Customer Reviews for

Audition: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the best written books ever!!

I have watched Barbra Walters all my years, and become to love her, she was very gifted in interviewing. She has seen, lived, and done more then any woman, 'other than Oprah', I've known. I admire her more now than ever, I love how gentle she was in explaining on Opra...
I have watched Barbra Walters all my years, and become to love her, she was very gifted in interviewing. She has seen, lived, and done more then any woman, 'other than Oprah', I've known. I admire her more now than ever, I love how gentle she was in explaining on Oprah, how she let the person know she was writing about the affair, which he said he approved of. As for Star, Barbra was 100% correct on her answer as to why they kept her gastric surgery quiet. I was a viewer who knew right up front, Star was lying about diet and exercise, she must have thought the real world was ignorant. I did quit watching the view, as I cannot stand a liar or a thief. When Barbra explained her side and how Star treated them with the People magazine article, 'which I read too at the time', I never believed a word that Star said, this ruined her character for me. But now I feel sympathy for Star since Barbra was compassionate and human enough to explain the situation. Barbra is 100% honest and believable and through the years I've watched her interviewing, she's always been honest whether it was good or bad. And I love her even more today because of what she told Oprah, no matter what, you will always be more respected if you tell the truth, especially being in the public eye. I understand why she wrote about her affair, her sister, and her daughter, she wanted the public to know that even though she was this major icon in our world, she was very much human and suffered pain with the rest of us. She is a woman of integrity in my eyes, and this book will stay on my shelf as a part of my historical collection, and she, along with Oprah, has given women hope. Barbra is truly a role model and a woman of great character. I highly recommend this book for everyone, man or woman to read. FANTASTIC!!

posted by Anonymous on May 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

$11.99 is way to much!! YIKES!

B&N, are you kidding?! The nook book is barely a dollar less than the cost of the paperback?! What happened to Nook editions being so much more afordable than buying the book?

posted by 1558312 on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Barbara Walters' "Audition" An Awesome Choice

    This is a really fantastic book that is written with great candor. It has really peaked my interest in historical events and given me a new appreciation for the struggles of women in the workplace that so many of us do not have to endure today. Barbara Walters' was truly a pioneer and a maverick and is truly an inspiration. While I do not agree with some of her choices, I admire her for her tenacity and dedication to her craft. A great read that is difficult to put down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Audition by Barbara Walters

    I am half way through this book and I must say thoroughly enjoying it! I got the large print paperback version for easier reading. Not only is the book written as if Barbara is speaking directly to the reader, but it is a historical masterpiece too. I don't know how Ms. Walters remembered so many dates and details from the past 6 decades, but she does it with personal insight and grace as well. It is a very easy book to pick up after a few days and get right back into the flow of her personal and professional life. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys history and biographies of famous people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Loved it! Loved it!

    Could not put this book down. Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    re hoped it would be better

    i found myself picking up the book and putting it down over and over. it just didn't stimulate me as i had hoped. i know a couple of friends really enjoyed it, but i can't recommend unfortunately. wish i would have spent my money elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    Celebrity Self-Absorption at its Worst

    This book is virtually unreadable. Ms. Walters cannot write and she has the unenviable talent of taking fascinating events of global, historical significance and rendering them deadly dull and singularly uninformative. Unless you want a book that is all about me by someone who has remarkably little self-awareness, do not buy this book. It's great reviews must be the result of slumping intelligence among readers or else the growing national obsession with the famous. A must miss book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    Barbara Walters/Audition

    I found her interviews interesting. Her life is pretty fasinating and enjoyed the book more after reading it than while reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Interesting Memoir

    Very interesting. I thought that Barbara got lucky in her career, but reading her memoir and how she made it through a "man's" world and difficult family times made for a great read. Thank you for sharing your story Barbara.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Best journalist book I have read.

    As a former TV/radio reporter/anchor I found Walter's book very interesting. Thanks to women like her she paved the way for others of us to break into this business. Her insight and neat behind the scenes look at her interview subjects and personal struggles were fascinating. Well written book and a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Haven't read the book yet.

    Sorry, I am still read a James Patterson book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    If you like time travel, this is the book for you!

    Women in media? This was UNHEARD OF in the 1960's and early 1970's. Barbara honestly relates the trail painfully blazed for today's career women. It is a well-rounded book recounting incredibly MORE than chronological slapped-together interview notes, as some readers seemed to expect. I approached the book with intrigued hope and was not disappointed in the ride. In addition to imparting a sharp focus on historical events, this book tactfully provides a closeup experience with situations and delightfully chosen VIP's. To Barbara, these were her friends. She introduces us all to them in her book. Personally, I admire the courage, honesty and forthrightness that reveals she is human, rather than a paper-doll cut-out character. This book need not be considered an 'audition'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    Go Barbara!! Go Barbara!!

    I got it the day it came out. It snatched me up big time! Wore my eyes out late at night. It took me a long time to read it because I have some medical conerns with my eyes. I learned so much from reading this book! I always admired Barbara and she writes just like she talks. She makes you comfortable. She's had a fascinating life, worked her butt off to be where she is, and...I can certainly relate to the parenting thing. I had my troubles with that, too. Wow--I just want to say, I am so proud of her and her success. Good parent, good Journalist, and a GREAT daughter and sister. From one Libra writer to another--I say thanks for such a good read. Adrienne

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    A Book of Healing

    I was always curious about Barbara Walters sadness and learned where it came from in this memoir. Audition is a book of healing not only for Miss Walters but for everyone who is emotional disabled through depression, the need to please, self-doubt, and the fear of being broke. Audition is witty, a fast read, full of historic events and people, and an insight about the TV industry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Memoirs of a Newswoman

    This book is not just a memoir. Barbara also writes about important events in history, and her relationship with heads of states, presidents, etc. A very interesting and informative read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    I AM LOVING THIS BOOK!!!

    I just started to read this and can't put it down. Barbara is facinating!Thanks for sharing your life story with us, Barbara.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Disappointed

    I was really looking forward to reading this book, only to find out that it was poorly written. The sentence structure was choppy throughout the entire book. Some chapters seemed to drag on forever and after a while it felt like a chore to read. I am an avid reader and an admirer of Barbara Walters, but I was very disappointed with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    Put me to sleep...

    Boring, Boring, Boring. It was painful getting through this book and I could not even finish it. Some parts kept me interested but most of them did not. I felt that Barbara, who I am a fan of, just rambled. I would not recommend reading this book to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    Fabulous Book!

    Absolutely love this book and have read it at least 5 times! Barbara is so diplomatic, candid and charming! What a fascinating and loving life! I am simply transported to times and places which bring events and people to life in such special ways!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    I could not put this book down!

    I purchased AUDITION after seeing it advertised on TV. I had always 'liked' Barbara Walters, now I 'love' her. She is an amazing woman, with amazing knowledge, strength, compassion and honesty. I read this book in six days from cover to cover. I didn't miss a word and would even reread a paragraph if i needed clarity. The book is written from page one to the end so interesting, the history from the sixties till now is astounding. It is really the best book I ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    I enjoyed this

    I've always found Barbara to be an interesting person. Now I know so much more about her, and was entertained in the process. Thanks Barbara.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    A remarkable read about a remarkable life

    I just finished this amazing story. I had no idea it would involve literally reliving the historic era that Ms. Walters and I share, with such clarity. I am a bit younger, so I have been aware of her touching interviews my entire life. She has perservered in a previously male dominated profession, while maintaining her femininity, integrity and emotional warmth. That is no small accomplishment for the career of a woman that stretches from the 1960's to the present day. Thank you Barbara for your tremendous contribution to the advancement of American women (and those abroad) in the professional world. A thoroughly enjoyable and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6