Customer Reviews for

Audition: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the best written books ever!!

I have watched Barbra Walters all my years, and become to love her, she was very gifted in interviewing. She has seen, lived, and done more then any woman, 'other than Oprah', I've known. I admire her more now than ever, I love how gentle she was in explaining on Opra...
I have watched Barbra Walters all my years, and become to love her, she was very gifted in interviewing. She has seen, lived, and done more then any woman, 'other than Oprah', I've known. I admire her more now than ever, I love how gentle she was in explaining on Oprah, how she let the person know she was writing about the affair, which he said he approved of. As for Star, Barbra was 100% correct on her answer as to why they kept her gastric surgery quiet. I was a viewer who knew right up front, Star was lying about diet and exercise, she must have thought the real world was ignorant. I did quit watching the view, as I cannot stand a liar or a thief. When Barbra explained her side and how Star treated them with the People magazine article, 'which I read too at the time', I never believed a word that Star said, this ruined her character for me. But now I feel sympathy for Star since Barbra was compassionate and human enough to explain the situation. Barbra is 100% honest and believable and through the years I've watched her interviewing, she's always been honest whether it was good or bad. And I love her even more today because of what she told Oprah, no matter what, you will always be more respected if you tell the truth, especially being in the public eye. I understand why she wrote about her affair, her sister, and her daughter, she wanted the public to know that even though she was this major icon in our world, she was very much human and suffered pain with the rest of us. She is a woman of integrity in my eyes, and this book will stay on my shelf as a part of my historical collection, and she, along with Oprah, has given women hope. Barbra is truly a role model and a woman of great character. I highly recommend this book for everyone, man or woman to read. FANTASTIC!!

posted by Anonymous on May 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

$11.99 is way to much!! YIKES!

B&N, are you kidding?! The nook book is barely a dollar less than the cost of the paperback?! What happened to Nook editions being so much more afordable than buying the book?

posted by 1558312 on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Highly Recommended! Very good book.

    This was a page turner. Barbara led a very interesting life from childhood to where she is now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2008

    One of the best written books ever!!

    I have watched Barbra Walters all my years, and become to love her, she was very gifted in interviewing. She has seen, lived, and done more then any woman, 'other than Oprah', I've known. I admire her more now than ever, I love how gentle she was in explaining on Oprah, how she let the person know she was writing about the affair, which he said he approved of. As for Star, Barbra was 100% correct on her answer as to why they kept her gastric surgery quiet. I was a viewer who knew right up front, Star was lying about diet and exercise, she must have thought the real world was ignorant. I did quit watching the view, as I cannot stand a liar or a thief. When Barbra explained her side and how Star treated them with the People magazine article, 'which I read too at the time', I never believed a word that Star said, this ruined her character for me. But now I feel sympathy for Star since Barbra was compassionate and human enough to explain the situation. Barbra is 100% honest and believable and through the years I've watched her interviewing, she's always been honest whether it was good or bad. And I love her even more today because of what she told Oprah, no matter what, you will always be more respected if you tell the truth, especially being in the public eye. I understand why she wrote about her affair, her sister, and her daughter, she wanted the public to know that even though she was this major icon in our world, she was very much human and suffered pain with the rest of us. She is a woman of integrity in my eyes, and this book will stay on my shelf as a part of my historical collection, and she, along with Oprah, has given women hope. Barbra is truly a role model and a woman of great character. I highly recommend this book for everyone, man or woman to read. FANTASTIC!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    At nine o'clock this morning, I arrived at Barnes and Noble, picked up Audition and sat down to read with a cup of coffee. I read for hours, bought the book and continued reading at home. At over 600 pages, this book cannot be read in a day. However, I have read enough to report that the book is magnificent extremely well- written, very pleasurable to read and absolutely fascinating. Open this book and on the inside jacket is a listing of the hundreds (thousands?) of people who Barbara Walters has interviewed and knows. It's pretty staggering, actually. Born September 25, 1929, Barbara Walters has led an extraordinary life. Walters was first known as a TV morning news anchor and became the first female evening news anchor and many of us know her as the interviewer who can make anyone cry. Walters has spent decades reporting the news and extracting juicy details and world events out of world leaders, celebrities, heads of state and other VIP's. In Audition, we get to learn about Walter's personal and professional life and her relationships with many of the most famous people in the world. In the introduction, Walters states: 'It feels to me that my life has been one long audition--and attempt to make a difference and to be accepted.' I was quite moved by her introduction and her feelings about her mentally challenged older sister, Jackie. Walters credits her sister as being the strongest influence in her life and credits her for teaching Walters about compassion and understanding--the traits that have made her such an outstanding interviewer. 'I've guarded my sister's privacy for years.' Walters writes. 'And although she was the central force in my life, she was part of the package that I'm about to unwrap on these pages.' Walter's warmth and compassion comes through in this book and you come to care very deeply about her. This book is an inspiration for everyone, but especially for women. Walters even writes that the book is about giving others hope. I see hope and inspiration in these books especially for young women and girls, because it shows that a woman can be highly intelligent, tough and successful and still be a woman. Walters is a role model and this book a gift to the world. From the author of the award winning book, Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify and Energize Your Life, Your Home and Your Planet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Fascinating woman and noteworthy book

    I knew very little about Ms. Walters' personal life when I started reading this book. She is a notoriously private person. I commend the candor and honesty she exhibits in writing this memoir. She discusses her childhood, career, marriages, challenges in raising her daughter, and many of the fascinating people whom she has interviewed. If you admire Barbara Walters, you simply must read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Revealing!

    I really am enjoying this book. I've got about a quarter left to read and find it fascinating and truly interesting. I'm usually a fiction girl all the way, but have decided to branch out a bit and try reading bios on people that are interesting to me. Barbara Walters has done most of her interviewing and fame receiving long before I was even born, so it is interesting for me to get a better understanding of just who this famous woman is. The stories are interesting and really have held my attention. I appreciate her honesty and candor in her memories and stories. I really feel that I have come to respect and know her in ways I wouldn't have otherwise, if it weren't for this book. Truly, a great read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful

    The legendary newsmaker/interviewer recounts her life from her birth and her fathers triumphs and failures to her Sister with a social/mental disorder. Her marriages and the adoption of her daughter. The years on TODAY on NBC and then her transition to ABC on the Evening News and then 20/20 and of course her legendary "Specials". This lady has lived an exciting life and a very trying life and readers will truley come to cheerish this American Newscaster even more. The stories she tells about her interviewes with legends of the big screen and political leaders. We even get a new perspective on some of the Presidents. I Truely and whole heartly recommend this Memoir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Facinating Insights Into Many Famous People

    Barbara generously shares her absolutely fascinating personal and professional life. It was a great walk down memory lane of American times general for this 71 year old reader. Highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Barbara Walters' "Audition" An Awesome Choice

    This is a really fantastic book that is written with great candor. It has really peaked my interest in historical events and given me a new appreciation for the struggles of women in the workplace that so many of us do not have to endure today. Barbara Walters' was truly a pioneer and a maverick and is truly an inspiration. While I do not agree with some of her choices, I admire her for her tenacity and dedication to her craft. A great read that is difficult to put down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Audition by Barbara Walters

    I am half way through this book and I must say thoroughly enjoying it! I got the large print paperback version for easier reading. Not only is the book written as if Barbara is speaking directly to the reader, but it is a historical masterpiece too. I don't know how Ms. Walters remembered so many dates and details from the past 6 decades, but she does it with personal insight and grace as well. It is a very easy book to pick up after a few days and get right back into the flow of her personal and professional life. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys history and biographies of famous people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Loved it! Loved it!

    Could not put this book down. Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    If you like time travel, this is the book for you!

    Women in media? This was UNHEARD OF in the 1960's and early 1970's. Barbara honestly relates the trail painfully blazed for today's career women. It is a well-rounded book recounting incredibly MORE than chronological slapped-together interview notes, as some readers seemed to expect. I approached the book with intrigued hope and was not disappointed in the ride. In addition to imparting a sharp focus on historical events, this book tactfully provides a closeup experience with situations and delightfully chosen VIP's. To Barbara, these were her friends. She introduces us all to them in her book. Personally, I admire the courage, honesty and forthrightness that reveals she is human, rather than a paper-doll cut-out character. This book need not be considered an 'audition'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    Go Barbara!! Go Barbara!!

    I got it the day it came out. It snatched me up big time! Wore my eyes out late at night. It took me a long time to read it because I have some medical conerns with my eyes. I learned so much from reading this book! I always admired Barbara and she writes just like she talks. She makes you comfortable. She's had a fascinating life, worked her butt off to be where she is, and...I can certainly relate to the parenting thing. I had my troubles with that, too. Wow--I just want to say, I am so proud of her and her success. Good parent, good Journalist, and a GREAT daughter and sister. From one Libra writer to another--I say thanks for such a good read. Adrienne

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    I AM LOVING THIS BOOK!!!

    I just started to read this and can't put it down. Barbara is facinating!Thanks for sharing your life story with us, Barbara.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    Fabulous Book!

    Absolutely love this book and have read it at least 5 times! Barbara is so diplomatic, candid and charming! What a fascinating and loving life! I am simply transported to times and places which bring events and people to life in such special ways!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    I could not put this book down!

    I purchased AUDITION after seeing it advertised on TV. I had always 'liked' Barbara Walters, now I 'love' her. She is an amazing woman, with amazing knowledge, strength, compassion and honesty. I read this book in six days from cover to cover. I didn't miss a word and would even reread a paragraph if i needed clarity. The book is written from page one to the end so interesting, the history from the sixties till now is astounding. It is really the best book I ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    A remarkable read about a remarkable life

    I just finished this amazing story. I had no idea it would involve literally reliving the historic era that Ms. Walters and I share, with such clarity. I am a bit younger, so I have been aware of her touching interviews my entire life. She has perservered in a previously male dominated profession, while maintaining her femininity, integrity and emotional warmth. That is no small accomplishment for the career of a woman that stretches from the 1960's to the present day. Thank you Barbara for your tremendous contribution to the advancement of American women (and those abroad) in the professional world. A thoroughly enjoyable and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    From rubbing noses with the Dalai Lama to turning down a dinner invitation from Clint Eastwood 'Barbara, how could you?' this memoir paints a vivid picture of the plucky yet lovable journalist. It's comforting to know that she is human after all, a real person making tough choices. At times she was weak. Certainly guilt ridden. But also courageous, kind, persistent, beautiful and passionate. I was only too happy to ride on the coat-tails of Barbara's adventure filled life. After reading her story it made me thankful that there are women like her. Barbara's passion blazes a trail for those of us still making our way. The book is amazing, but then she is too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Rare Read

    To read about some of the most important movers and shakes of our age and the woman who's met them all (or nearly) is a fascinating and worthwhile way to spend an afternoon reading. Also memorable is the way Walters shares her personal life, both the great joys and deep sorrows. What a risk-taker, what a woman!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    Fantastic Reading

    I commend Ms. Walters for writing such an honest, many times amusing and very interesting account of her life. As I was reading about her problems with some of the men who treated her so badly I remember John Wayne telling someone (I don't remember who) say 'Don't let the bastards get you down'. And she certainly didn't. She has outlasted and in many cases has outlived them all. I've not finished reading the book yet but so far it has been very interesting, heartwarming and I am enjoying every page. Thank you Ms. Walters for an outstanding book. I hope to see you for many years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Excellent Book

    This book is fantastic. This book reads like a conversation. It's very well written, Ms. Walters gives wonderful insight to our history, which she was a part of, and it's a book that anyone can relate to. I recommend it as a b-day gift, Mother's Day gift... it's for everyone! It's very interesting to read about the personalities behind some of the presidents, and other historical figures. I cannot rave enough about this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3