behind bama our 44th President

    This book was given to me by my son for Christmas. I probably would have never read this book had Barack Obama not been elected President. As it all turns out I did and count it as one of the best books I've ever read. I found it to be informational about events and times in history I was too young to remember or to wrapped up in my own little life to. The book had very touching moments as well. I feel like I now know so much more about the man we elected to lead our country, besides the campaign speechs. I also got a very good lesson on our Constitution and how our political system really works.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Barack Obama's Book!

    I hope I get to get this book this is a book that I have been asking for for a month now. I think I am going to get it from my parents this weekened cause I got a good report card and so far my GPA is 3.5 right now from my first marking period and I hope I do well you for my other 4 marking periods get an even better GPA!!!!!! <BR/><BR/>THIS IS THE BOOK I WANT LOOK DOWN!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    World's Hope

    Congratulations President Barack Obama,<BR/>God bless you and spread your ideals throughout the mankind.<BR/>And don't forget that PEACE and PROSPERITY are indivisible, so everyone deserves it.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    YES WE CAN, YES WE DID, YES WE WILL!!

    From the first time that I saw Barack Obama, I felt a connection to his message, and believed that his ideals would resonate with everyday people, particularly the ones that are routinely ignored by this country and our government. <BR/><BR/>I was a child of the civil rights movement. As a young, outnumbered white child on the south side of Chicago, I remember Martin Luther King Jr. After the assassinations of King and the Kennedy¿s, I became disillusioned with politics.<BR/><BR/>It was not until Bill Clinton ran for office, that I became interested in supporting any political agenda again - and he was the first President that I ever voted for, twice. I have been to rallies for both Clintons.<BR/><BR/>Forty-five years after Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. made his I Have a Dream speech, it was only fitting that on that night, the very first multi-racial man accept the Democratic nomination for the Presidency of the United States of America. <BR/><BR/>This has been a long journey and is not just a political event. It is an exuberant spectacle of a celebration - the magnitude of which has never been seen before, and may never be seen again, in my life time. Thank you all, for your unwavering vision, and the courage to confront what lies ahead. <BR/><BR/>Thank you for inspiring the nation. The Gods are smiling upon us at this moment. There is the magic of hope in the air.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    EXCELLENT

    I found this book very interesting and full of amazing ideas on how to change a country that is in desperate need for change. I'm mexican so I can say that I wish someone in my country thought the same way. All the areas he covers in his book together, are I think the key places where change is most needed.<BR/>I especially enjoyed his analysis on the dipomatic aspect; on how he knows there have been mistakes but also what could be done to restore the United States's image around the world.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    GO Obama

    What a great read. Before you vote for Obama or before you count him out at election time, read this book and read his first book 'Dreams of my Father'. These books tell you who he is and shows his authenticity. When you see Borak Obama, you will not see an African American, but a true American, living the American dream. He is showing hope to the average American that we all can be all the we aspire, regardless of our backgrounds, regardless of our finances, regardless of the negetavity that society may put in our faces. WE can achieve what's perceived as the unachievable.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    More Than I Could Have Expected

    Barack Obama is an honest politician who writes very well about himself and his family, as well as his political beliefs. It's very easy to understand what his beliefs are and it increases understanding of the man. It was very easy and entertaining to read, and I recommend it to all those who are interested in politics should give this book by a skilled author a try.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    A rare opportunity

    Senator Obama offers a rare and greatly appreciated opportunity to examine the thoughts, hopes, and values of a potential candidate to the presidency. I just wish Mr. Bush would have offered something like this (sadly, I am sure he is incapable of writing a book, no matter how simple). This book, as well as his previous one (Dreams from My Father), offers a window into the mind of Barack Obama. The thing that strikes me the most is his sincere concern for the American people, regardless of race, nationality, economic status, etc. His main message is simple: if we act together for the common good, our nation will move forward and we will be able to overcome the many challenges ahead of us. Intelligence, reason, fairness, compassion, and kindness, not only for us, but for people of other countries as well, can and will allow us to fulfill our potential as a nation and to regain the respect of the rest of the world. My advice: take advantage of this one-of-a-kind opportunity, read the book!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9