Customer Reviews for

Audrey, Wait!

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is such a great book, i will be honest i started reading it

This is such a great book, i will be honest i started reading it and i got bored and it took me a year to try again and i got hooked!
I can't believe it took me a year to sit down and read this, it is one of the best books i have ever read. I can relate to the character...
This is such a great book, i will be honest i started reading it and i got bored and it took me a year to try again and i got hooked!
I can't believe it took me a year to sit down and read this, it is one of the best books i have ever read. I can relate to the characters causeĀ 
it is so real-life. It made me laugh, and even tear up, you will not regret this book, it is a GREAT read!

posted by GirlyBookWormKW on January 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Audrey

I got locked out

posted by 6784912 on March 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and witty book.

    Loved this book. I bought this book on a whim because it had such great reviews on the back, I could not find on the front or back of the book a story plot summary. I was so pleased with how good the book was and wanted to read more. Audery is a sassy main character with a funny best friend, and cute boy in her life. I can't wait for Robin Benway to realse another awsome book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    A great read.

    Robin never fails to surprise me wth her witty jokes. This book was all in the right places with the romance and humor and drama. However, this book did seem a little hectic to me and out of place. There was so much going on it was a little hard to follow and understand. Personally, there was too much of the girl drama for me with the mean girl, the ex, the best friend, and the fights. Otherwise, a pretty good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Audrey, in the first chapter, finds herself the center of attent

    Audrey, in the first chapter, finds herself the center of attention because of a song her ex-boyfriend wrote about her after she broke up with him. The song is called "Audrey, Wait!" the last two words he told her before she ran out of his house after breaking up with him. Audrey isn't just horrified of the publicity, but also annoyed that Evan would be so open about their relationship. Her friends calm her down because the song will fade away by itself. No one imagined that the song would bring Evan's band to stardom, topping the music singles charts in the US AND UK. Not only does Evan's band shoot to stardom but Audrey seems to forcefully get strapped along for the ride. Everyone wants to know who Audrey is. She started getting calls from all the major news agencies, magazines, newspapers, and even from sponsors and tv stations. To say it simply, Audrey has become a celebrity. This novel is about Audrey's struggle in the unwanted spotlight as well as trying to find her place and figuring out a way to live with all this publicity. I really loved Audrey's voice, she spoke to us directly. She was also very independent, vocal, and always spoke her mind. Her conversations and encounters with her parents as well as her humungous cat were very humorous. The new love interest (yes, Evan starts touring in Tokyo and all over so we don't see him) was cute, but again, he didn't leave a big impression on me. I have to say, with my super high expectations for this novel, I was glad that I enjoyed it in the end. Yes, I didn't love it, but it was very entertaining.

    For fans of: Meg Cabot's How to be Popular & Teen Idol and Lauren Conrad's L.A. Candy trilogy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My summary made the book sound a lot more serious than it actua


    My summary made the book sound a lot more serious than it actually is. <i>Audrey, Wait!</i>
    was definitely a fun, fast read that had me laughing out loud at parts and wincing in others. It's honest - you feel like you're there with Audrey, experiencing what she's going through and every annoying, funny, or twisted thing that's happening to her.What I like about Audrey and all of the characters were that they were fleshed out. Not one character fell flat - there was more to each of them than what you first glimpse, and they all have their flaws. Nobody's perfect, but they're all damned fun to read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Audrey, hold on for a second, will ya?

    I need to clarify. This book is more of 4.5.

    Girl meets boy. Girl dates boy. Girl breaks up with boy. Boy writes song about girl. Girl becomes famous.

    You know, I really wasn't expecting this novel to be as unique as it was. It could have easily been annoying and cliched, but instead it was fresh and humorous. And when I say humorous, I mean it. This book was laugh-out-loud funny. So I advise you not to read this book in public. We don't want the person sitting next to you on that 5 hour flight to think you are on some new medication.

    Audrey was such a refreshing voice. She was witty, vibrant, and confident. I loved her sarcasm and tone. Most authors try to impose personality traits on their two-dimensional characters, but Audrey lived it up. Instead of the author telling me Audrey liked music, she made me believe. This girl goes to concerts, blows out speakers, jams out to mix tapes, and discusses her fave bands. I also like how Audrey isn't obsessive about her appearance or too self-depreciating. Anything we know about her we find out from other characters in passing.

    All the rest of the cast was equally enjoyable. I would want to sit at thier table at lunch. Audrey and Victoria(like the Queen) had a very believable friendship, filled with inside jokes and shared interests. I even had a thing for Jonah, who was the perfect best friend's boyfriend. James was adorable (but not in a little brother kind of way) and I wish there were more redheaded love interests out there in bookdom. Even the parents were awesome in their obliviousness and almost-hipitude.

    The writing was very, very enjoyable. While some of it seemed over-the-top, it never seemed like Benway was trying too hard. The humor was just effortless. My favorite line would have to be this: "'I'm having a life crisis. Pass me the Teddy Grahams.' He handed over the box. 'All that's left are little paws and legs at the bottom of the box,' he said. 'It's a massacre.'" The writing just rang true for me. And yes, that means there is cussing and sexual/drug references, so if you have a problem with that, then don't read this one.

    Overall, a great debut from an author I'm expecting will be a star in the land of YA literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I would give it 5 starrs :)

    I lovve lovee lovee it. Ok imagine, ur a music lovivng, full of personality, different girl, and when u break up with ur ex, he writes a song bout u, and wait theres more the WHOLE FREAKING WORLD KNOWS THE SONG! and they know its about u. What if the number 1 song on itunes was about you?! Feel alitttle um..idk...WEIRD?! INTIMADTED? SICK OF THE PAPARAZZI?! lol, i dont wanna give much away but i loved this book, i reccomend it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Audrey Rocks!

    What do you do when you're 16 and your previously undiscovered musician boyfriend writes a hit song about how you dumped him and now you can't go to school, to work, let alone on a date without the paparazzi or drooling fans dogging your every step? And so begins Audrey as she explains her side of the story on how her ex-boyfriend Evan shot from obscurity to stardom by using their break-up as inspiration for his bands' hit song "Audrey, Wait!". Audrey has always lived and breathed for music - the louder the better - but now that musicians, magazines and even MTV want a piece of her, all Audrey wants is for people not to see her as a fluff-brain teen obsessed with fame.

    What has to be the best part of this book hands-down are Robin Benway's descriptions of Audrey's interactions with her friends: her outspoken best friend Victoria, Victoria's chill boyfriend Jonah, and her so-lovable shy and quirky co-worker James. Like Audrey, all three are seriously obsessed with music but each one helps Audrey handle the media attention in importantly different ways. Teenage potty mouths aside, some of their exchanges were frickin' hilarious, making this one heck of a page-turner. Hilarity and friends who are dang good at keeping Audrey sane yet who don't hesitate to call her on her crap. I dare you to try out the first chapter of Audrey, Wait! and see if you're not cracking up just like I was after only a few lines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thumps Up!

    When I started reading Audrey Wait! I was really excited, the back of the book made it sound quite intriguing, the beginning of the book really draws you in and you immediately feel for the main character and the guy she just dumped on his ass, however after the enthralling writing in the beginning the middle is mediocre at best, not necessarily the writing just the story kind've hits a plateau in the middle where you're kind've sick of hearing audrey constantly whining about her horrible life and wanting to punch her best friend in the face for wanting to cash in on her suffering, it eventually begins to pick up when she and james get together but then there's more complaining and you kind've just want it to end but the end gets interesting and once again captures your attention and the ending scene is the absolute cherry on top of a fairly good story. I would definitely reccomend it it's a pretty good story once you get passed all the meaningless whining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What if your Ex wrote a song about you?

    The idea might not seem really bad, but what if that Ex was a boy in a band, and what if that song rocketed up the charts and pulled you along with it??? Thats the idea behind Audrey, Wait! and its a cute look behind the cover of a song, and a girl who is just trying to get over her ex, and trying to salvage any part of her life(including moving on). I liked it alot because it showed what happens to ordinary people when fame comes crashing thru the door. Robin has formed her main characters with alot of qualities that are good and bad, and lets you see them, warts and all. Highly recommended and has been passed already to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious!

    When this book was first shoved into my hands by my cousin, I wasn't really sure if I would like it. I thought it would be the typical "girl gets famous-acts stupid-realizes mistakes-everthing's better-and they lived happily ever after" type of book. Audrey's sarcasm was shocking and hilarious, and while the plot didn't have many suprises, it was enough to keep the reader interested. Some of the characters could have been fleshed out a little more, but the unrealistic and humorous plot made this a fun and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    Fun and Funny

    in a sentence or so: Audrey breaks up with her boyfriend Evan. Evan writes a song about it that just happens to be the fastest rising song on the billboard charts ever. Audrey's famous, her ex-boyfriend is a rock star...what going on here?!<BR/><BR/>after working with her best friend Victoria on a pros-and-cons list, Audrey decides it's time to dump Evan, who just happens to be the lead singer of his little band, the do-gooders. as she's walking down the stairs after the breakup, Evan calls after her "Audrey, wait!" and then a new hit song is born. he shoots into stardom, which seems natural. but so does she, which is not quite what she anticipated...<BR/><BR/>first - I LOVED Audrey's voice. love love loved it. she's a music-obsessed girl whose best friend is equally awesome and music loving and loud and fun. the exchanges between Audrey and Victoria reminded me a bit of me and my bestie in high school, which goes to show that the relationship feels real and relatable. she had a hilarious sense of humor (deadpan all over the place), a quirky yet healthy relationship with her parents, and just happens to work at a place called the 'scooper dooper'. seriously, how cool is that?<BR/><BR/>essentially this walks us through Audrey's life after the song hits it big and how her life changes - but so much happens along the way. take for example her developing feelings co-worker, James, and how Victoria knew months before Audrey did that she might even maybe possibly have a crush on him - how do best friends do that? i got the feeling from time to time that this was a very personal voice for the author (which i later confirmed after checking out her website), and that allowed the personalities of Audrey and of Victoria to really shine and become like real characters as i was reading. the language and dialogue is free flowing and fun (never feeling awkward or forced) and current.<BR/><BR/>if you're looking for a fun, witty, deadpan-humor-riden, teenage saga with a touch of drama, this is for you!<BR/><BR/>fave quote: "Oh Jesus, they had heard the song. They had heard the song and listened to the lyrics and then got totally paranoid and hacked into my email account and figured out that Evan and I had slept together, and now I was going to have to sit through some intervention where my parents talked about sperm and condoms and responsibility and teenage pregnancy statistics. And then they'd probably ship me off to one of those wilderness camps where they give you a name like Little Running Bear and make you scavenge for food to build up your self esteem until you swear to be abstinent for the rest of your natural life.<BR/>I'll tell you this right now: me and nature? Not so much." (41)<BR/><BR/>fix er up: i did feel like it got a little long in the middle, but the good news was that i never grew tired of hearing Audrey's voice and her interactions with James and Victoria, so i just plugged along waiting for the plot to speed back up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    Audrey, Wait!

    I love this book it has almost everything and I love how the songs that start out the chapter blends in with it all. This is deffantlly on my top favorite books list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    amazing story!!!!

    i really loved the story and the characters. it had some humor and alot of drama. it really gave you some insight on how hard the life of a celebrity is. the only complaint i had was i thought there was way too much cursing! overall though a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    Amazing Book

    I highly reccomend Audrey, Wait! This book is jam-packed with attitude, it's halarious and each chapter is filled with great music. Read this book, you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2