Customer Reviews for

Audition: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the best written books ever!!

I have watched Barbra Walters all my years, and become to love her, she was very gifted in interviewing. She has seen, lived, and done more then any woman, 'other than Oprah', I've known. I admire her more now than ever, I love how gentle she was in explaining on Opra...
I have watched Barbra Walters all my years, and become to love her, she was very gifted in interviewing. She has seen, lived, and done more then any woman, 'other than Oprah', I've known. I admire her more now than ever, I love how gentle she was in explaining on Oprah, how she let the person know she was writing about the affair, which he said he approved of. As for Star, Barbra was 100% correct on her answer as to why they kept her gastric surgery quiet. I was a viewer who knew right up front, Star was lying about diet and exercise, she must have thought the real world was ignorant. I did quit watching the view, as I cannot stand a liar or a thief. When Barbra explained her side and how Star treated them with the People magazine article, 'which I read too at the time', I never believed a word that Star said, this ruined her character for me. But now I feel sympathy for Star since Barbra was compassionate and human enough to explain the situation. Barbra is 100% honest and believable and through the years I've watched her interviewing, she's always been honest whether it was good or bad. And I love her even more today because of what she told Oprah, no matter what, you will always be more respected if you tell the truth, especially being in the public eye. I understand why she wrote about her affair, her sister, and her daughter, she wanted the public to know that even though she was this major icon in our world, she was very much human and suffered pain with the rest of us. She is a woman of integrity in my eyes, and this book will stay on my shelf as a part of my historical collection, and she, along with Oprah, has given women hope. Barbra is truly a role model and a woman of great character. I highly recommend this book for everyone, man or woman to read. FANTASTIC!!

posted by Anonymous on May 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

$11.99 is way to much!! YIKES!

B&N, are you kidding?! The nook book is barely a dollar less than the cost of the paperback?! What happened to Nook editions being so much more afordable than buying the book?

posted by 1558312 on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Fascinating

    This book kept me up until daylight! I do have to question the amount of times Ms. Walters says she felt guilty about something--but had it in her power to do things differently (ie her sister, her daughter) Also, I know that she needs to be impartial due to her status as a Journalist but she sure went out of her way to befriend some truly disturbed and heinous people. Eating grilled cheese with Fidel Castro-really not necessary for the story and so offensive to Cuban Americans. Other strange 'friendships' include one of the Melendez brothers, Chavez, and Roy Cohn. However, the book was chock full of interesting facts and stories about tons of fascinating people. It seems like Barbara stepped on a lot of toes to get where she is today. But she is larger than life and I was extremely interested throught this book. Well worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Good Read. Very interesting.

    It is written like Ms Walters speaks. You can almost hear her talking. Good sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Barbara

    The book is as interesting as the woman herself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Barbara Walters fan must read

    Detailed and interesting insight into the life of
    Ms. Walters. Some surprising facts. It can be a bit tedious at times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Barbrara Walters, The Personal & the Professional

    This bestselling autobiography by the inimitable and groundbreaking Barbara Walters offers not only an intimate view into her own personal life, but also keen insights on the inner workings of the media.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    Barbara at her best!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Historical, insightful

    Loved the way that Ms. Walters respects, yet is honest with her perceptions and descriptions of the amazing people she interviewed and knew/knows personally in this book.

    She is brutally honest about her interpersonal relationships. Yes, all of us seem to have in common with her; however it is nice to read how someone overcame, the guilt and ramifications of her personal choices that in so many ways, not only shaped her life, but made her into who she is today.

    Her drive and outlook on life, and respect for others in it with her is indeed not only to be admired, but mirrored by others in this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well-told Story of a TV Journalist

    There is not a doubt that Barbara Walters was a groundbreaking television personality - as a young woman, she broke into the "boys club" of television news through sheer persistence and will power. In addition to the excitement and stress of building a career, she dealt with (and often supported) her mother, father, and mentally-disabled older sister. Ms. Walters writes of this with fair honesty as she chronicles her rise to television stardom. I enjoyed listening to this on the unabridged CD set, which is narrated by Bernadette Dunne, whose voice is remarkably similar to Barbara Walters', but without the distracting pronunciation problems the author herself acknowledges. Issues I had with the book: the descriptions of interviews with world leaders seem to go on forever, and she often takes on a self-congratulatory tone - which comes across as I-was-there-and-you-weren't smugness. But she's had a fascinating life that she's worked hard for - so maybe she's entitled to a bit of bragging. Enjoyable listening - all 21 discs of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    Barbara Walters/Audition

    I found her interviews interesting. Her life is pretty fasinating and enjoyed the book more after reading it than while reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Interesting Memoir

    Very interesting. I thought that Barbara got lucky in her career, but reading her memoir and how she made it through a "man's" world and difficult family times made for a great read. Thank you for sharing your story Barbara.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Best journalist book I have read.

    As a former TV/radio reporter/anchor I found Walter's book very interesting. Thanks to women like her she paved the way for others of us to break into this business. Her insight and neat behind the scenes look at her interview subjects and personal struggles were fascinating. Well written book and a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    A Book of Healing

    I was always curious about Barbara Walters sadness and learned where it came from in this memoir. Audition is a book of healing not only for Miss Walters but for everyone who is emotional disabled through depression, the need to please, self-doubt, and the fear of being broke. Audition is witty, a fast read, full of historic events and people, and an insight about the TV industry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Memoirs of a Newswoman

    This book is not just a memoir. Barbara also writes about important events in history, and her relationship with heads of states, presidents, etc. A very interesting and informative read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    I enjoyed this

    I've always found Barbara to be an interesting person. Now I know so much more about her, and was entertained in the process. Thanks Barbara.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2